59 seconds tour and a birthday

37

Excited to announce that 59 Seconds has just been published in the USA (available from Amazon.com), and so I am on a  media/speaking tour until the 13th January. 

If you are in NYC tonight or Boston on the 8th Jan, hope you can make it to a talk…

Jan 5: New York – Investigating the impossible (details here)
Jan 8: Boston – How to get more sex with Richard Wiseman (details here)

Also, the blog is one year old today!  Thanks to everyone who has submitted material, commented and been so supportive over the past twelve months.

It is always great to get feedback, so here is my question – what is your favourite kind of blog entry?  Do you prefer the puzzles, magic tricks, illusions, or psychological experiments?

37 comments on “59 seconds tour and a birthday

  1. KiwiKate says:

    As a long time lurker I’d like to say a big congratulations on making it to the one year mark! In answer to your question, I really enjoy the illusions and psych experiments. Some of the visual illusions posted in recent months have been awesome. Cheers to another year of interesting stuff 🙂

  2. bob says:

    “How to get more sex with Richard Wiseman”?

    If you’re already getting some sex with Richard Wiseman, surely it’s just a matter of asking him for more…

  3. ndoro.ndoni says:

    hai, mr wiseman.
    i ‘m dhoni. i like your blog, but this my first comment on your blog.
    and i like your post about puzzles, or psychological experiments.

    ^_^

  4. Geoff says:

    I love the ones you suggested, plus everything else. A very entertaining blog.

  5. I caught your Toronto talk which was great (but I’m really sorry I missed your sex talk).

  6. sahlah says:

    Congratulations on your one year anniversary.

    I like the puzzles, but all the content is really entertaining. Thank you.

  7. EmilyT says:

    Congrats on both the book release and the blogaversary!

    As to the question – my favourite posts are the psychological experiments followed by the illusions – though I guess illusions fall partially into the psychological side too as to how we see the world and expect things to be!

  8. alocaly says:

    I like the fact that there are puzzles, magic tricks, illusions, AND psychological experiments?

    If there were only one or two kind of these categories, it would be less surprising !

  9. Carl says:

    I like the puzzles best. Illusions and magic tricks are really cool, too. The psychology experiments I could usually live without.

  10. Ali says:

    No UK tour? 😦

  11. Kate says:

    The optical illusions are the best. It constantly amazes me how our brains can fool us — if only people would realize that fact more often!

  12. Scott says:

    I like the fact that there is a variety. If you just do one thing it will get boring but having a consistent variety (oxymoron?) it why I keep checking out your blog.

  13. Clementine says:

    Amazing! Happy birthday to richardwiseman.wordpress.com 🙂

    the thing I prefer on the blog is precisely the fact that there are loads of different things… so I’d just team up with Scott and co to say, don’t change anything! it’s amazing as it is.

  14. namowal says:

    The psych experiments are my favorites, but I like the illusions too.
    Happy Birthday!

  15. Katy M says:

    Happy Anniversary! I too like the variety, but have to admit to a sneaking liking for the answers to the puzzles – simply because the comments threads turn into such snarkfests!! LOL.

  16. Greg says:

    Saw Richard on the CBS Morning Show today.

    59 Seconds book promo.

  17. Sally says:

    Thanks for your blog! always look forward to checking out the entires: some are more comfortable for me (example: artsy), and some are much more challenging (such as the logic-oriented ones) – either and any way, seems like the variety draws all sorts of responses, ideas, sharing – that is most appreciated.

    Will miss your visit to Boston! – which is where I live, but unfortunately won’t be home then.

    Have found the book (59 Seconds) so useful, easy to share with friends and acquaintances.

    Have a good trip!

  18. SteveG says:

    First of all, let me say I will see you tonight in NYC and I’m looking forward to it. I hope you’ve got a few (signed) copies of your book with you…

    I think I enjoy everything. But if I had to pick, it comes down to the magic tricks, then, in order of preference, the illusions, the puzzles, and the experiments.

    Great stuff all of it!

  19. Heidi Clare says:

    I really like how Richard allows people to ‘leave a reply’ which encourages nutters to ramble on and say nothing of any value thus wasting readers lives. A bit like what I’m doing right now.

  20. Lindamp says:

    Like many others I enjoy the variety of entries. I also enjoyed your podcasts from Edinburgh.

  21. Sean says:

    Congratulations on the anniversary! I have been reading since the beginning, though I don’t always participate in the comments. I find that challenges to figuring out illusion/magic trick videos/pictures are my favorite posts. Keep up the great work, can’t wait to read your book!

  22. Bucket says:

    Hello Richard, congrats on one year of your blog. I’m a consistent reader, even if I don’t comment all that often.
    My favorite aspects are the psychological experiments, but the recent magic tricks have been pretty outstanding as well.
    Here is to many more years to come

  23. Vern says:

    All these things in balance. Variety is the spice of blogs.

  24. Mike K says:

    My favorites are the psychological experiments, as well as the videos that support or cast light upon the research. Sometimes the videos make me want to learn about the background studies. Of course, a quirky video always makes my day. Great blog.

  25. lilabyrd says:

    Congrats on both the book and the blog! I like everything just as you are doing it right now. If it ain’t broke don’t fix it…..lol… :}

  26. ButMadNNW says:

    “It is always great to get feedback, so here is my question – what is your favourite kind of blog entry? Do you prefer the puzzles, magic tricks, illusions, or psychological experiments?”

    YES.

  27. Dragos says:

    As I am developing iphone apps, I liked the posts about Telepath.

    But the most I like those about new stuff, or old stuff but in a different light.

    Happy Birthday!

  28. Freznow says:

    The puzzles hooked me, the psychological experiments kept me, and the illusions are bonus (with optical illusions being extra interesting to me).

  29. Katie says:

    ALL OF THEM! Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever read an entry and then thought, “Well, I didn’t enjoy that!” 🙂 I just want *more* of all of them!

  30. RJW says:

    I really enjoy the illusions and the experiments, but all of it’s enjoyable.

  31. Andrew MW says:

    variety is good, puzzles are my favourite.

  32. […] Richard. 59 Seconds: Think a Little, Change a Lot. New York: Knopf, 2009. […]

  33. Yuriy says:

    Congratulations with publishing the book in North America. I just finished reading it and enjoyed it immensely. Couple of 59 second exercises are already making small changes in my life.

    I have a suggestion for a further 2D:4D ratio study (Casanova effect). I am curious to know if there is a correlation between these ratios in married couples and the divorce figures.

    Regards,
    Yuriy
    Vancouver, BC, Canada

  34. J says:

    I just discovered your blog! I especially enjoy the puzzles and psychological posts. 🙂

  35. The Lost Arts Of War…

    …an interestin post over at . . ….

  36. Elly says:

    Congrats to Chelsea!

Leave a Reply

