Does this make you cry?

16

Fred Rogers (the wonderful ‘Mr Rogers’) was once presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award.  I believe that he made on the greatest acceptance speeches ever.  Here it is (if the clip doesn’t fast forward, go to 4 mins, 30 seconds in)….

So, did it make you cry?

16 comments on “Does this make you cry?

  1. Anonymous says:

    thank you for sharing this wonderful moment and yes it brought tears to my eyes…….His spirit of kindness reminds and teaches me what a truly great human being is……..again thanks for your kindness by passing it forward

  2. Anonymous says:

    Equally impressive was defence of PBS to the US Senate in 1969. http://youtu.be/yXEuEUQIP3Q

  3. Gail Hatton says:

    yes it did, great example of love, and how we should just take some time to appreciate those around us, what a lovely man, he made something about himself into something for everyone else, lovely, thanks Richard

  4. Tony Sadar says:

    yes it is one of the best,
    regards,
    tony sadar

  5. PhamBikes says:

    thank you for your sharing, Richard. he is really a man of immense kindness and beautiful charm.

  6. microcambios says:

    I am spanish and the Fred Roger´s name is for me unknown but his speech is really charming. He must be a good person.

  7. John says:

    No, it didn’t make me cry. I don’t cry for things like that. I don’t even cry more than 10 seconds if someone dies. It was a good speech though.

  8. Judith Ancer says:

    Thank you for sharing this, what a gently powerful and moving speech. Reminded me of the value of authentic gratitude and humility.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Yep, rolling down my face …..

  10. Puzzled says:

    What? Er….no…artificial superficial insincere schmaltz. Am I dead inside? Awful awful awful clip

  11. Dave Crevenston says:

    Mr. Rogers was my hero and brightened many days for me in my life. Based on what he did for me and countless others in this world he will always be my hero.
    Dave Crevenston-A lifetime watcher & fan since I was 3 years old.

  12. Yes it did.. but I felt as if I had been primed….

  13. rmb says:

    Missed some part of the speech as I am not a native speaker of English. Can someone post the script for the benefit of people like me?

  14. One Eyed Jack says:

    No. I guess I’m a heartless bastard. Oh well, I won’t lose any tears over it. ;-)

  15. Anonymous says:

    What made me cry is that on those 10 seconds I could not think of anyone.

Leave a Reply

