The Sunday Puzzle

24

ixThought that you might enjoy a puzzle to help pass the time today. The image on the left shows the number 9 in Roman numerals.

Your task is to draw one single continuous line and turn this into a 6. Feel free to say if you have solved it and how long it took you, but no giving the answer. I will reveal the solution, and source, on Monday. Enjoy.

Quick Update: Someone has just emailed me another solution, so there are TWO ways of solving the puzzle.

The answer to this puzzle, and 100 others,  can be found in a new kindle ebook called PUZZLED, and is available in the UK here and USA here.

24 comments on “The Sunday Puzzle

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Solved it, it took a few minutes. How many ways can a six be represented?

  2. Ian says:

    I think I got it but I’m not sure if Richard would agree with my answer.

  3. Bugs Man says:

    I believe I solved it in a few seconds. Will wait until Monday to see if I am being too cock-sure of myself!

  4. Elle says:

    I think I’ve got the (an?) answer, took a few seconds, hopefully it’s an accepted answer!

  5. Fiona says:

    Done in seconds – wonder if I,m correct?

  6. Kristin says:

    It dawned gently on me much like a small bolt of lightning would. Cool puzzle!

  7. Richard Wiseman says:

    OK, just to let you know, there are two solutions!

  8. Jimmy F says:

    Got a solution in a few seconds, can’t see the second one though.

  9. Noel Privett says:

    A few seconds of fun.

  10. Daniel says:

    I suspect I came up with the same answer as Ian in a few seconds, then the first answer (I think) dawned on me.

  11. adora says:

    I solved it in seconds, but I can’t of any other way!

  12. Jacqueline says:

    Let me reflect on the puzzle… yes got the second.

  13. Ian says:

    Ahhhh no my first answer was wrong after looking at the first post I got a new answer and it’s definitely the correct one lol.

  14. Gib says:

    My first answer is the most obvious, and took 30 seconds or so (I was stuck on the wrong way of thinking until then).
    I’ve got another answer which took another few minutes, but I’m not sure it it will be accepted.

  15. COnfused says:

    Am I supposed to make it the 6 in roman numerals?

  16. Matthew says:

    Whoa. I’m fairly certain that I got the unintended answer first (in three or four seconds) and spent forever finding the other (five or six minutes).

  17. Lux says:

    Ok, it’s Monday in Australia, answer time! Like everyone else, I thought I got it in a matter of seconds which confused me and now I’m confused as to what the actual question is even.

  18. Karthi says:

    To few seconds. I have to check if my thought process is same as others coming Monday.

  19. […] to puzzle By Richard Wiseman Yesterday I posted a puzzle and promised the solution today.  If you didn’t try it, take a few moments now to give it a […]

  20. Biju says:

    Got it in a few secs..Trying to figure out the 2nd one as well.

  21. Katherine says:

    Done! I know this is posted after you have given the solution but I haven’t looked, honest.

  22. Geoff in Georgia says:

    6 seconds (maybe less) not sure why but my head really jumped onto this one.

  23. Sloan says:

    It took me about ten minutes – hey, it’s been a long day. I was thinking expansively but not from enough angles.

  24. Deb says:

    I actively thought about it for a few seconds, then started reading the posts. The first solution hit me as I was reading the seventh or eighth post. I’m a fast reader so it didn’t take long. I may have got the answer subconsciously from the posts but not the one I was reading when the answer came to me.

Leave a Reply

