28 comments on “Do you make assumptions?

  1. Nice one, it made hit replay thrice to see if I could catch clues the real size of things :) . I was almost expecting something would happen to the table and the white door/cabonet on the right

  2. Well, I guess that’s how they filmed “The Hobbit” too. Very nice work! :-)

  3. Ian says:

    Thanks for this one, Richard, it’s particularly clever and fun :D I always enjoy these forced perspective images and videos and this is delightful :D Thanks again :)

  4. Icke says:

    Great! reminds me of “Top Secret” movie

  5. Anonymous says:

    Very good. Simple, but comnplicated! Watched it three times.

  6. George Munro says:

    Great work as usual!!

  7. Sam Seal says:

    If it seems like I’m getting smaller… it’s because I’m slowly moving further away…

  8. Yay! Made me feel like Alice in Wonderland

  9. Pete says:

    “one last time… these are small… but the ones out there are faaar away”

  10. AlienCG says:

    Brilliant. I had to watch it a couple time as well in order to see the visual cues.

  11. Emma says:

    How was that done? Particularly, how could Richard be in the room one minute, go out and then just put his hand in to take something tiny out? I did notice that the left wall bends over to the right. Other than that, I’m pretty clueless.

  12. Frank says:

    Nice work Richard. You make an excellent point.

  13. siskinbob says:

    Reblogged this on WrAnTz and commented:
    Every week Richard sets my mind clanking and grinding away in amazement. I can’t even believe my own eyes anymore. Here is his latest.
    Thanks Richard

  14. Gordon says:

    It’s pretty good. But there are some cues from lack of focus on the nearby objects. This would work better if the overall quality of the video weren’t so good. Still, I quite enjoyed it (and did not pick up on the painting initially).

  15. Navneeth says:

    I couldn’t watch it at work, but given the title of the post and screenshot of the video, I realised what it was all about and pretty much guessed everything correctly even before watching the whole video.

  16. Bob Francis says:

    I def made a few assumptions there! Amazing :)

  17. Lazy T says:

    smiles, ta!

  18. Sandy Tabor says:

    Smiles.

  19. pendantry says:

    I try not to assume anything. When I do, it usually ends up with me making an ass out of u and me

  20. Done Gone Galt says:

    I spotted the doll house chair and the over-sized cup and saucer before starting the video. I suspected the other cup and saucer of being tiny, but I was wrong and the portrait was a total surprise. Nice job.

  21. Anonymous says:

    At the end it just made me want to find more stuff in the picture. It’s funny when every step is surprising.

  22. […] This is another one that I saw courtesy of a retween from someone and then followed up.  It took me to the site of Richard Wiseman, that contains a number of very well done videos that challenge your views of the world – this is a particularly nice optical illusion.  See it here: http://richardwiseman.wordpress.com/2012/12/20/do-you-make-assumptions/ […]

  23. Anonymous says:

    Love it! I watched it multiple times.

  24. Anonymous says:

    How come!!!!! God job Richard.

  25. […] ¿Hacen suposiciones?   […]

Leave a Reply

