Impossible balls

19

@MetalMonsterUK sent me this wonderful video.  Great idea, beautifully done.

Like it?

19 comments on “Impossible balls

  1. Todio says:

    Saw it right away. Don’t know why but it didn’t fool me for a second… Sadly because I’m fond of illusions when done well

    • Navneeth says:

      The same. As soon as I saw the structure (and given the title), I knew what was about to happen and how it had been done. I guess it has something to spending time often on Dr. Wiseman’s blog.😀

  2. Kya-chan says:

    *Sigh* the illusions for the past couple of days have all been ones I’ve seen before.😦 It takes some of the fun out of it when you know how it’s done. I will say that when I first saw this one, I didn’t know exactly how it worked. I knew that obviously the ramps went in a different direction, but I couldn’t tell which just from looking at it straight on. Although, of course, by the end of the video I couldn’t see it any other way.

  3. Paul says:

    Not seen this before. It worked very well for me. Even after showing how it’s done it still works well. Lovely illusion.

  4. sandeep. says:

    It is quite nice, but the youtube-chosen-representing image gives out the trick even before we click on it.

  5. Barmonger says:

    It’s quite similar to an older illusion you posted almost a year ago: https://richardwiseman.wordpress.com/2010/05/12/stunning-optical-illusion/

    It’s still pretty cool though🙂

  6. Kristian says:

    I too was reminded of that other similar illusion posted some time ago.

    I find it amazing that even after seeing it multiple times my mind swaps right back into the illusion when back at the right angle.

    Sure I can say to myself that it’s a trick, but my mind keeps seeing the uphill structure.

    I think it’s very well done.

  7. JJ says:

    Nice illusion. Beautiful music.

  8. Francis says:

    It only works in video, or with one-eyed people.

  9. Dennis says:

    Always enjoy these. The “giveaway” here (besides from this being a repeat theme on this blog) is the shadows on the columns – note the shading on the left face of each column, and how different they are. Also look at the shadows cast by the columns, especially the 3rd from the left.

  10. Sally says:

    Really nice illusion! elegantly simple. nice choice of music too.

  11. […] Impossible balls @MetalMonsterUK sent me this wonderful video.  Great idea, beautifully […] […]

  12. Petra says:

    The shadows are also OK. Would they still be right if the light came from another direction?

  13. Marion says:

    Liked this, and was able to see the illusion again even knowing how it was done.

  14. lilabyrd says:

    I knew what was going to happen as I’ve either seen this one before or one like it. Still saw the illusion as it was meant to be seen only knew why it was happening. Would love to see some new ones….. :}

  15. elevenses says:

    So wonderful indeed.

Leave a Reply

