Answer to the Friday Puzzle!

30

coverOn Friday I posted this puzzle. If you have not tried to solve it, have a go now. For everyone else, the answer is after the break.

An odd one this week…..

There is a small town in California called Yreka. There is a little bakery in town that opens at 8.30am and closes at 5.30pm. The bakery is world famous. Why?

Because the ‘Yreka Bakery’ is a perfect palindrome! Did you solve it?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

30 comments on “Answer to the Friday Puzzle!

  1. What makes a palindrome a ‘perfect’ palindrome?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Richard, I think you are starting to run dry on the puzzles, might be time to give it up.

  3. Ian says:

    Yep, cheers, Richard, got that one straight away; although is Yreka Bakery a perfect palindrome? It’s essentially palindromic, but isn’t a true palindrome one word that’s identical backwards, rather than a word combination? I don’t want to sound like I’m nit-picking, it’s a straightforward open question and I just wondered. Anyway, perfect palindrome or not, it’s still a good one, so thanks for another delightful puzzle for the weekend :)

  4. Klaas De Smedt says:

    I don’t think the bakery is famous because it is a ‘palindrome’ but because the bakery is the origin of the name. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yreka,_California)

  5. Nadia says:

    If it’s world famous, why have I not heard of it? Not a puzzle, just silly.

  6. Stu says:

    The bakery is probably world-famous as it both opens for 8 hours a day…..and went out of business several years ago…..

  7. david dredge says:

    No I did not get it. But nowadays all you need to do is read the comments to spare you a frustrating weekend!

  8. Michael Sternberg says:

    It’s a panemdrome

    Perfect only during daylight savings time, when its hours might correspond to the sun.

  9. mike sugar says:

    No, I did not get it, and whilst it’s a palindrome, it’s not perfect in my mind being 5 and 6 letters words respectively. This is perfect: “Able was I ere I saw Elba”

  10. Wrong. The correct answer is that they make really tasty doughnuts.

  11. -M- says:

    I got it, but I did not realize this was the answer. It did not feel like a solution to a puzzle.

  12. Tom says:

    This one confused me – that it was a palindrome was obvious, I was struggling to work out why it was world famous as a result. I assumed that was the real puzzle, but It’s just a marketing gimmick.

    I agree, it feels like the well is running dry, and it was better when the comments on Friday were not allowed so that smart alecks couldn’t spoil it for those who hadn’t solved the puzzle (a decreasing number I suspect given how easy they have become).

  13. Ken Haley says:

    Don’t listen to the nay-sayers, Richard. Keep ‘em coming. I like ‘em all–easy or hard. And reading the comments is half the fun.

    • Martha says:

      I second that. I hadn’t heard it before and I was quite pleased when I figured it out. And like working things out anyway, easy or hard

    • Stevie says:

      I third it! I’d worked it out straight away, which is unusual for me if I’m honest. None the less, if the place is or was a real place, I found it very interesting.
      I look forward to the Friday Puzzle each week and lomg may they continue.

  14. Anonymous says:

    First i thought of Eureka, than i saw the palindrome.

  15. Anonymous says:

    I found it on Wikipedia :D

  16. Paul Pearson says:

    I didn’t solve it because I was concentrating on the name of the bakery itself, just “Yreka”, saw the partial palindrome, but was probably just too lazy to add “Bakery.”

  17. Me says:

    Me to. Googled wiki.

  18. So what would an “imperfect” palindrome be? A word or phrase that does not use the exact same letters backwards as forwards? Then it would not be a palindrome at all.

    • Stevie says:

      I don’t know but wonder if a perfect palindrome might be words like mum or oxo, which are also symetrical while dad and radar are not.

  19. Done Gone Galt says:

    That it is a palindrome does not actually answer the question “Why?”.
    It is “World” famous because Mark Twain wrote about the town.

  20. The Moron says:

    On the album Permanent Damage by the GTOs, which was produced by Frank Zappa, there is a song called The Eureka Springs Garbage Lady.
    It is not a palindrome, however, and is about another, homonymous place in California.

  21. Brown says:

    Names? I won’t! No, Wiseman!

Leave a Reply

