Give me 26 seconds of your time….

35

and I will make you go ‘oh….very clever’….

Did I succeed?

35 comments on “Give me 26 seconds of your time….

  1. ‘oh….very clever’….

  2. Paul Pearson says:

    It took less than 26 seconds, I’d say around 7.

  3. Hilary says:

    You did indeed. It’s kind of like those incredible 3D chalk drawings, isn’t it?

  4. curie says:

    I didn’t say “very clever”, I actually said “Aaargghh!” as I was trying to figure out the trick before it was revealed & of course didn’t manage it!

  5. Clever, but I could see how it was done very quickly as the other thumb tack looked odd.

  6. Nadia says:

    Um, after all the build up, I was disappointed. Is that just me?

  7. FlorayG says:

    It was ruined by me thinking ‘thumbtack’? Isn’t Richard English? Shouldn’t that be ‘drawing pin’? By which time it was finished and I hadn’t been paying attention. Sorry.

  8. Paul Durrant says:

    Drawing pin? No, they’re not drawing pins. But, AFAIK, they’re not thumb tacks either. They’re “push pins”, originally made by the Moore Push-pin company starting in 1900.

    And I’d better say:

    oh….very clever

  9. mickeyd says:

    Oh… very clever

  10. Andy says:

    “Oh,” I suppose I’d better, “Very Clever.”
    🙂

  11. Martha says:

    OH, VERY CLEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111one

  12. Chris Gladis says:

    I believe what I said was, “…the hell?” Then I watched it again.

  13. Liebe says:

    Amaizing!

  14. Todio says:

    oh, VERY clever! 🙂 It’s really quite a good illusion. I judge illusions by how well they stand up to a second and third viewing after you know the ‘trick’. This one does.

    • ButMadNNW says:

      Mm, I disagree here. On the first viewing, I was thinking the red pin looked odd. On the second, I realized it’s because the red is missing the highlights caused by the light falling on the blue’s back. And now I can’t NOT see the red as flat and lifeless.

  15. Cam says:

    Clever indeed. That first couple of seconds of the thing turning is so trippy before it ‘clicks’ as to what you are looking at. I also thing that the shadow moving as the object is turned adds to the trippy look, as opposed to if only the camera moved. Something for me as a designer to keep in mind🙂

  16. emily says:

    samsung trying illusions with a new advertisment

  17. Ross Bagby says:

    Well, as a long time subscriber to this blog, I guessed right off the pencil wasn’t really where it initially seems — but that proved misdirection for the secret of the thumbtack(s).

  18. Mr. D says:

    I actually said “Wooooah!” but I believe what I meant was “Oh… very clever”.

  19. Michael says:

    Ok. I wondered what’s needed to get the lighting right for those types of shots. Straightforward would be to shoot the item in situ, do the projection math, and print it out.

  20. Wabasso says:

    In my head I was thinking, “OK this is something that is going to be hard to do but then there is a trick to it”. I guess I was preoccupied because it didn’t look like it’d be that hard to balance that stick-thing on the two tacks.

    That being said, it was a really good drawing. I was sure there was a tack on the right. I guess that was the point, more than the balancing being difficult normally.

  21. Kristian says:

    I immediately went ‘oh….very clever’.

    Oh wait, this isn’t the friday puzzle😛

    Funny illusion.

    A test I enjoy is testing how easy it is to see through the illusion when I know how it works.
    While I find it very hard to see through the balls rolling uphill (few weeks ago), I find this one easier to see through.
    Different shadows, picture dpi (atleast I think that’s what it is) and the needle barely touching the twig are things that counter the illusion.

    Nice illusion🙂

  22. Gus Snarp says:

    Yes, that’s almost exactly what I said. But man, it’s so obvious once you’ve seen it!

  23. theUncommon says:

    I saw through it before the trick was revealed. The main issue is the shadows, the printed one is crisp while the real one had multiple sources. May want to try it with a more defined light source next time.

    Still a nice example of forced perspective though, my brain did try to rebel when you turned the paper.

  24. Dean says:

    Wasnt that impressed, could see before playing the video, the light wasnt quite right , but the samsung advert using the same illusion was more impressive and ‘oh….very clever’….

  25. PeaceLove says:

    Works for me.
    The Aphex Twin helps, too.

  26. Dario says:

    I saw it before it was revealed I have to say… The shadow for the red was was unusually large compared to the blue and where the pencil was broken on the blue thumbtack, there was no sign of that kind of damage on the red…

  27. scrxisi says:

    The *is* very clever.

  28. Big Z says:

    I too was impressed in considerably less than 26 secs- by the music. Apex Twin, very lovely.

  29. […] Give me 26 seconds of your time…. and I will make you go ‘oh….very clever’…. […]

  30. Jules says:

    Very clever, and I too enjoyed the reminder of Selected Ambient Works…!

  31. rudy says:

    coooollll…🙂

  32. Williemae says:

    Hi JanJamm and Sam,

  33. hey buddy, this is a very interesting article

  34. I would like to uslysht slightly far more on this topic

Leave a Reply

