Masked Magician messes up sooooo badly…..

45

For years the Masked Magician has been exposing magic tricks.  But can he really perform magic?  Well, he tried to perform a simple card trick on TV recently…..judge for yourself….

How did the clip make you feel?

Update: Over at the Edinburgh Secret Society blog, we have just announced our next event -
Sing-along-a Wickerman!

45 comments on “Masked Magician messes up sooooo badly…..

  1. laconicsax says:

    He definitely showed that “magic is for all ages.” A toddler or a centenarian could screw that up just as badly and be equally unable to recover.

  2. jumbleguitar says:

    She didn’t follow the instructions correctly, but he should have noticed that. You start the deck with all four aces on top. Then you create the four piles, which means that the four aces are now on top of the fourth pile. Then for each one, you take three off the top and put them on the bottom, and then deal the next three on to the other three piles. This means by the time you get to the fourth pile, there are three cards on top of the aces. You take those off and put them on the bottom, and then deal the next three cards, three aces, on to the other three piles, leaving one ace on the fourth pile. Then you turn over the top of each pile to see an ace.

    What she did was remove three cards and then deal one other card out. How he did not notice this is baffling. This is a trick I learned when I was about 8. What this meant is that she wasn’t having any effect on the aces until the second last pile, when she put one card on top of four aces. Then she took three off the top – a random card and two aces, and put them on the bottom, and then put one card – an ace – on the first pile. At this point there would be aces on top of the first and last pile, and the other two aces would have been on the bottom of the last pile.

    • Gordon says:

      You really shouldn’t give away a magician’s secrets. Now people won’t have an incentive to buy his DVD. Oh wait…

  3. lindamp says:

    She followed his instructions exactly. He said, “Take 3 cards, put them underneath, then put the next card on top of there.” If he doesn’t know his own trick then that’s all his fault, not hers. I thought his trying to sort it out was extraordinarily amateurish – looking through each pile, what the …? He should have just accepted defeat and moved on.

  4. Martin says:

    He seemed to be floundering from the start. He took the wrong pack out of his pocket, then he was checking his pockets, and then it was like he was distracted for the remainder of the trick. It was like he’d just had some bad news right before going on stage, and then was completely unable to focus.

  5. edwardv says:

    It might have been better if he’d said something like, “I’m sorry. Something went wrong. It happens once in a while. Let’s try again/ another trick.” I would think magicians would have prepared things to say or do in situations like this, but maybe not always. It seemed he was trying to salvage the trick but should ended it earlier before looking at all the cards.

  6. Chris Done says:

    edwardv, I don’t think he’s a magician. He just exposes other magician’s tricks. Big difference.

  7. Adzcliff says:

    “But can he really perform magic?”

    Well I’d have to say, probably yes. We may disapprove of how this individual has chosen to make his living (by exposing the hard won skills and techniques of performance magicians), but it’s my understanding that he performs and explains magic very competently the vast majority of the time. Therefore my predominant feeling when watching this single clip is of one of schadenfreude: that he failed, and so spectacularly failed to cover up his fail. But yes, absolutely no reason to think that he’s not an otherwise very competent stage magician…

  8. LMAO, that was awesome, why did he keep going once he realised he’d messed up, surely he knew it wasn’t gonna get any better. It was like a child doing a bad trick that you just need to persevere with until the end and smile encouragingly.

  9. edwardv says:

    Is he the original Masked Magician? I don’t know by his voice.

  10. Lazy T says:

    Maybe he was possesed by the spirit of Tommy Cooper, tho’ I only laughed once when he turned over the five.

  11. Julia says:

    I thought I was going to feel sorry for him, but he was so unprofessional in the way he dealt with his mistake that I didn’t.

  12. Michael Fishman says:

    This guy is annoying. I don’t care if it’s magic, illusions, stunts or tricks, call it what you want, they’re fun to watch and I personally don’t need someone, regardless of his motives, spoiling the fun for me.

  13. Mervulon says:

    “Very Special” indeed…

  14. Rufus X says:

    I think going on television with a trick that you obviously haven’t rehearsed enough and can screw up that badly is probably more damaging to the profession of magicians than all his reveals have been put together.

    I was prepared to say it proves something I’ve said for a long time: small magic is harder and more impressive than grand illusion by far. The real work in grand illusions is done by engineers and designers and builders and stage hands, often well in advance of going on stage (though some of those designers and builders are also the illusionists). Small magic is all in the hands of the performer on the spot. But I can’t really say it proves that, the trick shouldn’t have been all that hard, he just blew it.

  15. What if the guy in the video was NOT the “real” Masked Magician (Val Valentino, supposedly) and had purposefully shown two decks at the beginning, failed the trick and recovered with such lack of professionalism? This way he could ruin the reputation of the Masked Magician, and no TV show would invite him anymore…
    Thank you for following this “conspiracy” special :) . This was just to highlight how easily we can be fooled – and end up saying whatever comes to our mind – when people use masks (“We are Anonymous”… but who is “we”?).

  16. Jethro Stevenson says:

    That just made me squirm. Not even any schadenfreude. There is nothing worse than seeing someone screw up so badly and then fail in their attempt at recovering the mess.

  17. Zebulon Pike says:

    This explains the mask, I’d wear one too if I were that crappy.

  18. Dwatney says:

    That’s four minutes of my life that I’ll never get back…

  19. Anonymous says:

    It made me feel very special.

    My favourite part was “the fifth ace”

  20. I’d wear a mask too if I was so embarrassingly bad!

  21. Anonymous says:

    I liked the bit where the trick went wrong

  22. tim says:

    “and there’s the fifth ace”….

