Room 2 – Test your intuition!

31

magOK, here is the second room that has been submitted into the Room With A Cue Project. Once again, test your intuitive snooping ability here!
Take a quick look at the photograph below. What do you think? Male or female? What kind of person lives here?

room21

Advertisements

31 comments on “Room 2 – Test your intuition!

  1. Margaret Morgan says:

    Male, 20s, student in science/mathematics/computing. Introverted.

  2. Lafayette says:

    For some reason I feel there’s a health issue here, allergies and/or light senstivity. Has a (hypo-allergenic) pet and keeps houseplants, so they like dependents, but I suspect have no children and is likely single. I’d have said that the person is a little obssessive compulsive, were it not for the throw on the sofa and the houseplant. The furniture seems quite masculine, but I don’t feel this is a male, but a female. The person is of strong character, and doesn’t suffer fools gladly – they have a few close friends rather than a large number of friends they aren’t particularly close to, and prefer it that way. I suspect the person is creative, but not in a visual field. Probably a composer or musician.

  3. Liz says:

    Young, single male who spends little time at home

  4. Colin M says:

    Female.

  5. mjr256 says:

    Male in their 20’s. Non-smoker. Dull.

  6. Ian says:

    Female, 20s, Student, Laid-Back, Outgoing, Extrovert, Book Reader, Coffee =], Uses table as footstool most of the time.

  7. Katherine says:

    Young male, probably student. Temporary looking accommodation that they cannot be bothered to personalise. Doesn’t spend very much time there.

  8. Mona says:

    Male. young. just moved in.

  9. Sejal says:

    Male…Unorganized one

  10. Anonymous says:

    I really wanted to say “male college student” but if that were the case, that desk would have a computer on it. This one has me stumped. I’m going to go with recently divorced guy, maybe in his 30s

  11. Marit says:

    This one is a bit tricky. I’d go for student, early 20’s. The mobile phone, and lanterns (?) makes me think it’s a female. It looks like she’s just moved in, or if she’s a student maybe she can’t afford lots of furniture. I think the person is outgoing, and doesn’t spend a lot of time at home. She’s probably out with friends a lot. Maybe has a part-time job as well as studying.

  12. Ross Bagby says:

    Male, living and contemporary (the ‘museum’ aspect of Freud’s room threw off a lot of people, I noticed), very spare — but relaxed even while living with only a few things.

  13. Anonymous says:

    European, female, single, introverted, non-smoker, laid back, likes animals. Likes to focus on a small number of things at once. Likes to be tidy but doesn’t want to put too much effort into keeping it that way. Not had time to cover walls in pictures of butterflies yet.

  14. EmilyT says:

    Not sure about this one. Elements of both male and female and at first glance I thought male, but looking for longer I’d say female, early- to mid-twenties.

  15. Joe says:

    female! I just don’t think a guy would have their sofa like that!

  16. okathleen says:

    Who cares?
    Are you telling me that my identity can be determined by my cushions?

    Rather one-dimensional?

    If Primark sold 30,000 identical polka dot dresses last year what does that tell us about constructing the self?

    http://www.okathleen.wordpress.com

  17. Lux says:

    Younhish male, or a female who’s hidden everything to lead us to believe she’s the typical young male who doesn’t bother decorating, just has the essentials and things given to them by their mother.

  18. will says:

    Hmm.. looks like a rental place with a new family.. is that a baby carrier or something on the floor? ha da bedsit once furnished just like that.

  19. Chris says:

    Female (possibly couple but no kids), late twenties, employed though not for long, hasn’t lived there long, but somehow I don’t think just moved in. Was a student not long ago, though I don’t think still is. Not home much, but goes out quite a lot rather than works long hours.

    Tidied up for the picture.

  20. Simon says:

    The room is sparse yet feminine (throw rug, plant on window-sill). Definitely younger person – probably student, lives on own (minimal mess and clutter). So I’m guessing female student, not around much, obsessive.

  21. Sally says:

    Young woman, recently out of college. She just started a job, and is a little overwhelmed (the furniture arranged closely around the table, and the sparse decoration).

  22. Margareta says:

    Young Male, small flat

  23. Matt says:

    Female, early 30s, pet owner. This is a newly occupied property. Enjoys reading. This person is not living in the UK. Occasionally entertains guests but few.

    I can’t get much more than that. This one was tough.

  24. Abigail says:

    Female. Unmarried. Young…25-35. Writer? Not many cues here

  25. Sandy says:

    A male in their mid twenties.. A bit depressed!

  26. Raul says:

    Male, young, single, a party guy, kind of succesfull. Spends little time at home…

  27. on 1st glance i thought a female but now its definately a male, bachelor in there 30s or 40s and prob works has an office job. The fact that thers isnt much pretty ornaments or coasters on the table suggests a laid back guy tht likes to read alot more than sitting watching telly. I imagine he has a few girls on the go at the same time.

  28. Merv says:

    Female 30+ likes to read

  29. Mónica Soto Verchér says:

    Cualquiera sea el sexo biológico del dueño de la sala, expresa fuertemente su lado femenino en mayor grado que su masculino.
    En el vidrio de la ventana veo ¿su reflejo? parcialmente:Es robusto físicamente y se me presenta con un vestido o camisa larga floreada con un ramillete de flores sostenido entre sus manos con los brazos flexionados hacia el plexo solar. Es sensible al entorno, pero reservado en su expresión personal, poco afectado por los prejuicios sociales.
    Se ha mudado recientemente o no es su lugar de residencia habitual, lo usa para reuniones con escasas personas de relativa confianza. Usa la tecnología desde la utilidad práctica.
    Está estresado/a. Ordenó el entorno minimalista para la fotografía.

  30. Masculine female or male writer in 40’s, Some allergies or asthma from a musty room. Has a cat, loves mexican food though gets heartburn. Lives in a place like Seattle and suffers from some depression. Is kind of lonely, thus the cat. Family lives out of state or town. Drives an old oxidized blue car. Has a path of rocks outside the house and hills in the back. Broken fence nearby. Likes music like Van Morrison, Procol Harum, and Moody Blues.Taps pencil on desk. Sleeps in the room and reads and sometimes listens to music while reading. This is their sanctuary. Once here it’s hard to leave. Somewhat of a loner but the plant is from a female friend or coworker.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s