It’s the Friday puzzle!

93

Corey_Arnold_Kitty_and_Horse_Fisherman_2007_915_97Three simple word pictures this week. Which well known phrases are represented by the following…..

sta4nce

Give Get
Give Get
Give Get
Give Get

12345678
12safety78
12345678

The answer to this puzzle, and 100 others,ย  can be found in a new kindle ebook called PUZZLED, and is available in the UK here and USA here.

93 comments on “It’s the Friday puzzle!

  1. Natasha says:

    I figured out the first and third ones pretty quickly, I’d say under 2 minutes. I think I know the second one, but it didn’t click for me as satisfyingly as the other two did.

  2. Rosa says:

    Yes! I know this week is ridiculously easy compared to normal but I still feel big and clever I figured it out after thirty odd seconds.

  3. jc says:

    hmm. . . not sure about the first one, though i may have it. other two i managed without much trouble. i enjoy these types of puzzles.

  4. ButMadNNW says:

    I’m stuck on the 3rd, just got the 2nd (after a minute or so?), and got the 1st right away.

  5. Robin says:

    I got them all. Probably took about a minute.

  6. jc says:

    haha, i was wrong. . . finally got the first one. . .

  7. jc says:

    i bet there is a follow up question about the photo. . . .๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Natasha says:

    OK I just looked at it again and this time it was obvious to me what the second one is.

  9. Mark Grady says:

    Got each one as I looked at them.

    Too easy this week.

  10. lakritze says:

    These were fun. Numbers 1 and 3 I had immediately, No. 2 took a bit longer.

    But what’s with the horse with rubber gloves, holding an ill-tempered cat (by the sea)?

  11. Richard says:

    Got them all really quickly. What happened to the ludicrously easy algebra one you put up earlier?

  12. Zodius says:

    Hi. My first visit you the website. Once I’d got over the distraction of the seahorse photo, I solved the puzzles within 30 seconds

  13. Fergus Gallagher says:

    Seahorse and catfish?

  14. Greg Bird says:

    Numbers one and two came straight away, but number 3 took a little more time. When it did, there was that satisying ‘a-ha’ moment.

  15. Nick Sharratt says:

    I had to re-read the question (still waking up and I thought the question related to the picture when I first read it) but then got each within 5 seconds of looking at them. Quite like them. I think I got them quickly as I once set a quiz which involved me making up about 20 of the same sorts of thing๐Ÿ™‚

  16. KS Rose says:

    45 45 45 1 45 45 45 econds 1 1 1 1 1

    1 minutes minutes 1 minutes

    Last 2221222 econds

  17. Nick Sharratt says:

    To Fergus Gallagher – I solved your 30″ fish problem in about 20 seconds BTW๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Pat O'Halloran says:

    Got them in about 30 seconds, too easy this week.

  19. About 30 seconds for all of them together.

  20. Brian says:

    Seconds, these are getting too easy! :o) None as subtle or interesting as the clock puzzle from a few weeks ago.

    This one needs Roy Walker saying “say what you see!”

  21. Paul says:

    Got 2 straight away (I think as it’s most like olde fashoined dingbats), 1 took a tad longer, but as soon as that clicked so did 3. Total time: 1 minute-ish.

  22. Fergus Gallagher says:

    @Nick – it wasn’t MY puzzle. It was on this page for a short while before being replaced by the current one…

  23. Berber Anna says:

    About half a minute. Took a while for 1 to click.

  24. Frankie says:

    Got them all in just under a minute, woo!

  25. Casper H. says:

    This only took me about 25 seconds, and I’m Dutch. Getting used to these, I presume.

  26. NYD says:

    I do a lot of this type of puzzle so it wasn’t much of a challenge. The last one was clever and caused a few giggles.
    Will pass these on to my students to see what happens.

  27. NYD says:

    Do people actually time themselves on this???
    How would you actually know how much time has elapsed? That would make for some interesting research

  28. Shelley says:

    I got the second one quickest. The first and third took a bit longer, but once I got the third the first one clicked straight away.

