It’s the Friday puzzle

37

how-to-make-cheeseI am a big fan of cheese, and so was delighted to come across this simple but lovely cheese-making puzzle…..

What kind of cheese is made backwards?

The answer to this puzzle, and 100 others,ย  can be found in a new kindle ebook called PUZZLED, and is available in the UK here and USA here.

37 comments on “It’s the Friday puzzle

  1. Wilf says:

    Took me less than a second to get this very tasty answer.

  2. Stephan Spiegel says:

    Took me about 2 mintues of thinking about it (because of the subtle & well-done misdirection)

  3. jeniferm says:

    Oh. Hah! Excellent puzzle! I thought for a minute and couldn’t get it. Went away, did other things. Came back. Voila!

  4. Took me a few seconds. I had to google to double-check myself though.

  5. Bryan says:

    About 1.5 seconds.

  6. Emily says:

    Mmm and the cheese in question is rather tasty.๐Ÿ˜›

  7. The clever cat eats cheese and breathes down rat holes with baited breath

  8. Sage says:

    That one was a quick one. And I don’t even eat cheese.๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Jeff says:

    I had it from the title. Figured it’d be this or a clone of the cake-cutting puzzle (3 slices, 8 pieces)

  10. Lux says:

    That’s the first time I’ve ever got one of these within a split second of reading it. Hurrah, I just joined the clever club.

  11. I happened to know this one of old so it was the it takes to reawaken some little-used neural pathway in my brain (half a second max).

  12. Victor Meldrew says:

    About 1 second. I do cryptic crosswords!

  13. Emily says:

    Loved it! I am going to be using it all day.

  14. Luke Thomas says:

    Got it in 5 seconds – was looking for the gorilla!!

  15. Kristin says:

    Ooo, I’m getting better at this.๐Ÿ˜€ 7 seconds.

  16. Frankie says:

    Less than a second….but knew this one before!

  17. Hilary says:

    Took a fraction of a second while listening to my colleague talk about taking her sheets to the laundrette.

  18. Tom says:

    3 mins for me – never seen it beffore but v clever.

  19. Lucy Martin says:

    About ten seconds.

  20. Lafayette says:

    And this doesn’t have anything to do with the architect that had his house made backwards so he could watch TV at the same time.

  21. Matt says:

    Nice one!

    30 seconds of confusion before I got it.

  22. I knew the answer already which raises the question of are there any brain puzzles that can be done more than once?

  23. Alison says:

    About 3 seconds, thanks for making me feel clever๐Ÿ˜€

  24. Fergus Gallagher says:

    2 secs.

    (I suspect some part of my subconsciousness remembered this from my schooldays)

  25. Sarah says:

    About 2 seconds, and actually made me laugh out loud๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Berber Anna says:

    Less than a second, but I know similar jokes. Like it, though.

  27. primevilkneivel says:

    Completely baffled for about 60 sec. Then it hit me.

  28. Gib says:

    3 seconds

  29. Stewart says:

    Wasn’t looking at my watch, but I estimate a little under two seconds.

  30. Thor'Ungal says:

    2 minutes before I realized my own stupidity.๐Ÿ˜›

  31. Mark says:

    I’d heard this one before. I’ve read lateral thinking puzzle books quite a bit, and this was on one of the WALLY tests. I’ve actually got a good selection of solutions in some of those books memorized.

  32. Solus says:

    Too bad, I cheated. But I don’t think I’d guess it anyway, because I know that type by a longer name. Still, good one.

  33. Yumerin says:

    Two seconds

  34. burntbroccoli says:

    @Lux Me too! Doesn’t it feel wonderful? Maybe I’m not fick after all..

  35. Simon says:

    5 seconds – I do cryptic crosswords

  36. Sean says:

    Got it. Easy one.

Leave a Reply

