Ever wanted to be a lifecoach?

53

Yesterday on Twitter I asked people who were facing an important life decision to post their dilemma, and get feedback from other people.

@andywash wrote ‘Should I give up well paid long standing care job to work in music industry as a tour manager?’

So, what do you think?  What would be your advice?  Everyone vote and comment now!

53 comments on “Ever wanted to be a lifecoach?

  1. anaglyph says:

    I’ve worked in the music industry. Unless Andy’s ambition is to work long hours, get paid poorly and be under-appreciated, he’d be doing people (including himself) a lot more good staying where he is…

    • Simon says:

      I totally agree. Having spent years working in the music industry in various roles (particularly in live events) I would never advise anyone to go into it.

    • Gil says:

      I’m sure everyone can see and feel that times are changing and very rapidly. Have you ever really asked youself…Why? I won’t get into my perspective, but it has something to do with the world getting further away from core existence. Core existence is following your heart and passion. So if to be in the music industry is something you know/feel with every ounce of your being…GO FOR IT! At the end-of-day (when you’re taking your last breath) you can bet that all those decisions you didn’t make for reasons of not being practical (those heart-felt moments) will come into crystal clear focus. Perhaps maybe things are changing to get us back to living authentically…living with heart and passion. Not based on some material objective which will never truly bring the happiness that following your heart will bring. When you have the courage to break the mold and follow your heart/passion, I believe that support (from your higher self) will guide to spiritual and material abundance. Life is paradoxical…believe it or not, UNCERTAINTITY is the field of all possibilities, ever fresh, ever new, always open to the creation of new manifestations. Without uncertainty and the unknown, life is just a stale repetition of outworn memories. So step into the unknown…I have a feeling you will not regret it. Just follow your heart, pursue your passion everday and let go of the outcome. it will product far beyond what you or anyone else might have imagined.

      Peace!

  2. significance says:

    I voted “yes”, but it depends what his other responsibilities are. If he has kids or a relationship that he wants to keep, he’ll need to think about the impacts on those aspects of his life, too.

    • Superdave says:

      Totally agree. There isn’t really enough information in the question to make an informed choice. Does he enjoy his current job? Although it’s easy to jump on the ‘follow your dreams’/’you only regret what you DIDN’T do’ bandwagon the practicalities of life often involve
      compromise. Having coached in the past I know that he already knows what he’s going to do.

    • NoAstronomer says:

      ditto

      If voted yes.

      If Andy has other responsibilities, such as children, he should attend to those first. If, however, he is free to drop everything and have a possibly life-changing experience then I say he should do it.

  3. Kate says:

    Absolutely take it! Find out for yourself what it’s like to work in the music industry. At the very very least you’ll have stories to tell at dinner parties; you’ll have stepped into the void and found out for yourself how you cope with change. Care jobs are usually available – you have a back up. I say take the fork in the road your heart wants to follow.

  4. ButMadNNW says:

    I’m all for one chasing one’s dream, but as I said on Twitter, I wouldn’t leave a steady, good-paying job in this economy. I did, in 2008, for psychological health reasons. Ever since, I’ve been struggling along through unpredictable temp jobs and the goodwill of my friends and family without so much as an interview despite the literally hundreds of CVs I’ve sent out.

    But then, it’s not my life. I don’t get a vote. Andy should weigh the pros/cons and then it’s up to him. Although it can be stressful and exhausting, being a carer is a way of making the world a better place. I’d love to be in a “helping” field.

  5. anaglyph says:

    I’d love to see a breakdown of this poll by age. I’m betting that the older and more life experienced you are, the more likely you are to vote No.

    • NoAstronomer says:

      I think it’s more likely to be the other way round. I’ll be 49 this year and I voted yes. Opportunities like this are rare.

    • namowal says:

      I voted yes, and I’ll be 43 this year.
      As others have pointed out, the “yes” is conditional (Is he supporting family members? Has he researched the pros and cons of his new gig?)

      In my twenties I perused a “sensible” career. After several years of alternating boredom, stress and frustration I dropped it to study (and eventually) do something I liked much better. The hours were long, and for the first year I worked a graveyard shift, but I was much happier.

  6. Malinari says:

    I must apologise for approaching this somewhat cynically (so I opted for the No option – keep what you’ve got), as I’d love to be in a position to be able to make an informed choice about the direction life is going to take, sadly I’ve just discovered I have very little choice :-\

  7. I am sorry Mr. Wiseman (!) noone with any ethics or sense of responsibiity would answer this question without a complete conversation with andywash. What you are asking for is soundbite coaching rather than helping people create long lasting and positive change. Please add another choice in your list along the lines of “Talk to someone who can help andywash make a considered decision” at the moment I would vote None of the above!

