Sign of the times….

46

Love this sign (sent to me by Emma H and Neda T)….

Four more great ones after the break….

Which is your favourite?

46 comments on “Sign of the times….

  1. Paul Pearson says:

    The first, definitely. Most creative.

  2. Patari says:

    I love the first one.

  3. anaglyph says:

    First one is certainly persuasive.

  4. ButMadNNW says:

    My favourite “warning” about watching your kids is delivered by the ride operators at the end of Disneyland’s Jungle Cruise: “Any children left behind will be taken over to ‘it’s a small world’, have their feet nailed to the floor, and be made to sing that song over and over in 30 different languages.”

    • FlorayG says:

      That’s a seriously cruel punishment – I visited there 10 years ago and that song is STILL stuck in my head!

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Richard Wiseman, Hadi Hariri, Jak Charlton, anusree banerjee, Marc Abrahams and others. Marc Abrahams said: RT @RichardWiseman: Just posted: Sign of the times…. http://bit.ly/hLI310 […]

  6. Les says:

    Another one I’ve seen is “Unattended children will be sold into slavery”

  7. nanda says:

    ela kiri

  8. russell says:

    I love the first one!

  9. hypno genius says:

    Think they are all good 1st and drink driving ..need prince as anchor in back ,Sign of the time ..Well done

  10. stickinsect says:

    Yep, I have to agree with others here, the first one is very clever.

  11. Michael says:

    The first sign – polite yet clear. My diner has pretty much the same sign up.

    As a photo, I love the last one. The framing is OK, but the lighting is just gorgeous!

    Michael

  12. Martha says:

    ‘GO BACK you are going WRONG WAY’ always brings a smile: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mayhem/364148483/

  13. D says:

    I didn’t get what was so bad about the first sign for quite a while.

  14. Sari1967 says:

    I liked the last one best

  15. Gus Snarp says:

    I’ve seen the joke in the first sign many times, and often it is used in making simple and polite requests in a humorous way in is very effective. But in this case, if I saw this sign outside a restaurant I would turn around and go somewhere else, they clearly don’t want my business.

    Of course I’m going to keep my child at the table to the best of my ability, but guess what? They’re not going to sit there as long as it takes everyone in my party to eat. So I’m going to get up and walk around the restaurant with them. And you know what? They might (gasp) talk to other customers. They’re not going to tear your restaurant apart, I’m not going to let them break things or be rowdy, but I’m not going to hold them in their seat till the scream bloody murder. These folks have made an assumption about parents and children based on a few bad apples, or else they don’t really love kids. The bad people are going to ignore your sign, the good ones are going to be offended by it. But hey, if you don’t want my party of eight’s money, go right ahead and insult us before we walk in the door. There are other restaurants that do want my money.

    • Christine says:

      I think you may have missed the word “unattended”. I have 3 children 4 and under and I TOTALLY agree that sometimes you want to get up and walk around with them vs. letting them sit at your table, crying. That’s not “unattended”.
      This sign is referring to the ridiculous parents who let their children get up and walk around “UNATTENDED” and bother others. I’ve seen it–it’s rude and inconsiderate.
      Why are people so quick to take offense to a stupid sign that is there in the interest of ALL its customers? Sheesh.

    • Gus Snarp says:

      The problem is that the sign starts with “We love kids, but please keep yours at your table! (with lots of underlining) They’ve immediately set me off before they go on to the joke, which is set off by a line. The unattended part is in the joke, and the joke is fine as far as it goes. It’s at a children’s bookstore I frequent, it’s on the wall at my veterinarian’s office, but it’s not preceded by an insulting assumption that I’m going to allow my kids to misbehave. There are enough people out there who don’t think parents should bring their kids to any restaurant but McDonald’s that reading that first part clearly tells me that my kids aren’t welcome. Simple enough, I’d take my business elsewhere.

    • Tony says:

      Hey, it’s not so hard to keep your kids at the table.

      I have an eight year old and a two year old, and they always remain at the table while we are at a restaurant. There’s no need to let them run about the place if you engage with them.

    • JJ says:

      Sorry, I have three kids (boys, even) and they really did manage to stay in their seats most of the time and we went to the lobby or outdoors if there were some problem or there was a need to run.

      Honestly though? If I wanted to talk to your child, I’d stop by your table on the way out. I’m a big winker and smiler at babies and love to see kids out behaving in restaurants. BUT, I and everyone else gets sick of the parent who spends 5 minutes at your table “amusing” us with their child…and then comes back again. Also not appreciated is the child running and yelling between the tables — and believe me wait staff doesn’t want to step on your child, spill food on your child, or trip on your child. Or the parent wandering behind their child begging them not to put their food covered hands on people or grab things off of other tables. Not stopping them, mind you, just sort of following and whining at them.

      I agree with the person above — ATTENDED is the key word and to me it includes not interrupting in any big way the eating enjoyment of others!

  16. L.Long says:

    When you get to my daughters house you see the 5th sign at the entrance and a large dog on the porch.
    A find nothing wrong with the 4th, but the first is real poetic justice! Luv it!

  17. Anonymous says:

    i like number three

  18. lizzy says:

    lol I❤ number 3

  19. lizzy says:

    sorry thought❤ would make a heart

  20. […] Sign of the times…. Love this sign (sent to me by Emma H and Neda T)…. […]

  21. rahimanuddin says:

    i didnt understand the last one. Is that dog supposed to be wierd?

  22. Alicia says:

    LUV them all, but gotta go with the first one, and the dog one! Funny!

  23. I like the third one most. People who drunk and drive will be enjoying and learning too.

  24. Matt says:

    Great post! My favorite–for comedy reasons–is definitely the first. I think the drunk driving one should probably be posted on every road everywhere.

  25. Marion says:

    Think they’re all good but the first one really made my snigger.

  26. john says:

    nice.will lead a good way to people

  27. Michiel says:

    Great signs. The first one is indeed the most creative, the last one is definitely true

  28. Natália says:

    I love the 4th, quite challenging, haha

  29. HAI says:

    I know the First one is from a store called the “Urban Almanac” in fredricton NB

  30. banu chandar says:

    i like the fifth…

  31. bunny says:

    i like the fifth

  32. […] Sign of the times…. « Richard Wiseman’s Blogtioned on twitter by richard wiseman, hadi hariri, jak charlton, anusree banerjee, marc abrahams and others. marc abrahams said: r…はてなブックマークより the beard is back in town2a take off of thin lizzy’s the boy are back in town..called the beard is back ,the redwings playoff slogan. tell your frineds let news people know abo…YouTubeより […]

  33. I like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve incorporated
    you guys to our blogroll.

  34. Pete says:

    excellent app thanks for sharing

  35. Hey there! I’ve been reading your web site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

