It’s the Friday puzzle!

62

imagesCan you write down the number 8 eight times so that they add up to 1000? They can be next to each other or under each other or any combination.

The answer to this puzzle, and 100 others,  can be found in a new kindle ebook called PUZZLED, and is available in the UK here and USA here.

62 comments on “It’s the Friday puzzle!

  1. Jason says:

    Took me about 5 minutes, most of which was working out what the rules really were🙂

  2. Victor Meldrew says:

    Got it, also in about 5 mins. I suspect there may be several answers.

  3. bd says:

    I found two ways to do this

  4. Travis says:

    Took about thirty seconds, after which I slapped myself upside the forehead.

  5. nikki says:

    That seemed pretty easy. Took me about a minute, but I did use a calculator to test out the different combinations.

  6. Marie says:

    10 seconds (to check)

  7. Vikram says:

    15 seconds for one way which is probably an alternate way..

  8. Peter te Riele says:

    It took me 5 minutes although I expected it to be impossible for me. All of a sudden I discovered one of the answers. I think there are several answers. Where will we find an answer?

  9. Stuart Dedrick says:

    Also about a minute for the first solution.

  10. Raja says:

    < 10 sec😀

  11. Noadi says:

    2 tries and about 3 minutes including double checking on a calculator

  12. Matthew says:

    Got it, but not without heading off on a wild goose chase trying to turn 8 into a binary number (8 = 0b1000).

  13. Mchl says:

    I’ve found a really lame’n’lazy way to do this. Thinking of some real solution now.😀

  14. Michael says:

    Yep. 10-15 seconds

  15. Ruben says:

    Too easy… is there something I missed.

  16. Knut says:

    Seems to be too easy..maybe that’s the real test? see how many that starts looking for “harder” solutions? some strange psychology test..

  17. Z says:

    Got it on first try, what did I miss?

  18. inatrice says:

    Hmm, about 2 mins -which surprised me, I am normally rubbish at these! AS long as I have read the question right. Oh well, we shall see!

  19. Dan says:

    Takes 10-15 seconds of induction to come up with the straightforward answer. Parsing the questions took a bit of extra time since it seems designed to lead one away from the straightforward answer.

  20. Natasha says:

    think I got it right. In just under a minute. I don’t see a second way that others have mentioned. Maybe I missed something. Probably, I did.

  21. OMG for like one of the first times ever I think I may have got it!

  22. josephalford says:

    About a minute. Anyone who has watched enough Countdown should be able to do this no problem!

  23. Rory says:

    I got it after a couple of minutes. Then I realized that you meant the *digit* 8, not the *number* 8, and came up with the answer you were probably looking for. That answer took a couple of seconds.

    My first answer is an arithmetic expression using the basic operators +, – , *, and /, as well as brackets for order of operations. It uses the number 8 exactly 8 times, and no other numbers. It was a much more interesting puzzle, but much harder.😛 A solution with fewer 8s is easier.

  24. Juan says:

    Only took me a few seconds😀 This one was rather easy as soon as I read properly the problem😛

  25. Mollyhicks says:

    10 seconds – mostly confirming i was right in my thought🙂 cool one though

  26. Sruixan says:

    About ten seconds… there’s a nice easy method that only uses division and subtraction…

  27. Nick Sharratt says:

    Took a few minutes, but I blame watching TV at the same time for the delay as the solution I arrived at is trivial eventually.

  28. Julia says:

    I first went all over the place, trying to be lateral and combining roman numerals with arabic numerals etc. When I saw on here that people found it easy, I went and did it the easy way too. I’ll try and remember in future to look for an easy way before starting to think laterally…

    (and no, there was no division or subtraction involved, just adding up)

  29. Garrett says:

    First attempt. Just from the puzzle you can figure out where some of the 8s need to be. Once you put those down on paper, it’s pretty easy to see where the rest of them go.

  30. missytea says:

    Couple of minutes – looking for other solutions now🙂

  31. doug says:

    Worked out a solution in about three minutes. Not certain it’s right.

  32. Got it in less than a minute.

  33. Ken says:

    about 30 seconds with the help of a calculator to confirm

  34. ScreamingGreenConure says:

    No. I’m stuck. I can only get it with 7 of them. I don’t understand. My brain is sad.

  35. rolak says:

    Hmm, the first try of scribbling a couple of 8s was a solution. Fortune?

  36. Rodrigo Ortiz says:

    Got it in less than a minute, too😀 People who are having trouble, pay attention to the way he words it. It’s pretty obvious after you get it.

  37. Happy to say that it didn’t take me too long to get the answer. It probably took about a minute..🙂

    -nattie r.

  38. VioletKiss says:

    Just a minute.

  39. invisibules says:

    30 seconds — divided all the 8s by 8, and 1000 by 8, and it’s really easy to see how to make 125 using eight 1s!

  40. Nel says:

    Took about 20 seconds to Google it and find the answer🙂

  41. Alex Pryce says:

    I have a solution. Took seconds and is creative- therefor probably wrong😦

  42. Gordon says:

    About 30 seconds with pen and paper. It turned out to be easier than I thought it would be.

    Oh and Anita… no solutions until Monday please!

  43. namowal says:

    A few minutes, but math is not my strongest skill.
    Just took some scratch paper and started by thinking which multiples of 8 end in zero? to determine how many to stack in the far right column. From there it was pretty easy to place the remaining eights.

  44. Michael K Gray says:

    After spending over a minute perusing the rules for ‘gotchas’,
    about 10 seconds with a scribble stick.

  45. Jason says:

    About 10 seconds after I read the rules properly. For some odd reason I thought it said add to 1000000.

    About 3 minutes total.

  46. Janine says:

    A few minutes, as usual I was over thinking it again to start with trying to make it more complicated that it actually was and then it clicked!🙂

  47. englishcoach says:

    You see Karen is a bear of very little brain when it comes to anything beyond arithmetic, and couldn’t grasp the average speed puzzle even after it was so well explained so don’t beat yourselves up looking for subtle, cos it ain’t there.
    Karen

  48. klvino says:

    Took less than ten minutes to do it in my head.

  49. Eddy says:

    about 5 seconds, including checking (first guess turned out to be right).

  50. Tom Rhoads says:

    It took me about a minute. It was pretty easy to do in my head, since I took what I think to be an obvious approach to the problem.

  51. veganini says:

    did this in my head in just a few seconds. Was surprised because maths isn’t my strongest point, but the answer was actually more logical than mathematical.

  52. Troythulu says:

    I figured it out in about 20 seconds. It will be interesting to see what other solutions there are.

  53. Ian says:

    I am guessing no maths is really needed to solve the puzzle

  54. chloe says:

    got it in about 20 secs. Purely mathematically mind, not sure how it’s ‘logical’!

  55. Cedar says:

    About 15 seconds, as long as it took to parse x1=3 y=5 x2=1+8-(x&y) which will make no sense unless you’ve figured it out, and possibly none anyway.

  56. guillene says:

    just wrote it down. tried to look for a 0 ending. it worked first time.

  57. john m says:

    Easy, it took 10 sec, of course I teach math so it came to me right away. Pretty much did what guillene said

  58. Anonymous says:

    8+8+8+88+888

  59. jasper says:

    i only took i few seconds 2 answer that.. its very easy..haha

Leave a Reply