    • JimC says:

      I concur with Martin. This is not a question that can be answered with a simple yes or no – there are too many variables that are unknown, such as whether Andy has any natural aptitude for what he wants to do. But it might be interesting to see whether Richard’s readers are naturally conservative or not.

    • Indeed, the whole premise is misguided. The only question worth asking in such an experiment is:

      Should I care what a bunch of strangers on Twitter say regarding important life decisions?

    • Rob says:

      I too concur with Martin. This is a decision that must be made thoughtfully and with all due consideration. By all means take advice but a yes/no answer does not do justice to the complexities involved.

  8. Mike Foster says:

    This feels more like what’s being tested is our prejudices around ‘steady jobs’ versus adventurous-sounding ones. Or honest jobs versus more selfish ones.

    As well as everything else, society simply doesn’t have enough exciting jobs to go around. Not all the while that people want the products of boring jobs (ipods built in factories, insurance etc).

  9. David Mathew says:

    If you’ve got the finances to support yourself for a while in order to follow your dream, I’d say go for it. Why not? If you don’t, you might regret it. And if you do, and it doesn’t work out as you planned, you will be able to fall back on the care work as there will always be positions in that field. Or so I’m told by people who work in it.

    A friend of mine did what is being proposed here – spent a couple of years really learning to play his instrument to a professional level – and now he works full time in the music industry. And while he’s not exactly a household name, he makes a living doing what he loves. This wouldn’t have happened if he’d stayed in industry.

  10. Leif says:

    You rarely regret the things you do, but often regret the things you didn’t do. I left a high paying job for a better life-situation and can’t say I regret it. I may miss it sometimes, but that’s a whole different matter.

  11. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Richard Wiseman, Heather Mellars, Kaz Vida, Roger Williams, Rebecca Quereshi and others. Rebecca Quereshi said: RT @richardwiseman: Just posted: Ever wanted to be a lifecoach? http://bit.ly/fRRQL1 […]

  12. lifes says:

    Yes,go for it or he will be wondering if he could have made it.Can always go back to care if it doesn’t work out.Sometimes we have to take a few risks in life.

  13. Andy says:

    Andy here:
    Thanks for all the interest.
    Rest assured that I’m not making any decisions based solely on advice from strangers who can’t know the full picture. There are many factors to think about of course, but I’m thinking that the regretting what you dont do comment above is most telling to me right now.
    I’ll say more later.
    A

    • They built dishwashers better in the 80s, because I still have one from then that works great, but I have friends who bought theirs last year and they already need repair!

      That is to say, check the bias of your sample and/or account for selective memory. It may very well be that the people who say they regret what they didn’t do might actually have regretted it more had they *done* the action, or maybe they’d just end up regretting something *else* they didn’t do.

      Or, in your particular case, note that you won’t be getting any “just do it” advice from tour managers that were dead from a drug overdose after 1 year. So, by all means, follow your dream. But realize that, in following it, it becomes your reality instead of an idealized fantasy that only lives in your imagination.

  14. Jason says:

    I spent many years in jobs I hated in the care field before I finally plucked up the courage to become self-employed in the creative industry. I do really regret waiting so long to make the leap. Of course we don’t know your exact circumstances as others have pointed out and can’t give properly tailored advice. Still, assuming you’ve done your research and your current situation is robust enough for the ups and downs of this new career, I’d say take a (well considered) chance and go for it.

  15. Mike Forsyth says:

    Can you do this on a sabbatical or take your hols or respite care and try it out to see if it works out for you, rather than jump in with both feet. The grass is always greener of course but then you should always follow dreams its only one life – don’t count on the state to support you these days though if it don’t work out.

  16. Bletherskite says:

    I can’t even begin to put an answer to this as there is just not enough information. Does “Tour Manager in the Music Industry” mean working with known artists with backing form their record companies or does it mean struggling bands dashing around the country in an old transit van. Does he have a relationship/family that could also be affected by his long spells away from home/drop in wages. What is the basis for this desire for such a job? Is it a schoolboy dream of hanging out with the band/groupies and having a wild life or is it based on careful research of what is actually involved. If he changed career and it didn’t work out does he have a good chance of being able to return to care work? Without knowing any of this then any yes or no answer to the question above is be meaningless.

  17. Tessa K says:

    If you’re young with no dependents or financial responsibilities and you’re happy to kiss your health goodbye, then go for it.

  18. Ross says:

    I like this purely because, we dont have to take anything else into account! haha. Just a YES or NO. thats fantastic! All Lifes questions should be as simple as this!

  19. Martha says:

    On a related note, should I ditch my boyfriend? YES [] NO []

  20. Frank.NStein says:

    As a life coach, I hope people give advices based on a little bit more information than that one…

    • Frank.NStein says:

      That was probably misleading, English is not my native language.
      I’m not a life coach, I hope lifecoaches get more information than that one sentence before they give advices.

