Does the earth move for you?

41

Two nice movement illusions today.  Everyone and their dog sent me the following….

and Maximilien S sent me this…

Did they work for you?  Which one is best?

41 comments on “Does the earth move for you?

  1. Fran says:

    Nope, no movement for me. Maybe because I’m color blind?

  2. Both worked, I think the second worked slightly better though

  3. Kelly says:

    Second illusion was groovy…

  4. Paul Pearson says:

    The top one … was it supposed to do something?

    The second is now my desktop background. Makes me wanna fire one up !!

  5. Tom says:

    The 1st worked SOSOOOOOO much better 1st time I saw it when it was bigger as well.

  6. Margaret says:

    I see absolutely no movement with the first. What’s it supposed to do?

  7. Vonette says:

    The second. The first one didn’t move nor move me.

  8. David Mathew says:

    Both of them worked for me, but the first one was a kind of throb and then it was gone. It didn’t happen a second time. The second one made me feel a bit ill, to be honest. But then, I’m feeling a bit ill anyway so it might have been a coincidence.

  9. Lyvvie says:

    Top nothing but bottom was fun! Made me miss Dr. Seuss books.

  10. Berber Anna says:

    Neither one does anything in this size. If I view them full size, the top one still doesn’t do anything, but the bottom one is quite nice.

  11. Rob says:

    Both of them actually gave me a bit of motion sickness.
    How would these work in respect of being colour blind?

  12. Lindamp says:

    Top one is more subtle and overpowered by the 2nd one when presented together.
    2nd one is amazing, but I also like the gentle movement of the 1st, which you don’t notice until you look hard.

  13. Bletherskite says:

    Both work really well for me but I like the 2nd one better, It’s GROOVY man!

  14. Mark says:

    They both work well for me, but I think the second one is slightly more effective.

  15. Rob says:

    … wait a sec. You get email from dogs?

  16. Both work whe nI look at the edges of the image. Second one is better though. Very Austin Powers🙂

  17. Arno says:

    Both worked. Second one was the most extreme, though I have to admit that I had a hard time even looking at the thing as it made me somewhat nauseous.

  18. Nab Lator says:

    1st: 3d effect when looking at the borders

    2nd: it’s alive !

  19. Dawn Gibson says:

    Both, although the 2nd one worked better.

  20. Jerry says:

    I like the second one better. Maybe I have a fondness for fractals.

  21. Chris Emerson says:

    Neither worked when I viewed on my phone, but they do when viewing on my PC. Weird!

  22. Julia says:

    The first one works better when I don’t look at it directly. I can’t work out how the second one works.

  23. Gerard Engelage says:

    Both work for me, the 2nd is currently my desktop background.

  24. Sebastián Hoch says:

    I sent you the second one! Via Twitter (@SebHoch) two days ago.

    • Julie Coquart says:

      Hello Sebastian,

      My name is Julie Coquart and I’m a french journalist. I’m working on a special feature concerning Optical Illusions and I wonder if you knew who created this crazy illusion (the violet, white and green fractals one) !
      Would you like to send me an e-mail if you know it or if you remember where you found it ?

      Thank you so much ! It’s pretty urgent…
      Best regards,
      Julie

  25. FrankN.Stein says:

    The first one only works for me if I don’t look at it diretly – in the corner of my eye it’s amazing.
    Second one works fine always.

  26. hypno genius says:

    2nd one reminds me of a old oil lamp weird but wonderfull

  27. Sari1967 says:

    1st one didn’t work 2nd one was groovey

  28. Dannie says:

    the first one takes a bit of concentration to see the movement.

    As for the second – psychadelic, baby!!

  29. NeonNero says:

    The second one… And I’m starting to feel dizzy…

  30. Matt says:

    Definately the mandelbrot. The first one only works if I’m not looking at it.

  31. Paul Murray says:

    I think I’ve worked out what’s causing it. When you look directkly at one of the words, your binocular vision fixes the distance. When you are not looking at one of them, the color-sensing gear estimates its distance, and it comes up with a different value.
    Look at one of the words, and leave your eyes there. The “moving” words settle down, but jut out from the page.

  32. Corinne Chenault says:

    it does.

  33. Todd says:

    I can tell by the architecture that the first one is a train on the Washington, D.C. Metro. So yeah, it moves, but it is very late and the escalator doesn’t work.

  34. Savant says:

    Which one was best?

    The third one – obviously!

  35. M says:

    They work sometimes, but these are not te best ever. The second contains the mandelbrot fractal.

  36. jackjak says:

    1st one ^ ^ how do they work,,, very interesting

  37. Hey man… Do you mind redirecting the first image to its flickr page? http://www.flickr.com/photos/thirddesign/5561477785/

    Thanks!
    Glad everyone seemed to like it, it was fun making it.

  38. hypnogenius says:

    Both good in different ways 1st one not so obvious kept trying to work it out ,the other in ya face .

Leave a Reply

