Surprise!

34

@jbrownridge kindly sent me this and I think it is lovely….

Did you see the twist coming?

34 comments on “Surprise!

  1. Natasha says:

    I don’t think I would have guessed the twist if you hadn’t prompted me to look for one by asking the question underneath. But once I saw that, I figured it out immediately.

  2. Corinne Chenault says:

    Thursday is when you ask everyone…”What are you doing this week-end?”
    Then, you set it up yourself. You have all of your players…go get that week-end. Do it.

  3. anaglyph says:

    Agree with Natasha. Amazingly pristine water!

  4. ButMadNNW says:

    Unfortunately, the person who uploaded the video chose the wrong still to represent it on YouTube. It gives it away.

  5. David Mathew says:

    I guessed the twist, but possibly because I’d been prompted to expect one I started to imagine an even twistier twist. I had my expectations set on the fact that I was looking at it at ninety degrees and it was going to be something completely different. Which is why I was looking at my screen from a funny angle, much to the amusement of my manager🙂

  6. Matthew Clark says:

    Would’ve been cooler had they thrown a rock in.

  7. Jerome says:

    Yes, immediately. But only since you were implying there was something weird about it.

  8. Steve Ulven says:

    About 10 seconds in I sort of figured how it was going to turn out. Really cool, though.

  9. Berhard says:

    I watched the Clip and thought it would be better if already turned over…then i recognized that the reflected sky was brighter than the sky with the clouds… and then (i expected a stone to be thrown) as the girl appeared… very lovely…(the thrown rock would have destroyed the sight for all others so this is the better solution even thouth a pan would have done too…)

  10. redcat says:

    At first I suspected it could be a blue-screen (the girl as a little weird “border”) but yeah at 720p you can see some tiny ripples in the lake-landscape.

  11. native says:

    curious to know if you can find out what language he is speaking🙂

    it’s my native country, but perhaps the dialect makes it difficult.

    please dont post if you are from the same country😉

  12. scott says:

    The name of the video on YouTube kinda gives it away.
    Oh and I’d guess Norwegian or Danish.

  13. Scott says:

    given the notice of a twist and the still provided, it was an easy guess. nice all the same.

  14. Engywuck says:

    Even though you asked to look for the twist I didn’t see it and was totally stunned. Great shot!

  15. native says:

    It is indeed Norwegian. Well done🙂

    I’m not sure where the dialect is from though. I’m from Bergen, but I suspect the guy is from somwhere near here: http://maps.google.no/?ie=UTF8&ll=59.543717,5.357895&spn=0.195254,0.727158&t=h&z=11

  16. agata says:

    Coming form you, yes sure. Other wise I wouldn’t have🙂

  17. Julia says:

    I didn’t read the note about the twist until after I saw it, but I assumed the clip had been filmed upside down from the start – simply because you posted it on your blog.

  18. No, I didn’t see it coming. Delightful!

  19. Martha says:

    Nope, didn’t guess the Shiply ad at 0:11. I usually get car insurance instead

  20. Gus Snarp says:

    Well, since I saw the words “Did you see the twist coming?” before I saw the video, it was pretty easy to guess from the preview image what the twist would be. So yeah, I saw it coming.

  21. Waldo says:

    Even after I saw it, I still didn’t get it. How’d she do it? Magnets? Levitation? Bungee cord?

  22. Anonymous says:

    Yes because you asked and the title of the video was near perfect reflection. Thanks for spoiling it.

  23. Norman says:

    spotted it pretty immediately. Cause reflections are nearly always darker then the original image and the bottom sky is much brighter. Still a nice video.

  24. […] Surprise! @jbrownridge kindly sent me this and I think it is lovely…. […]

  25. fluffy says:

    I saw it coming from the preload image, what with how water doesn’t reflect in such a way that it makes things brighter than the original.

  26. sushey says:

    Obvious, but still highly likeable! Btw: I constantly enjoy those little bits, as well as the friday question. Good stuff, thank you!

  27. Paul Murray says:

    It works because the camera movement conceals the ripple. Look closely at the mountain peak in the top half of the film.

  28. jackjak says:

    Wow @, @

  29. vatterott college…

    […]Surprise! « Richard Wiseman[…]…

Leave a Reply

