It’s the Friday Puzzle!

38

coverI hope you are having a good break. As ever, please do NOT post your answers, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

Three odd questions this week….

1) What are black when you buy them, red when you use them and grey when you throw them away?

2) On which day of the year do fewest people die?

3) In which book does the Index precede the Introduction?

38 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. 2. obvious
    3. obvious
    1. erm… er… #intriguing

  2. Salman says:

    Took 5 minutes and i think I have the answer

  3. Paul Pearson says:

    I know # 2, though there are cultural and historical variations if I am correct.
    On # 1, I’m sure I’ll kick myself when the answer is revealed in a few days.
    But # 3 is right up my alley.

  4. Steve says:

    1. a minute, pretty obvious
    2. I believe it is ………….
    3. No clue.

  5. Merari says:

    0.5 minute total

  6. Roland says:

    3 is easiest (for me)
    2 is easy, assuming the assumptions Richard has are the same :-)
    1 was more tricky, but got it (and I know why I didn’t know it right away, there is some ‘cultural’ aspect here)
    (about 2 minutes)

  7. keith says:

    1. a haitian blood donor?

  8. Simon says:

    I’ve spent half an hour and I still haven’t a clue. How thick am I?

  9. 1. Haven’t a clue, but will hopefully have a light bulb moment shortly.
    2. Easy
    3. Easy

  10. Anonymous says:

    1. sweets
    2. new year eve
    3. mr tickle

    • Mikeooz69 says:

      That’s what happens when you post ill formed questions, Richard.
      Still, I must be on fire – I got question 1 in next to no time.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Tôi yêu các bạn thời gian dài

  12. Julie says:

    I have 3 satisfying answers – about 10 minutes

  13. Louise says:

    2 & 3 took a second, 1 took about a minute.

  14. kaggyx says:

    1. got it fairly fast
    2. not sure if it is correct
    3. no idea

  15. Pat says:

    1) self assembly post boxes
    2) St Heimlich’s Day
    3) How Not To Publish A Book For Dummies

  16. Pete says:

    Why on earth are we asked not to post the answers? comments would potentially be far more interesting to read that way.
    Anyway, 1 and 3 will have multiple correct answers, and 2 is presumably existential…

  17. Dave says:

    I got #1 within a few seconds. hint: I’ve heard that one before.. lol I thought I had #2, but then I reread the question and now I’m stuck on #2 & #3… I guess I know what I’ll be doing this weekend… (trying to come up with the answers…
    HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!

  18. Dave says:

    After further review, I DID get #1 & #2, however, I’m still stuck on #3..

  19. Chris says:

    I think that posting the answer pedantically still counts as posting the answer

  20. ctj says:

    i have a clear answer to #3 instantly, a reasonable answer to #2 after a minute, and a questionable answer to #1 (other than keith’s clever “haitian blood donor”) after spending some time thinking about it.

  21. 1. It’s been over ten minutes and I’m still not sure. Hopefully I’ll find some inspiration before Monday!
    2. A few seconds
    3. A minute or two. Was helped by the comment from another puzzler that it was obvious, so I went back to one of my first thoughts and realised it had been right after all.

  22. Reblogged this on Healthy Skepticism and commented:
    Something to while away a few seconds

  23. Anonymous says:

    Got 1 & 2 immediately and 3 after reading some comments :)

  24. Anders says:

    1. Not a clue, unless it is on average over a longer time period
    2. old old childrens’ riddle

    3 is as poorly phrased now as it was last time you asked it, the use of the definite article breaks the intended answer

  25. Anonymous says:

    1. Instantly
    2. Instantly
    3. Instantly

    Sorely disappointed.

  26. Anonymous says:

    Just got #1 – it took me a bit, but I’m pretty sure I have the answer.
    #2 and #3 were easier

  27. Colin says:

    Got them all within seconds *smugface*

  28. Ian says:

    Thanks for this one, Richard, it’s a delightful sort of Christmas cracker series of puzzles :) The answer to the third question came immediately, whilst reading it; the answer to the first came within a minute or so; the second, that took about fifteen minutes and they’re all rather fun, so thanks for another delightful little brain workout for the weekend :) Have a relaxing weekend and enjoy the rest of the Christmas season :D

  29. vivekchandran says:

    1. Took 30sec: absolutely sure of the answer.
    2. Another 30: I guess I have the right answer, maybe cause I see a theme running. But maybe I’m wrong. Still thinking about a better one.
    3. Instantaneously. Easy one.

    Seasons greetings to you and all viewers of this wonderful blog.

  30. loberg roofing sucks says:

    What are the answers? Honestly I’m stuggling with this one, lol.

  31. David Mathew says:

    Lee

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

  32. Starry messenger says:

    1 took a minute or so, 2 about 15 sec, now, 3…… Depends on whether you mean the median of num of deaths on each day of the year, or the grand total of deaths on each day. If the latter….. Easy peezy. Not sure about the former!

  33. Teun Spaans says:

    I’ve got ideas for all three, but not sure of any of them.

  34. Lazy T says:

    Where did you get your x-mess crackers?
    The answers to the first 3 I pulled were
    1 a stick
    2 Your’e too young to smoke
    3 In the large Hadron collander

  35. fprex scam says:

    If you are looking for a scam forex site, this is the place for you. Here you find all forex scammers!

Leave a Reply

