Another amazing image

53

Yesterday was amazing.  WordPress kindly featured us on their homepage again, so a large amount of traffic on the site.  Following on from the coffee bean image, Martinus kindly submitted this great image from AwkwardFamilyPhotos.  It is wonderful because it shows how we are attracted to people’s eyes and so can sometimes miss the obvious….

nicole-random-262-1.JPG-1024x768

Did you manage to spot the hidden person?

53 comments on “Another amazing image

  1. Noadi says:

    Yeah, just took a few seconds. That had to be uncomfortable.

  2. KW says:

    That must be one soft sofa!

  3. Fran6co says:

    Viva Photoshop…
    I can’t see the point of such pictures…

  4. lilabyrd says:

    I’m not even going to ask why…lol…. nor how…. butt must be a very trusting soul to be in that position…lol…. :}

  5. Adjay says:

    hahaha..just in 3 seconds..

  6. Kelvin Kao says:

    If that photo is real, then it must’ve been quite uncomfortable.

  7. ButMadNNW says:

    I did. And the word “disturbing” springs to mind.

  8. endlesspsych says:

    Apparently eyes cast doubt on the idea of universal facial expressions as folks from the far east concentrate more on eyes then other facial features for emotional cues.

    I do hope that research is wrong ‘cos I quite like lie to me…

  9. Dan says:

    about 10 seconds. that was really odd

  10. Carol says:

    Haha, excellent. Hope nobody had beans for tea!

  11. Natasha says:

    It took me the better part of a minute to see her, and when I did it scared me even though I’d prepared myself to be surprised. I didn’t expect her to be looking right at me!

  12. jp says:

    haha hilarious.

  13. madelincwolf says:

    Spotted it right away. Kinda weird though.

  14. c00 says:

    As soon as I read there was a hidden person I saw it. Didn’t see it until then tho.

  15. Vern says:

    Looked like any other typical family photo to begin with. But after seeing the truth of what’s really going on, and how easily I was deceived, I can only come to one conclusion.

    Families are not to be trusted.

  16. Scottie says:

    At first I thought she had some weird looking toes…

  17. Bernard says:

    Its the woman’s shoe

  18. Flavio says:

    This pic freaks me out a little, they’re like a family of murderers.

    But if this photo was taken on an equinox, then it’s all about balancing the gravity pull ;))

  19. jmarton says:

    poor, poor Grandma.

  20. charliecorse says:

    saw that one straight away, but after the coffee bean one I knew what to expect!

  21. marlandphotos says:

    I saw this photo before the bean photo. I saw this face in 3 seconds.

  22. Theresa says:

    proud to say yes, i did spot the guy.

  23. Simon says:

    Spotted it almost immediately — again. 🙂

  24. namowal says:

    Found it quickly- but probably because the context had “primed” me to look for something weird…

  25. fluffy says:

    I saw that one right away, but I’d probably been primed by yesterday’s.

  26. Nopke says:

    Poor man … the son they didn’t want ..

  27. Ms G says:

    Or .. ofcourse .. it’s her secret lover … her husband came home too soon so he hided ..

  28. Tuttifrutti says:

    That’s why she smiles like that ofcourse …

  29. Jewel says:

    LOL. That one took me about 30 seconds once I was looking for it. I like this one.

  30. Jane says:

    is it just me, or does the blue and black clothed kid’s waist look distorted?His legs seem disconnected from his body. I guess his pants are too big for him. Anyhow, due to this distraction, it took me a long time, more than 30 sec to find the person. The person’s really well hidden, I think.

  31. […] Google Reader: Another amazing imageOctober 22, […]

  32. Diane says:

    Scared the snot outta me when I saw that face. Eerie indeed. Excellent hallowe’en season pic.

  33. mzervou says:

    It scared t he sh** out of me – the way she was staring at me! And then I read Vern and Flavio’s comments in here and I got even more scared!!!

  34. Cosmin Romania says:

    I had seen it before I read the question. 😀

  35. Berber Anna says:

    Ow. That looks rather painful.

  36. LordJuss says:

    If you trace back the links there are a series of photos on Flickr showing this is enitrely genuine! The woman underneath is apparently Aunt Telcia, who was presumably a good sport.

  37. teobesta says:

    yes, this time it was instantaneous
    brilliant!

  38. Adam says:

    Didn’t notice at all until you said there was a hidden person, and even then I was first looking between them, not below.

  39. Sally says:

    Saw the hidden person in a few seconds. Unusual image!

  40. jayequeue says:

    LoL, doesn’t look very comfortable!

  41. Lakatos Istvan says:

    I wonder who that is…

  42. Phil Jay says:

    I didnt get it at all for ages concentrating on the mirror / flash reflection then when I got it – it was a “climbs out of the TV” moment. Showed my 8 yr old who is starting to be interested in fact vs myth vs unknown. Her eyes wandered and wandered and then I hovered the mouse over it and she jumped out of her skin ! Feel guilty now…. LOL told her its a fake and she believes me (I hope).

  43. Mike says:

    If that woman were to have sudden case of gas… the hidden person would instantly become apparent… I would think.

  44. Blackmystix says:

    Took me two seconds. I laughed.

  45. Sakura says:

    First I looked to see if anybody was missing their pants, then I saw the person.

  46. josh says:

    i noticed the guy underneath before i notice which people were adults and which were childres. about half a second.

  47. choffy says:

    choffy…

    […]Another amazing image « Richard Wiseman[…]…

  48. whoah this weblog is wonderful i like studying your articles. Keep up the good work! You recognize, a lot of people are searching round for this info, you can help them greatly.

  49. I’m just commenting to let you know of the exceptional experience my princess developed checking your blog. She discovered a wide variety of issues, most notably what it’s like to have a very effective helping spirit to get other people effortlessly grasp chosen advanced things. You actually did more than her desires. Thank you for supplying the helpful, trusted, edifying as well as cool guidance on your topic to Sandra.

  50. dor cohen says:

    One thing is always that one of the most widespread incentives for using your credit cards is a cash-back or perhaps rebate supply. Generally, you’re going to get 1-5 back in various expenditures. Depending on the credit card, you may get 1 back on most purchases, and 5 again on expenditures made in convenience stores, gasoline stations, grocery stores plus ‘member merchants’.

Leave a Reply

