Can you spot the face in the beans?

180

This is simply wonderful.  Take a look at the illustration below and see if you can spot the face.  Once you have seen it you won’t believe that you once didn’t see it…

532275509_71c954d03b

Don’t say where it is, but feel free to say if you spotted it and long long it took.  This probably says something about you, but I have no idea what.

Update: If you are stuck, there is a clue after the break….

Bottom left

180 comments on “Can you spot the face in the beans?

  1. Noadi says:

    Been staring at it for a couple minutes and absolutely nothing. This isn’t one of thos magic eye type things is it? Because I know I can’t do those.

  2. Cosmin Romania says:

    It took me only 3 seconds to find it.

  3. Maurice says:

    Yup found it. It took a few seconds.

  4. Roland says:

    Nothing magic eye or 3D thingy. Indeed just a plain male face. Once you see it, you will keep seeing it. Seen this photo a few years ago and took me I guess a minute or so. Now it seems strange that it took me so long 😉

    Cheers

  5. Kelvin Kao says:

    Stared at it for a few minutes but couldn’t find it. But I spotted it right away after I started checking each section of the image one by one.

  6. KW says:

    Took me a minute or two. I also tried the 3D thingy, defocusing the eyes and all that, but it didn’t/doesn’t help.

  7. Infophile says:

    Wow, this one took me a while. A good half hour of staring and finding nothing. I had completely the wrong idea about what sort of “face” I was looking for, so I missed the completely obvious.

  8. jana says:

    aaahh, scary!

  9. Found it quickly, but only because I’d seen it before. Once you see it you can’t unsee it. However, it took me considerably longer than that my first time encountering this one.

  10. Daniel says:

    I found it in a couple of seconds.

  11. ZenMonkey says:

    Stared at it for a while, didn’t see anything. Looked away for a bit. When I came back I saw it immediately.

    I also was looking for something pareidolic (?).

  12. Rod says:

    Took about a minute to spot it. Was looking for one of those magic eye things before I spotted it.

  13. I wasted a while looking for a magic eye thing. To save you hours of defocussed eyes, it’s not a pattern from the whole picture.

  14. Pekka S says:

    Took about 20-30 seconds

  15. Adjay says:

    It took me less than 1 minute to find it (him)!..LOL

  16. Jan says:

    I needed help to find it. I was looking for the wrong thing. Like it!

  17. Drew says:

    Saw it, around the 15 second mark I estimate.

  18. thirdman says:

    About a second which is odd because I’ve seen this one before & never been able to see it.

  19. Darren says:

    Found it pretty much straight away

  20. Frankie says:

    About ten seconds 🙂

  21. David Andrew says:

    Isn’t it a global/analytic – big picture/small picture thing?

  22. Dan says:

    5 seconds. seen it a while ago

  23. Adrian says:

    5 secs.

  24. Wintermute says:

    Roughly 10-15 seconds. Saw it out of the corner of my eye when reading the text below the image.

  25. Greg says:

    Not long – less than 20 seconds, FWIW

  26. nannes says:

    I needed the clue to spot it. I had been looking for a larger face…

  27. Faye says:

    I only found it because I have seen it before, the first time took me aaaaages though!

  28. Harriet says:

    I found that in about 10 seconds …. what does that say?!

  29. Few seconds – can’t do Magic Eye stuff so didn’t even try it. Just looked methodically in small columns up and down until I saw the eyes.

  30. Ellika says:

    It took me about 5 seconds to find it.

  31. Jenny says:

    Took me ages plus the tip, then.. arghghh!

  32. Nakul Shenoy says:

    Took me about 8 seconds, Richard. Nice!

    (and then saw what you meant!!)

    Ha ha ha!!!

  33. stephen browne says:

    I also needed the clue to find it because i was looking for a larger face to appear out of nowhere, kind of like those 3-d pictures

  34. Sally says:

    Took me about 4 minutes. Like others, I was looking for a magic eye-type effect.

