Impossible objects….

15

The wonderfully talented Jamie D. Grant kindly sent me one of his great “Anything Is Possible” bottle (it’s like a ship in a bottle, but with a sealed deck of cards), and it now has pride of place in my office.  Each one hand made by Jamie and sold for $100 (details here).   As part of a campaign to add more wonder to the world, Jamie leaves his “Anything Is Possible” bottles out on the street for random people to find!

This made me think about other impossible objects.  One of my favourites is this great mirror cube….

and there is this great impossible triangle….

But there is another way of creating an impossible triangle…..can you figure it out…..answer after the break…..

Did you figure it out?

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 comments on “Impossible objects….

  1. D says:

    Holy crap! I never realised the impossible triangle could be done that way! How stupid I am!

  2. Amalia says:

    I like the last one, but I would bet that it doesn’t work in 3D. What happens if you look at it with both eyes open?

  3. Martha says:

    Where is it?

  4. Todd says:

    Ophoven, Belgium (in the village square)

  5. Inception e l’arte di creare oggetti impossibili (“Inception and the art of creating impossible objects”)
    http://www.marianotomatis.it/blog.php?post=blog/20101008

  6. Terry Pritchard says:

    Harry Eng’s were never in cellophane. Amazing work by both artists though.

  7. Paula says:

    Wow. I love the “Anything Is Possible” bottle. Wonderful idea!

  8. L.Long says:

    I can think of one way to make the bottle.
    I would love to see the bottom triangle with both eyes to see if it still holds up. it is brilliant in a picture.

  9. Jordan Pampliega says:

    I created my own impossible bottle http://club.magicians.com/profiles/blogs/what-is-your-magic
    I was bored and decided to made one when I was recovering from an operation. It may not be as good as the ones made above but I am happy that I was able to accomplish it.

  10. David Frank says:

    The first triangle is in East Perth, Western Australia, in the middle of a busy roundabout.
    http://podblack.com/2008/11/how-not-to-get-killed-by-an-impossible-triangle/

Leave a Reply