  21. Timea Kristof says:

    As a coach, I would ask more questions. My next question would be: what’s the reason / drive behind this change? If it is away from something (don’t like my boss, bored etc.), I would challenge you on how else can u satisfy that thing you going away from. If it is towards something (goal, mission, passion) than I would ask – what’s the reason you have not done this yet?

    Other questions I would be curious to ask:
    – What are the 5 most important things (values) in your career?
    – What values/needs are not being met with your current job?
    – What values/needs will be met with your new job?
    – What’s your actual goal/career aspiration specifically?
    – What will u get if you do this new job?
    – What will u get if you don’t do his new job?
    – What will you don’t get if you do this job?
    – And finally what will you don’t get if you don’t do this new job?

    If you are interested in advise, and not knowing much more information, YES is my answer if this new job is your passion. I think that people should do what their inspiration is telling them to do. That’s what this world needs, more people who enjoy their “job”.

    I would also be sensible and not “just jump” the fence.. but do it prepared like David suggested.
    – Have a “freedom fund” where you start putting savings into, so when you are ready to jump, you are ready to fly.
    – Work on your “new” skills while in current job to prepare for your next job.
    – Work on your network, so you are ready when you leave. I have found that invaluable when you are changing jobs/career.

    So, in summary it needs to be a balanced act between head and heart. Follow your heart and use your head to prepare.🙂

    Hope this helps.

  22. Sabina says:

    I think one could analyse this till the cows come home and of course there are lots of components to the situation that we don’t know that would affect the decision but at the end of the day he should FOLLOW HIS HEART.

    Of course his work in the care industry directly helps people, but if he becomes a successful music manager he may go on to manage one of the most successful bands that bring joy and help to an even larger number of people. If I were him I would follow what will bring him the greatest joy as that is where his greatest success is more likely to be.

  23. Mike Forsyth says:

    Since we live in a probabilistic universe you could always through a dice – even numbers you stay, odd numbers you go (or vice versa)

  24. Mike Forsyth says:

    throw dammit not through (iphone spell corrector)

  25. Biodork says:

    I think more people will vote yes because it’s someone else’s life; there is no personal risk and the adventure tantalizes us.

  26. Gus Snarp says:

    Having worked in the music touring industry and worked with tour managers, all I can say is that there’s not enough information provided to answer the question. Does he know what he’s getting into? Who is he planning to manage? Some small local band with a van and trailer tour of bars? Has he toured before? Has he worked with producers, stagehands, musicians, bus drivers, and caterers? How much does he want to get out of his current job, and how much does he want to get into the new one?

  27. Emma Lander says:

    Surely it depends on how happy he is in his care job…if he is happy there and has other responsibilities then he should probably stick with it…if he isn’t happy there then he should definately give it a go!!

  28. Bernhard says:

    a Job in the music industry sounds good …
    however, “soundind good” may not be enough …
    I won’t take the job..

  29. 140 characters seem insufficient for such a question. As pointed out, we would need to know how he feels about his current job, what his other life circumstances are (age, family etc), how suitable he might be for this job in the music industry, and whether it is indeed a dream of his (we only assume that it is from the context and our expectations of these questions).

    I’d never proffer advice about something so important without the appropriate information, so simply didn’t vote.

    If you’re simplifying down to the basic question of, “Stick with something you’re not really happy with, or twist and go for your dream even if it’s risky”, the romantic in me would side with the latter. Life’s too short, etc.

  30. Anonymous says:

    you could be trading your health and relationships best advice talk to those who do fulltime try it for a few weeks as a hobby if it still feels right go for it

  31. Jason says:

    I voted yes, but the difficulty here is that it does not say whether the career he is considering leaving is one that he loves. And does he like the entertainment industry enough to make it worth the sacrifice?

  32. It’s not for us to answer.

    Coaching isn’t about advice……

  33. Euan Taylor says:

    i said yes because if you dont do you’ll always regret it as you’ll alsways wonder what might have been but if you go for it and its rubbish well at least to tried and found out what it was like. its all in richie’s book 59 seconds.

  34. Paula says:

    I think if this is a dream of his then he has to try and live it. So what if it’s not the greatest pay and he has to start from the bottom, the most important part is that he is doing something that he is passionate about. That way, when he’s looking back at his life he doesn’t have to wonder ‘what if’. What’s the worst that can happen? He can always go back to his previous career if it’s not what he had planned.

  35. nick says:

    You’ve got one life pal-you know the answer!

  36. Martha says:

    ‘You know who else wanted to follow his dreams and ambitions? HITLER!’

  37. seePyou says:

    What I’m surprised with is that people actually voted without KNOWING the circumstances of the everyday life of Andy Wash. What was the reason people voted yes or no? What was the thought process? I would consider people that voted (which means they answered him) to be very poor life coaches.

Leave a Reply