  29. Janet Smith says:

    Got 1 and 2 as a looked at them 3 took 20- 30 seconds

  30. Vern says:

    About 15 seconds. On no sleep in the past 24. Maybe having 80% of my brain in power saving mode helped.

  31. siajam says:

    10seconds? well, as soon as I read them anyway. much easier than usual! (or maybe my coffee’s just a bit stronger this morning…)

  32. clementineb says:

    that’s unfair! what if you’re not a native English-speaker?

  33. 10 or 15 seconds. Did any one else play Dingbats as a child? I’m sure each of these must have been in there some where.

  34. Lucia says:

    It’s not so simply form me… I do not know so well English!

  35. ScreamingGreenConure says:

    I almost gave up before I started on this, but actually it wasn’t that hard. I got these. I am happy.

  36. Alan Thomas says:

    Got them pretty quickly 30 secs or so. Interesting the order in which peeps solved the puzzle – For me, the easiest one was the 2nd, then the third, then finally the 1st, and like others I was initially perplexed at the inclusion of the picture.

  37. rk says:

    For some reason I get this type of puzzle very quickly, but the maths ones take me ages. Did this in about 15 seconds

  38. Hilary says:

    About 20 seconds for all of them.

  39. uksceptic says:

    Got them fairly quickly. I like these.๐Ÿ™‚

  40. Evil Stead says:

    First two < a minute. Took a couple of minutes to mull over the third one

  41. cam says:

    Got first two straight away,had to mull over the third for a second or two.

  42. Steven says:

    First one immediately, second took maybe 20 seconds, while the third took me quite a while for some reason.

  43. Rich says:

    About a minute.

  44. Paul Freeman says:

    Wow! I did it in about 30 to 45 seconds, found them pretty easy but probably because I know the methods from years of dingbats and the like.

    I’m still chuffed I got them!

  45. abdulQahhar says:

    Under 5 seconds for all four four four four.

    adthanksvance,

    Mike

  46. jamesc says:

    For some reason I got the first two almost instant (getting the second one first and the then the first one), probably about 4 or 5 seconds. But then it took me ages (like about an additional minute) to get the third one and I felt really stupid! Although it is just a rationalisation, I think the numbers in the third one all end in 8 slowed me down. (i.e. I thought that was somehow significant).

    Very good though!

  47. Nick Boorer says:

    Same as adulQahhar…too easy…Buggered by the fish one though

  48. Got the first two in seconds, and the third in tens of seconds.

    To the best of your knowledge, has anyone ever handed out a piece of paper containing NINE questions of this type and another piece of paper with space allocated for TEN answers, the point being that the correct answer for number ten is the phrase “No Question” ?

    Last time I attended a quiz night with some friends, this struck me as a pretty obvious thing to do. But I’ve never heard of anyone actually doing it.

  49. nikki says:

    The first and third were easy and quite similar. The 2nd took me slightly longer to figure out. No longer than a minute to work them out. I love this style of puzzle.

  50. DimlyAware says:

    The cat was going to do the weather report, but he got a little … hoarse.

  51. lesliet says:

    3 instantly, 2 next, 1 after 2 minutes or so.

  52. Magnus says:

    I got the first and second puzzle fairly quickly, but I’m not sure about the third one. If my answer is correct, you wouldn’t really need the first and third line. The 30 inch fish one was easy.

  53. numazutraveler says:

    I actually nailed a weekly puzzle and really quickly to boot.

  54. Catherine says:

    Triple dose of easy right there. Got them all in 30 seconds.

  55. mikaelhaglund says:

    Got answers in less than a minute. Remains to be seen if I also got them right…๐Ÿ™‚

  56. PaoloV says:

    Too easy, 10 seconds max

  57. Sally says:

    Got all of them in about a minute or so. What a photo!

  58. mikaelhaglund says:

    Sure is a nice sea horse. More by the same artist (in higher resolution too) here: http://www.richardhellergallery.com/dynamic/artist.asp?ArtistID=53

  59. livedman says:

    Figured out the word picture puzzles in less than 10 seconds yeah๐Ÿ™‚

  60. ScreamingGreenConure says:

    I think I have an answer for the fish one. Maybe. Probably not.

