It’s the Friday puzzle!

34

OK, first the bad news. The lion finally died of malnutrition and it is all your fault for being so good at solving puzzles. Now the good news….the puzzles will continue sans lion. So, here we go….

Your task is to identify the phrase indicated in the following types of words….

YOU JUST ME

In this instance the answer is ‘just between you and me’.

Now that you have the general idea, try these six:

SALE SALE SALE SALE

STAND
I

BRO KEN

R | E | A | D | I | N | G

TIMING TI-MING

THE GORILLAS MIST

The answer to this puzzle, and 100 others,  can be found in a new kindle ebook called PUZZLED, and is available in the UK here and USA here.

34 comments on “It’s the Friday puzzle!

  1. nick says:

    The 2nd one i got instantly, the rest I’ll have to think about some more.

  2. nick says:

    Well, I think I have them all figured out except for the timing one. Not 100% sure of my answers, but they certainly work!

  3. Daniel says:

    I found the first most obvious, like nick the timing one has me stumped.

  4. Erin says:

    Got the 5th one instantly.. Not 100% sure about the others, I have a few mild ideas.

    And does anyone else feel a bit sorry for the lion? I know he tried to eat us and everything but meh, a lions gotta eat, a blog readers gotta solve puzzles😛

    • White Rabbit says:

      I have no sympathy, the amount of effort he put into eating you he could have gotten a real job….I’ll miss him too though.

      ^_^
      W R

  5. Kelvin Kao says:

    I got 1,2,4 right away. I am not sure about my answer for 3,5, and I have no clue about 6. Either I can’t make the leap or I’ve never heard of the term.

  6. Invictus says:

    I managed to get them all bet the second and the fifth one.

  7. Stephen Williamson says:

    I got them all immediately except the timing one, which I still haven’t figured out.

  8. jeniferm says:

    All except the BRO KEN one were instantly gotten. Still hoping to figure that one out. I remember doing a bunch of these in middle school and I’ve loved them since.

  9. Gene Johannsen says:

    I think I got them all. The BRO KEN one is iffy, but I think my answer is correct. Don’ t knock yourself out on the timing one. Just think of phrases where you might use that word and see if they fit.

  10. Got all but Bro ken and ti-ming in a flash. But didn’t have time to spend on them. Looked up answer on latter, not a phrase I’m used to. Made it harder.

    Think I know the BRO KEN one but not sure – could just be wrong.🙂

  11. Eulalumel says:

    Got all of them except “timing”. Can’t quite work out the phrase.

  12. Sage says:

    I found these easy, just looked at them and the answer was obvious – except for #5. I have an answer for #5 but I suspect it is incorrect, and it is really going to be stuck in my head til you post the answers ;/

    For me this was probably the easiest of all your puzzles, maybe it is just words are easier to me than other forms of puzzles. I could not really explain why.

  13. cam says:

    Pretty sure I have them all except the timing one and and not too sure on broken.

  14. uksceptic says:

    Got them all. They have a very similar section in the pub quiz I go to every month so I have a bit of experience at these.

    Here’s a five more;

    1.
    Ground
    feet
    feet
    feet
    feet
    feet
    feet

    2.
    don’t klat

    3.
    bjaockx

    4.
    give
    give
    give me
    give

    5.
    entury

    Last one is the toughie! Well I think so.

    • Berber Anna says:

      I think I got 1, 4 and 5. The others don’t seem to use words/expressions that I’d recognize immediately. I’ll try them again later. Lovely puzzles though!

    • uksceptic says:

      Glad you liked them. I promise you they are all well known expressions.

      Hope that helps!

    • Berber Anna says:

      I got 2 as well, but 3 still baffles me…

    • Sage says:

      Stuck on 2 and 3. Are they local expressions by any chance?

  15. abanazar says:

    Got them all in double quick time:

    B B B B
    A A A A
    R R R R ?
    G G G G

    OR

    NOXQQIVIT

    • uksceptic says:

      Got the second one but the first has stumped me for the time being.

    • Berber Anna says:

      I think I got the 1st one (though my solution fails to make sense of the question mark), but the second one’s a mystery to me…

  16. Gib says:

    Got them all in a couple of seconds apart from the “timing” one, which I still havne’t got.

  17. EmilyT says:

    Got all of them within a couple seconds! Love “dingbats” style puzzles🙂

  18. Berber Anna says:

    Got four of them within a few seconds, will attempt the other two (timing and bro ken) later.

  19. Fergus Gallagher says:

    All pretty quick.

  20. Sara says:

    I got the 2nd one right away and I have ideas about the first and last. Not sure about the timing one either.

  21. Berber Anna says:

    Thought of a possible solution for the bro ken one as well. Now for the timing one…

  22. mjr256 says:

    I got 5 of them. I’m also a bit confused by the TI-MING one. They just did some of these on Jeopardy the other night but they were animated as well. Like they had the word “Pi” in a cloud for “Pie in the sky.”

    How about:

    TE NO I AM

    or

    I
    THE T GER

  23. Sally says:

    I think that I got the fifth and sixth one. Then I researched what the others could be – clever! Now that I’ve got the drift, these are very fun!

  24. zahra says:

    Hi–i really like your puzzles and blog in general, but where can i find the answers to Qs like this one!?
    Thanks

  25. Noah Nez says:

    I got all of these relatively quickly giving them a quick once over. I just got done playing the Ipod game, “Stupidity 2”, and some of the questions in that game are literal and others attempt wordplay, so I think I was primed for this one.🙂

Leave a Reply

