Do not adjust your sets…..

32

….great illusory movement illusions from @nedatutu…..

Does it work for you?  If not, try clicking on it and opening it up full size.

32 comments on “Do not adjust your sets…..

  1. squareimage says:

    Works great on the iPod!

  2. JimC says:

    Oh yeah, that works. Pass the paracetamol.

  3. Michael says:

    Works great! Fascinating in its seeming simplicity.

    Reminds me of the CSC logo.

  4. Phil says:

    Works great on iPhone too.

  5. Mark says:

    Very effective – never seen this one before!

  6. mickeyd says:

    Wow!

  7. M says:

    It quakes! That’s weird!

  8. David Mathew says:

    It definitely works; but can I ask a question? And I ask this not in any cynical or sarcastic manner, but with a genuine desire to know. What is the point of these ‘illusions’? I know they are very clever, but someone has spent time and effort to create this, so is it for the purposes of sales or some sort of promotion, or does it help us understand something about the brain? I’m honestly curious.

    • SimonP says:

      These illusions show us that we don’t see what is ‘out there’, but only what our brain constructs. Our entire visual reality is one giant visual illusion which, in the normal course of events, accurately reflects the way the world really is. Noticing the cracks in the brain’s visual processing algorithms helps us to understand better what our brain is up to.

    • David Mathew says:

      Thanks, SimonP!

  9. Carol says:

    Great! Can someone explain why/how it works? That’s the most interesting part to me.🙂

  10. Paul Durrant says:

    Yes, it works for me at full size – the inner section seems to jiggle.

    It’s something to do with the ‘shading’ on the little stars. If you rotate the centre so that the shading matches the outer stars, it doesn’t seem to move any more.

    So I’m guessing that it’s the brian wanting the shading to match that causes the illusion of movement in some way.

  11. Geoff says:

    Very nice one. All over the shop.

  12. Marion says:

    Definately works- pass a bucket, this one’s making me feel a bit sick!!

  13. Het is toch altijd weer geweldig om te zien hoe onze hersenen op het verkeerde been worden gezet.

    Groetjes, Anki

  14. Wabasso says:

    Awesome!

  15. Karen McKenzie says:

    According to the Gestalt psychology theories our brain’s trying to work out the simplest (most likely) pattern for the whole image. So I guess, as it struggles to present something meaningful it’s switching between two or three views that might be right. Am I close?

  16. UXO says:

    Great, you broke my brain. I needed that.

  17. Fenikz says:

    The interesting part for me is that this image clearly shows you how much your eyes are moving, while you think you are keeping them fixed. It needs quiet a lot of effort to make the image stop moving (to force your eyes to focus on exactly the same spot).

  18. FrankN.Stein says:

    Geat. Now my eyes are bleeding…

  19. bigjohn756 says:

    This is definitely going in my Kindle as a screen-saver. I hope it works there.

  20. I found that if I focused on the central square the border appeared to move. When I focused on the border the square did. Would I be right in assuming the illusion somehow exploits our peripheral vision?

  21. Paul Harrison says:

    Does anyone know if this works if it’s printed out? Hmmm, me thinks I’ll give it a try!

  22. […] Do not adjust your sets….. ….great illusory movement illusions from @nedatutu….. […]

  23. bill andre says:

    It’s got to be moving. Right?

  24. lifes says:

    Worked for me,made me feel a bit woozy.

  25. Paul Harrison says:

    I tried printing it out and it still works, only not quite so well.

  26. Billy says:

    hey guys i just tried taking the middle part of the illusion and rotating it 180 to find the illusion no longer worked…. interesting haha

  27. Juan Luis says:

    In fact, the author of the illusion is Akiyoshi Kitaoka.

    http://www.psy.ritsumei.ac.jp/~akitaoka/motion20e.html

    Regards

Leave a Reply

