Head for heights?

36

I am sure that I have posted this before, but it was then removed from YouTube and has only just gone back up.  Try to watch this and not feel dizzy….

And if you are a glutton for punishment, try watching this….

Oh, and of course the people in the second video are doing something very dangerous so no copying them.

36 comments on “Head for heights?

  1. Captain says:

    Those kids are dumb, one small gust of wind at that height and they’re dead. What a stupid way to have fun.

    • Gareth says:

      Agreed! I thought exactly the same thing when I visited the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland a few years ago. There’s a big warning sign telling people to not wander out onto the cliffs as it’s about a 700ft drop with nothing to stop anyone falling.

      Of course, hundreds of people were ignoring the sign, and so did we – I didn’t like it as I hate heights, but my friends effectively dragged me along. They were all standing right on the edge looking over. I couldn’t do that. It only takes, as you say, one small gust of wind and that’s your life over and done with.

    • Absolutely. This is very dangerous and should never be done without the right tower climber training and equipment

  2. deepak says:

    why they do this ??? very very foolish

  3. Timdifano says:

    I suffer badly from heights and both videos have significant physiological effects (sweaty palms, increased heart rate). Strangely I and have none of these effects when flying, I fly microlight aircraft and have flown in aerobatic aircraft as passenger.
    Anyway if anyone is interested in looking at some low level aerobatics from inside the aircraft to see how it compares try: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2M614k90r9c

    • lilabyrd says:

      I have the same effects even standing on a chair {can’t even use a ladder} have problems…looking at these videos did the same and I had to work to keep my breathing slowed and not hyperventilate but flying no big deal. I would have loved to hang glide too. I think it has to do with not having a safety net or the like.

    • mikekoz68 says:

      I also have no fears when flying, love the window seat and have even flown in a very small(4-man?) Cessna plane and loved it. I’ve been to the top of the CN Tower in Toronto, leaned on the glass windows and walked on the glass floor, but watching the first video made my palms sweat and heart race! I find it unbelievable that workers could climb like that without attaching safety lines or wearing a parachute! Could not do it for any amount of money

  4. Michael says:

    The tower climbing video is quite matter-of-fact and rather good, including the narration. That said, a discussion at an industry site disputes that OSHA allows for free climbing, and I read elsewhere that employers and unions were p*ssed about the video, for opposite reasons. That’s why the face of the climbing buddy was blurred out.

    Gotta say, by comparison with other bragging videos, the teenagers’ stunt was rather timid (not that I’d endorse it).

  5. Clarke Ching says:

    Okay, so I made it 2:20 into the first video … before I had to turn it off.

  6. David D says:

    When I watch this, just like when I actually experience heights, the first thing that happens is that my feet start to feel like jelly. Is this a common thing?

  7. The Pick Man says:

    The first video is of courageous men doing their job. The second is an exercise in pointless stupidity. It sickened me to watch it.

  8. FlorayG says:

    I was OK with the first one until the last bit climbing a pole that didn’t look strong enough to take the weight. That made me grimace a bit. How much do these guys get paid and what do they do for kicks?
    The second one I could only watch beyond the first few seconds because I know it would not be posted if someone had fallen. I couldn’t watch this being done live.

  9. Berber Anna says:

    I’m afraid of heights (or, well, depths — it’s not high things that frighten me, it’s looking down FROM high things), but these videos don’t frighten me at all.
    While footage of people getting injections does trigger my needlephobia, the heights thing only rears its head when I’m there in person, not when I watch other people climbing high objects.

  10. Emlyn says:

    Speaking of pointless stupidity and heights, how about some pullups from the top of a crane: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68fJP35FxyQ

  11. Kya-chan says:

    My head is still spinning from the first one, but I turned the second one off after 30 seconds cause it wasn’t even fascinatingly terrifying, it was just stupid.

  12. Username_original says:

    @David D Says
    Yes. You basically prepare for injury. I have the same kind of feeling when I think something heavy is going to drop on my feet.

  13. Martin says:

    People are always going to test their limits and crave an adrenaline rush, it may not be for everyone but if there is no real danger and chance of death then there is no real excitement at doing something “death defying.” Here are some more examples


  14. Stewart says:

    The first video terrified me, increased heart rate, sweaty palms, the lot. How can people not be even slightly perturbed by being up that high in such conditions?

  15. mittfh says:

    I remember watching the first video the first time – rather them than me!

    As for the second – if they continue doing stunts like that, they will be prime candidates for a Darwin Award…

  16. Francis says:

    I think the second video should not have been published here. It just encourages kids to do stupid and illegal things. It shows them that by doing crazy and immature things, they will become Internet superstars.

  17. Stephen Long says:

    What nonsense calling the people in the second video ‘foolish,’ ‘sickening,’ and ‘stupid.’ Are white water rafters equally stupid? What about base jumpers? The whole POINT of extreme sports is the danger element.

    I certainly wouldn’t do it. Gives me butterflies just watching. But anyone who thinks these people are idiots is a prig.

  18. Travis says:

    Well, the kids in the second video were certainly foolish. But at the same time, how often do we as adults do foolish, life-threatening things without even thinking about it? “Oh, I can beat that train — it’s not moving THAT fast.”

  19. JJ says:

    The tower climb was fascinating to watch. I wonder how long it takes to climb a tower like that?

  20. Luisa says:

    I didn’t get as nervous as I thougth I would. It took a while to sink in it was acctually real.
    But if I was on site, I would be freaking out, even standing on ground looking at the tiny people up there.

    One thing I realised is: I am a little scared of heights, but standing in a window on a high floor and looking up is worst than looking donw. Same thing on eiffel tower, empire state, etc. I can’t look up and see the construction ending, but have very little problem looking down.
    anyone else has this?

  21. Paul Pearson says:

    Talk about getting high!
    Anyone for BASE jumping?
    These fascinate me, and I have only cautious, minute fear from heights, yet my brother can’t stand driving freeway overpasses he is so afraid of heights. Interesting.

  22. The other Matt says:

    Oh, and thank you Richard for the warning….
    The upper one video is really amazing. I hope this worker have weared a parachute !
    The lower one video is crazy of course. The question is: Is this more dangerous than a walk along a high frequented road ? One wrong step and you will be gone, in both cases.
    When you click several times on “next” after the lower video, you will find a lot of the same videos and also “Skydiving without a parachute” !

  23. namowal says:

    Like others, that made my palms sweat and my feet grow cold.

    I don’t think I’d have reacted the same way if the video showed the crane alone, without the kids.

    The weird thing is, over the years I’ve seen plenty of videos of people doing dangerous things (and sometimes suffering the consequences), but they don’t trigger nearly the same fear response as seeing someone way up high. I wonder why that is?

  24. PeaceLove says:

    The kids in the second video remind me of David Blaine training for his Vertigo stunt. He had to learn to overcome his natural fear of heights by standing on the edge of precipices. I sense the feeling of empowerment those kids felt.

    We live in a society that tries to eliminate any risk. But risk can be healthy. The risk of falling for those folks was fairly small (though obviously not zero). Who but the participants can judge if the benefits were worth it?

    Carpe diem!

  25. […] Head for heights? I am sure that I have posted this before, but it was then removed from YouTube and has only just gone back up.  Try to […] […]

  26. I always have a hard time watching John Noakes climb the ladder and especially the overhang at the Nelson Column without *any* safety gear (cf. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x2yujvB1l1g).

  27. Emmanuel says:

    This is one is not bad too !!
    Guys on top of the tallest tower in Dubai :

  28. unklstuart says:

    Most techs I know do not wear metal band wrist watches.

Leave a Reply