  61. Stephen Williamson says:

    Got them all immediately, including the fish problem which appears in the RSS instead of the word pictures.

  62. James says:

    more or less instant for 1 & 3
    number 2 took a good 5 mins!

  63. Arne Ehrlich says:

    Got just the second one (in about a minute)
    greetings from germany

  64. Steph says:

    10 seconds for all three.

  65. savitrii says:

    Took me about 5 seconds for all three. I love these, though! Here are a few more:

    dSeAtTaAiNls

    kool t’nod

  66. Dave Rife says:

    Solved them all in less than one-half minute.

  67. Frank says:

    Didn’t know these ones, but have seen similar.
    15-25s

  68. Natasha says:

    I came across this: http://www.toplessrobot.com/2009/07/the_10_most_ridiculously_difficult_encyclopedia_br.php

    And I thought some other puzzle-enjoyers might like it too, especially #9

  69. KatM says:

    Easy peasy this week Richard. Or maybe my brain is just functioning in the correct puzzle mode today!

  70. Rebecca says:

    I got them all pretty much the instant I looked at them. Having said that, I spent an excessive amount of time doing these sorts of puzzles as a child, so maybe that helped somewhat!

  71. HerrPi says:

    I would say that it took me about 3 minutes.

  72. Woohoo. Did it…. now why the strange horse picture? Not that I;m complaining as its awesome.

  73. Tom Murphy says:

    I solved them as I read them. Which makes up for not solving the tiger puzzle at all last weekend. ( I wasn’t even close.)

  74. Susan says:

    That was cool. I haven’t done any of these before so I feel a little smug (haha) that I got them in less than 30 seconds.

    Now if only there was a way to make money with this ability!!

    • Susan Holdridge says:

      First and third took about 15-20 seconds each, and middle puzzle an agonizing minute until I allowed myself to relax and expand my mind. Love your tweets, YouTube postings, and blog!

  75. […] It’s the Friday puzzle! Three simple word pictures this week. Which well known phrases are represented by the following….. sta4nce Give […] […]

  76. Matt says:

    Got them in a minute. I love doing these types of puzzles.๐Ÿ˜€

  77. mjr256 says:

    The 1st one is tricky. I think I got it but my interpretation doesn’t seem perfectly right. I got the 3rd one first and got my answers for all three within a minute…or 59 seconds. I also love these kinds of puzzles

  78. J Jackson says:

    Got them….:)

  79. NeuroTrumpet says:

    About 4 seconds for the first one, about 10 seconds for the second, and about 4 seconds for the third.

    All in all, roughly 20 seconds

  80. Lady Crafthole says:

    Also about twenty second. Takes me back to all the time I spent playing Dingbats when I was little ๐Ÿ™‚

  81. Tom Rhoads says:

    I got it. It was about 30 seconds total.

  82. Rebecca says:

    Well, I got numbers 1 and 3 and feel pretty dumb as everyone else seems to have gotten them all immediately.
    I know the second will pop into my head at some point today when I’m not thinking about it. I have an answer for the fish question. Seems right to me. I really enjoy algebra, so I did it that way. Although, knowing these puzzles, algebra was unnecessary, and a more careful reading of the question would have shown that. Oh well.

  83. Michael J says:

    This site is quickly becoming a joke.

    I love you, Richard, I really do.

    But c’mon – recycling gramma’s puzzles? You could try something a LITTLE more original.

  84. jessie says:

    I think I got them but it took me about 3 minutes.

  85. Olivier says:

    english is not my first language and i didn’t get the first one, but the others were very easy.

  86. Michael K Gray says:

    All of the word puzzles effectively instantly.
    But the picture eludes me.

  87. K-Line says:

    Maybe 30 seconds…

  88. Bunk Strutts says:

    Took me over 5 weeks since I didn’t see the post until about 30 seconds ago.

  89. Cheri says:

    Oops, the should say “The beginning of February. I signed up on the 3rd.”

  90. Spot on with this write-up, I truly assume this web site needs far more consideration. Iรขโ‚ฌโ„ขll in all probability be once more to learn far more, thanks for that info.

  91. I significantly get pleasure from your posts. Thank you

Leave a Reply