  35. georgina says:

    it took me a minute to find it.

  36. Kevin Lewis says:

    took me a minute – had to focus on the detail rather than the bigger picture. that makes a change on these images 😦

  37. Jani says:

    Oh you mean a face, like a wee head keeking out? I spent positively ages trying to see the beans make a face shape. And it’s more bottom left of centre!
    By the way, the “Jesus on the toilet door” in Ikea Glasgow looks like our friend who works there.

  38. i found it in a minute or 2, but i can still believe at first i didn’t see it since it is not very big and obvious

  39. Dave says:

    Yeh spotted it in about 10 seconds. Doubt that says anything though. Although it does look a bit like me! Does that mean I’m an egotist or something LOL!

  40. Nopke says:

    Poor man .. Where did you get these huge beans from btw?

  41. travis says:

    definitely not what i was expecting– it took a good 10 minutes to find it. i needed the hint of looking at smaller sections of the image (i was expecting a bigger face)

  42. automatthias says:

    About a minute. After I haven’t seen it at the first glance, I started looking for it systematically and found it.

  43. Tim Jones says:

    Nice. 20 seconds ish

  44. xamn says:

    About 1 second

  45. tarranti says:

    Obviously have too much time on my hands – about 2 mins but canme as a shock!

  46. macateb says:

    About a second

  47. Bibah says:

    cool!
    I saw this in about 30 seconds!

  48. DEE says:

    about 20 seconds~very interesting~

  49. teobesta says:

    took a bit under 30 seconds
    tricky though
    cause i was looking for the magic eye effect too
    but it’s true, after i found it wondered how i’d failed to see it right away

  50. Pat says:

    Took about 2-3 minutes. May have been longer if I hadn’t read the “one bean” comment.

  51. Alice says:

    Took me a few minutes, because I was looking for a pattern among the beans and not examining them individually! Very good Richard!

  52. jmarton says:

    Scared the hell out of me!

  53. Simon says:

    Spotted it almost immediately. Under a second, I think.

  54. Alex says:

    It took me about 30 seconds, but I was looking for beans in the shape of a face not a face in the beans.

  55. Steven Harris says:

    It is the face of God and he tells me to stop messing around with these things and do some damn work!
    http://doctorbeatnik.wordpress.com/

  56. Barbara says:

    Wow, I found it right away. What does that say about me? Hmmm? Special? Sure, going with that.

  57. Gus Snarp says:

    Found it in about 30 seconds of systematic searching. Started by going a bit unfocused and looking for it in a pattern of beans, then systematically searched smaller bits till I got to looking at individual beans. Now, is it photoshopped in or is it para-watchamacalit?

  58. Beth says:

    Couldn’t find it until I saw the clue…kept trying to see a face comprised of lots of beans 🙂 Once I saw bottom left…about 3 seconds.

  59. I sptoted it boefre I eevn lokoed at it. Deos taht mkae me eevn special-er? ha

  60. bigjohn756 says:

    I’m with Simon Says. It took me maybe a second.

  61. katharine says:

    found it with help.

    But strangely, with the magic eye thingie I seem to see an old religious guy (with a kaftan and a mustache) looking down and to the left on the right hand side of the picture. Though clearly no one else does so I guess I’m just nutty (or beany).

  62. Francesca says:

    I’ve seen this before, so I saw the face instantly. Wah.

  63. Pretty Project says:

    Creepy. Way creepy.

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  64. larry says:

    45 seconds….more or less

  65. waAhFau says:

    wwihh, i found it! 🙂

  66. fluffy says:

    I couldn’t see it until I read the clue.

  67. Sybil says:

    I cheated…… But it`s really good

  68. Martin says:

    That took me a while, is it wrong to say it bears some resemblance to Derren Brown?

  69. johnkarol says:

    saw it!

  70. MikeS says:

    about 6 min. in spotted it…before I read any clues……….so that says something about me…………………………Like what the heck are you doing?

