It’s the Friday Puzzle!

62

coverPlease do NOT post your answers, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzles and how long it took. Solution on Monday. OK, there are 2 puzzles this week:

1) Can you work out the next letter in this sequence?

CYWOTNLIT

2) What occurs once in every minute, twice in every moment but never in a thousand years?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle(UKhere and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

62 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Anonymous says:

    I thought I had the first one but the last letter isn’t what I thought it would be… Are you sure it’s right? Second one was easy

  2. Both immediately,albeit that I think there is a msipritn in the first one.

  3. Simon Taylor says:

    Both easy, but I think question 1 is actually wrong. Shouldn’t it be CYWOTNLIT ?

  4. Cory says:

    I think you made a typo in #1. The last letter of your clue should be ‘t’, not ‘n’

  5. Liz says:

    typo in the first puzzle? (should the last letter in the given sequence be T?)

  6. AlNapp says:

    No but I know the next letter in the sequence CYWOTNLIT if that’s any help

  7. Tobysilverfox says:

    Depends if it’s a Roman thousand years…
    Agree on the typo

  8. Eric says:

    Easy puzzles this week.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Easy, assuming typo.

  10. Roland says:

    Typo? Or really smart question ;-) Remember that it is a so-called closed-ended question ;-)

  11. vicinca says:

    Both are clear, if the sequence is CYWOTNLIT.

  12. Jethro Stevenson says:

    There was me thinking I was a smart arse for suspecting a typo, but it looks like everyone got there before me!

  13. Simon Taylor says:

    Ha Ha! We all fell for the trick question! ;)

  14. Adzcliff says:

    The second one was a rare instantaneous spot for me; the second a rare, though still frustrating, minute or so…

  15. matt says:

    I’m thinking typo. Took a minute or two to get there. Second one pretty much instantaneous. “Millenium” got a nice ring to I’ll. “Millenium” just rolls around the mouth. “Millenium, millenium” oooh – I’ve said it too much now, it gone weird.

  16. ahallicks says:

    Actually the easiest Friday puzzle(s) I’ve seen yet!

  17. Eddie says:

    Richard usually fixes typos.

    • Stevie says:

      He has fixed it. Half of me was hoping it wasn’t a typo and that we’d all made an incorrect assumption.

  18. -M- says:

    Three weeks in a row that I don’t know the answer… Guess I’m better with logic and math puzzles…

    • Anonymous says:

      I didn’t get the last two either, and I usually find the logic and maths puzzles easy.

      This one I got very quickly. It’s not logical, its observational.

  19. Anonymous says:

    The typo had already been fixed when I encountered the puzzle page. Each puzzle enjoyably clever, yet a cinch to work out. Took only a quick tick-tock or two to figure out both,

  20. Dave's Neighbour's Mum says:

    Hey guys, I dunno if anyone spotted it but I think there was a typo.

  21. Pete says:

    So Richard’s into Sadomasochism now is he?

  22. Dharmaruci says:

    also what occurs thrice in every minute, thrice in every moment but once in a thousand years?

  23. Anonymous says:

    The typo was corrected when I saw this, and I get in to work very early in the morning. Where do all you folks live that you see these puzzles long before I do?

  24. Duncan says:

    Both easy, esp. since I’ve seen the second one before.

  25. Jenny Phillips says:

    Lemon squeezy! 30 seconds to solve em!

  26. SilverMarc says:

    1. Got it fast – about a minute.
    2. Read the comments, figured I’d never get this one, then went back for a last try and got it immediately.
    3. Now I can feel like a genius this weekend!

  27. Matt says:

    Btw guys, don’t know if anyone’s mentioned but I think there’s a typo…

    So easy, pretty disappointing really.

  28. 1) Worked it out before I’d even finished reading the sequence.

    2) About 2 seconds (the time it took to reread the sentence).

    Easy ones this week.

  29. liam says:

    2nd one would be better if it was
    ” What occurs once in every minute, twice in every moment but only twice in a thousand years?”

  30. Puzzle n00b. says:

    Second one was easy and the first one took me a little bit. First time I actually manage to solve a Friday puzzle o_o

  31. Anonymous says:

    Easy. Just had to use the ol’ noggin and “tact”fulness. ;) Six seconds.

  32. Lazy T says:

    I’d actually finished my coffee before I re-read and answered question one,
    The second one is an old one which will occur twice in my lifetime, never in anyone else’s.

  33. Got them both almost immediately. I love them but each is so slight, I see why you offered two. No misprint. In the first one, whatever would the answer be if the letter you think should be the last letter, were? Chew on that..

  34. @GhostOfWinston says:

    Richard,
    Please post original stuff. I couldn’t solve No1, but a swift Google did the trick.

    Let’s have some real challenges – you’re a Prof, right?

  35. Got both of these very quickly. I don’t see a typo in the first. But maybe there was one originally, and Richard corrected it before I got to the question.

  36. tessie says:

    i got the second one withing seconds… still working on first

  37. mrnmmxii says:

    Got them both immediately. First time ever

  38. Ian says:

    Thanks for yet more delightful puzzles, Richard :) The answer to the second puzzle came to me instantly (probably took about ten seconds to see and confirm it). The first took a little bit longer, maybe two or three minutes until the penny dropped, so thanks for another enjoyable brain workout for the weekend :)

  39. Well, gee, Ghost, if you found #1 a challenge, why do you care if it’s original? Just resist Googling the answer.

  40. Sandy Tabor says:

    Solved #2 easily, still working on #1

  41. jerry996 says:

    I got the second one in about a minute and the first one about ten to fifteen minutes later.

  42. Wills says:

    Got the first one in about 3 seconds, and the second one in about 2 seconds.

  43. The other Matt says:

    Ok, everybody can cheat, by copy and paste in google. If i am Richard i would build in some extra typos..

  44. I got this web site from my pal who shared with me on the topic of this site
    and at the moment this time I am visiting this site and reading very informative
    posts at this time.

Leave a Reply

