25 comments on “How predictable are you?

  1. Alex says:

    Only predictable enough to follow the rules so we can’t end up anywhere else :)

  2. Ian says:

    Oh, clever one, Richard, thanks for that and yep, I’m predictable (but you knew I was going to say that anyway) :D

  3. Paul Pearson says:

    You got the final prediction right, and yet I was doing unconventional moves, i.e., from one box on 1 to another either horizontal or vertical, and back to the original box on 2, then repeated for further counts.

    Cool.

  4. jumbleguitar says:

    It’s not a prediction at all, it’s just a trick. You have to start on START, and then he’ll reach either an odd or an even number. The squares that he removes are not possible to reach. If you want, go back through the video and try and confound the “prediction”. You’ll find that you simply can’t get to those squares.

    • ladymac says:

      Yes, I recognized it at start as trick I saw magician do on TV-moving finger on screen-years ago. maybe D. Copperfield. Still tried to foil it this time;must be mathematical as you said.

    • palomitaquince says:

      Everybody knows that is not a prediction. You didn’t discovered the wheel. But is a nice trick.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Very good trick indeed! Much better than your other previous ones. This one actually made me do it twice. Cheers!

  6. I was on the “V”, must’ve disobeyed rules – so, not that predictable :)

  7. g.noppert@umcg.nl says:

    Probably usefull in videogames etc (when I get the thought .. why the hell would someone think something like that up?). Oh, and in magic ofcourse. Or when having too much time, or have weird mind .. etc etc. Saw it on tv now and then too, a similar thing. Paul’s mind works fine.Let’s not misuse Paul then (the ones with lazy minds when it comes to these matters in life)

  8. David Mathew says:

    Excellent trick, Richard! And I was trying to be a smartarse as well. You still got me.

  9. The Masked Twit says:

    It reminds me of Richard Dawkins on a bad hair day.
    I don’t think anyone could have predicted that.

  10. NickC says:

    The prediction was flashed for a moment at 1:02

  11. DiscoveredJoys says:

    Nope your prediction missed…. but then I was shuttling backwards and forwards between two squares for all counts after the first one. My choices were limited, but you removed the central square when I was ‘on’ it.

  12. Anonymous says:

    I was determined not to be “predictable” and I was right!
    No happy face for me this morning! :(.

  13. How did you do it??? LOL, I guess I´m very predictable!

  14. Anonymous says:

    Blatantly a maths problem

  15. poojycat says:

    you just knew I wanted to leave my finger on a smiling face! Love it!

  16. Anonymous says:

    In the end I had my finger on the «Q», and you removed it. There is something wrong about the math!

  17. Teun says:

    It looks i did the “wrong” move on “5″

  18. Anonymous says:

    Thank you! I laughed almost the half of the video. Expecially loved the last parts how it barely missed in the puzzle :)

  19. Cameron says:

    This is a similar technique to the one Derren Brown used in his seance to ensure all the participants felt they had arbitrarily chosen the same ‘ghost’. It’s not quite the same because Derren didn’t eliminate ones as they went on.

  20. [...] “How predictable are you?” by Richard Wiseman. November 15, [...]

Leave a Reply

