“Every man looks at me as if I were a dickhead”

16

Jay Livingston kindly brought this to my attention…. it was made in Italy in 1536 and shows a man’s head made entirely of penises….

The reversed inscription is ‘OGNI HOMO ME GUARDA COME FOSSE UNA TESTA DE CAZI’, which apparently means ‘Every man looks at me as if I were a dickhead’.

Amazing that this illusion was created almost 500 years ago.Β  Do you like it?Β  Remind you of anyone you know?

 

 

 

 

 

16 comments on ““Every man looks at me as if I were a dickhead”

  1. chris rotchell says:

    looks abit ‘martin clunes’ esc,dont know why…

  2. Mollie says:

    Reminds me of my boss.

  3. Ken says:

    Wow, 16th century Italian artist predicted Nick Clegg

  4. Tracey says:

    πŸ™‚ I can think of a few people it reminds me of.

  5. Ken says:

    Wow, 16th century Italian artist predicted Nick Clegg

  6. Dan Wade says:

    Reminds me of FAR too many people to politely comment on….. πŸ™‚

    http://danjswade.wordpress.com

  7. Alessandro I. says:

    Ehi! It’s italian πŸ™‚
    That is an old italian form, of course, in fact there are many errors.
    Today it could be written as: “Ogni uomo mi guarda come fossi una testa di cazzi” which is a little bit different, but the meaning is exactly the same πŸ™‚

  8. lynnertic says:

    So you men have always had only one thing on your mind. I’m not surprised.

  9. Ian says:

    I went on a guided tour of the Ashmolean recently. The guide talked for about 5 mins about the plate immediately below this in the cabinet. I was amazed that I seemed to be the only one who noticed this.

  10. DeepField says:

    Why is the text written backwards?

  11. […] [Richard Wiseman Blog] AKPC_IDS += "9095,"; […]

  12. Ken says:

    Reminds me of Francesco Urbini (or is that cheating?) or perhaps Giuseppe Arcimboldo…

  13. Marion says:

    I couldn’t possibly say who this reminds me of.
    Just proves being a dickhead isn’t the result of modern society. They’ve obviously been around for years!!

  14. niguy123 says:

    is it just me, or is the artist being a guy the slightest bit gay…..

  15. Martha says:

    I don’t get it. Is there any psychology element to this?

  16. Eliosa says:

    I’m not sure that he is a man….look at hair with a green ribbon and he(?)’s got an earing :s i think this is a woman

Leave a Reply