  71. Ok..wow. I’d seen this picture before, & never got it..after I read ALL the comments, & the “one bean” thing, when I scrolled alll the way back up, it was the first thing I saw…and nearly jumped out of my seat!! FREAKY!

    And wow, I can’t believe I never saw it before…what a loser, lol..

  72. haaaa I’m kind of embarrassed how long it took me- I was convinced it was a magic eye sort of thing. and it is a little creepy too!

  73. I think the comments are telling: those who stared at the picture as a whole had a hard time; those who searched section by section found it quickly. Maybe we all need to learn to change-up our methodology every now & then. Fun post, thanks!

    http://thecassandrafiles.wordpress.com

  74. Chad says:

    Those must be some really big beans. I would be a little frightened if I found that guy in my giant beans.

  75. Pauline says:

    neat..it took me a second

  76. Name says:

    About 3 seconds

  77. Navneeth says:

    I knew I had seen this before (some years ago), yet it took me a minute or two figure it out. Initially, I too was looking for a face made up of beans rather than a face masquerading as a single bean.

  78. rolak says:

    Saw nothing in the minutes before reading the clue, but then I got it immediate. And now there is no chance not seeing it, the eyes are focussing the face instantaneously.

  79. Cheryl says:

    I got it in about 7 secs 🙂

  80. Bazookah Joe says:

    ARG. I can never see those kinds of things. I stare until I get a headache. 🙂

  81. […] Can you spot the face in this illusion?. […]

  82. guillene says:

    Indeed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    thanks for the tip about it being in one bean. The forehead is coming up first.

  83. coborski says:

    Wow, I saw it instantly. BTW its not a magic eye thing, its one small bean that is a face.

  84. Jewel says:

    Took me 4 or 5 seconds to see it.

  85. Deli Lanoux says:

    My pea brain quickly scanned the middle section, trying to make sense of shapes before eyeballing the periphery. And it was there… so easy to see. What fun!

  86. Mari says:

    Took me less than a minute. The face is a human face wedged between two coffee bean at the bottom lefthand side of the frame. Yipeeee!

  87. Daniel says:

    I spotted in 3 seconds

  88. jayequeue says:

    Very cool-thanks!

  89. softballgirl78 says:

    Wow that took me longer than I thought it would. I needed the hint. Thanks for sharing that was cool!

  90. Zach says:

    2 seconds. I can’t believe I found it so fast.

  91. Kel Quint says:

    Dunno if this only happened to me, but in the first few seconds I looked at it, I saw a big smiley face with several beans, not just one bean, as I read later on, and saw the male face. You can see the smiley face if you tilt your head slightly to the left – it’s on the left side of the pic. Not VERY distinct, but that’s what I saw first.

  92. David says:

    Creeepy. Hard to find at first, but once you know where it is, you spot it every time. Kelvin Kao’s technique of checking each section of the image worked for me.

  93. Tasha says:

    lol I’ve seen this damn picture so many times and I could never see it, and today…I finally spot it…

  94. sevenonefivesunday says:

    its actually rather creepy.

  95. Tom Rhoads says:

    Got it. I guess about 20 seconds, but it seemed to jump out at me after a brief scan.

  96. nezz says:

    it took me about 5 second i supposed. ^^

  97. willamoo says:

    it took me three minutes. how creepy.

  98. Kukudoos says:

    haha 🙂 took me two – three minutes..

  99. Mchl says:

    I needed a hint from one of the comments above. Then it was a matter of seconds. If I hadn’t read that, I would probably be staring at the picture for hours.

  100. Emily says:

    Less than a second. It was the first thing I saw.

  101. mjr256 says:

    At first, I really struggled I think because I was thinking it was like a magic eye that involved many beans. But after about a minute, I saw it without reading your hint below the fold.

  102. Irina says:

    About 1 min, but I needed the clue.

  103. Tim says:

    Actually found what I thought was a very small face in the middle first. Then after reading the clue I found the face mentioned shortly after.

  104. jp says:

    ohhh. about 30 seconds. thought it was one of those illusions instead of a wheres wally. still cool though.

  105. Justine says:

    There are many of these sort of pictures and I don’t always see what I have to find. But with this one… I saw it right away. O_O Maybe being a coffee-addict helps? 😉

  106. madelincwolf says:

    It took me less than 30 seconds to spot it. Clever!

  107. toolsofpower says:

    About 10 seconds 🙂 Don’t know what it says about me. Love coffee for sure 😀

  108. candyfusion says:

    It took about 20 seconds, very cool!

  109. cloverxxkorhz says:

    I found it!!! XD COOL!!!

  110. Scottie says:

    that poor, poor guy. To have to go through life with the face that resembles a coffee bean! I love this… It took me about a good 15seconds.

  111. Flavio says:

    Took me 5 seconds really.

  112. Sgt Skepper says:

    About 20 seconds.

  113. Mehreen Ali Kasana says:

    Took me 10 seconds. That face was creepy.

  114. warlock6 says:

    absolutely nothing! maybe i am blind? but i still see my keybord and letters to type. lol!

  115. sravan953 says:

    After reading the clue, 5 seconds…

  116. Jaamin says:

    Hahaha good one, I was starring at the coffee like about a minut, trying to make some form of the coffee beans .. and I thought I am stopping but then unexpected .. there he is … a face yo

  117. meltedpoo says:

    Wooo…Creepy. Took me quite a while. Haha!

  118. marlandphotos says:

    Two seconds.

  119. sittingpugs says:

    I see it too. Took me maybe 20 seconds because I didn’t want to stare too long.

  120. Reggie says:

    Awesome! I saw it after about 15 seconds. At first I thought it was one of those weird 3D images that I’ve never been able to see, but then I realised there was quite literally a face hidden among the beans. VERY clever!

  121. SteveG says:

    yes, in about 45 seconds

  122. ScreamingGreenConure says:

    Oh god, I see it, it’s LOOKING AT ME OMG

  123. Jane says:

    took me less than a minute
    it’s supprisingly well hidden.

  124. Katie says:

    I absolutely could not see it until the hint. That’s genius.

  125. varseys says:

    no need long time to find it, just not really sure

  126. Two days trying to find it on my ipod screen couldn’t see it – 5 seconds looking at it on my computer – saw it immediately. I guess size matters here.

  127. Scott says:

    I needed assistance… had the same magic eye thoughts in my head.

  128. Sally says:

    Took about 15 or so seconds to see the face.

  129. Lakatos Istvan says:

    Well, it took me only a half of minute to spot it, but only because the image was too large for my screen ;P

  130. Bibah says:

    there is probably two faces i think?
    a small one and a super big one.

  131. […] Can you spot the face in the beans? « Richard Wiseman's Blog […]

  132. ladymidnight says:

    Couldn’t see it at all until I read the comments. That probably means I had small people in my coffee this morning without noticing them ::sigh::

  133. Manny says:

    Yes. It took me about 45 secs.

  134. jordan says:

    i found it in less than 8 seconds its so easy its at the bottom 3/4s to the left

  135. jordan says:

    i found it in less than 8 seconds its so easy its at the bottom 3/4s to the left and im 12

  136. Sakura says:

    I saw it, but it took a couple of seconds. Most people go straight to searching for a pattern in the beans to make up the face, but that gets you nowhere!

  137. josh says:

    seen it before. took me about 10secs 1st time, but only 1 or 2 the second

  138. frodo says:

    easy 1 second to do

  139. Jerry says:

    Its not hard, it just took me a few secs

  140. Kinatuna says:

    This one takes a while, but it’s only one coffee bean that makes up the face. Just don’t look at the center but very near the edge – kinda surprising when you suddenly see it!

  141. slim coffee says:

    slim coffee…

    […]Can you spot the face in the beans? « Richard Wiseman[…]…

Leave a Reply