  23. @johnnybunn says:

    It’s some guy wearing a mask. How do we know it’s THE “masked magician?” Can’t just assume because the mask looks like the one the “real” guy wears that it’s actually him.

  24. Jess says:

    It sounds like him@johnnybunn, but yes I do have to wonder if it is actually him, because he already exposed himself, so why would he have to wear the mask again? I don’t really get that. But, if it was him, then epic fail! I agree with you rufusx, smaller magic tricks are more impressive and nicer, because they all have to come from the magician, whereas with illusions etc, they also come from the engineers etc that you already mentioned. But whoever this person was regardless, he wasn’t a magician, to have stuffed up such an easy trick and then carry on with it even though we all could tell it was an epic fail! lol Yeah I’d defo want to wear a mask if I was that embarrassingly bad.

  25. Jess says:

    To be honest I find the simpler tricks better and nicer, and a lot of the time magicians don’t even use real decks of cards, they use magic set decked cards that act in certain ways etc, very rare you will see many card tricks performed by magicians by genuine decks of cards. You get the odd times but not very often.

    • Matt says:

      ” very rare you will see many card tricks performed by magicians by genuine decks of cards”

      Rubbish. Beyond the level of hobbyist any magician worth their salts has a bank of sleights he can call on to control, force and reveal a card effectively. Your assertion that magicians only use gaffed or gimmicked decks is wrong. Go read “The Royal Road to Card Magic” or “Card College”.

      This is a self working effect that he is so bad at he manages to mess up. As a magician it makes me feel embarrassed for him, then a little angry he would add this dreck to the damage he’s already done to magic.

  26. Anonymous says:

    “probably more damaging to the profession of magicians than all his reveals have been put together”

    Exactly how much damage did this performance on some obscure Asian TV show do to “the profession of magicians”?

  27. xlsdx says:

    “probably more damaging to the profession of magicians than all his reveals have been put together”

    right because everyone knows magic is real

  28. Anonymous says:

    wow!!!!!!! you are the greatest magican

  29. emryscrow says:

    unfortunately, people who don’t believe magic is real will never find it. I’m of the mind that I love knowing both what the trick looks like and the dirty work behind it to pull it off. I’m never disappointed when I see a trick where I’m all, wtf,, then when i find out how it was done, it’s another wtf but I always love how devious it is. it’s what got me into magic in the first place. I think if someone wants to know the working behind any trick, they would hunt that answer down themselves. plenty of ways to do it.

    I don’t believe this is the real masked magician. even a stage magician can pull off a card trick like this because they have had the discipline to practice their tricks to get them spot on to create the illusion of wonderment. if they don’t feel confident ,they won’t show it. this trick is one of the first tricks people will learn. why would someone want to learn this trick if it looked so boring, even if it did go as planned, the patter of a seasoned magician just wasn’t there.

    also, fox is the authority on what is true….? there are also many ways to pull off these tricks that he has revealed and likely, no one will really remember this in a few years.

    yes, he has hurt magicians financially. some magicians have paid for exclusive performance rights to these tricks. they and maybe a select few others know how it’s done. it’s not like it cost them 5 dollars. I do hope this shoves the magic community a bit more underground again when it comes to tricks. magic isn’t about knowing how it is done, like all the youtube kids think it is. it’s about letting that child like amazement come back for a second when you see a magician preform a spectacular trick. who cares how it’s done. the effect is usually worth the watch…isn’t it?

  30. Seibu kadiri says:

    Dear sir,
    My name is SEIBU KADIRI, I am a young magician in Ghana. My stage name is SHANGA . I learnt or studied magic from my grandfather who is now too old to teach me again. And with the little experience gained from him, I am highly motivated to pursue magic as my professional career . With regards, to all the above, I would be very grateful if you could assist me to attend an international magic school upgrade myself and also acquaint myself with the modern way of performing magic professionally, with all rudiments and ethics of the profession. I will also be happy I can get the opportunity to attend an international event to also help me meet different people to share ideas with.
    Below is my personal Facebook page which I would like you to check and watch some of my magic videos .

    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Shanga-MAGIC-SHOWS-entertainment/456419414480976?ref=hl

    Hope to hear from you soon.
    MAGICALLY YOURS,
    SEIBU KADIRI
    00233 246786773

  31. Philani says:

    I have seen thousands of stage performances by Val Valentino including brilliant outdoor performances. The masked magician is a trained professional everybody knows that well. He is too far from the trick I have just seen. The masked magician once performed dangerous tricks that you felt so risky that you felt like shout him stop before the worst happened but he always survived!. The fact is: after he revealed their secrets angry magicians surely felt like revenge and Im strongly convinced this is one attempt to stain his renown!. A trick without revelation is as incomplete as a short story that never reaches the end but that just resorts to end in suspense because the author simply fails to conclude. Dirt revelation is part of a trick and that must be accepted! Above is just some frustrated unprofessional magician(at card-trick level) who just wants to win the spotlight through the Masked magician’s personality, not the Masked magician at all!

  32. which can be pertinent only towards the project you might be attaching this bio. You need to provide top quality information so that you can gain trust.

  33. Thang says:

    Hahhahaha this masked magician dude is the most dumb magician of all time. Nigga is stupid as hell not knowing how to cover his phaggot @ss mistake. Hahahahahah damn im cracking up watching this retarded magician performed this lamed @ss trick and failed. Hahahhahahhahhahahhah

  34. Anonymous says:

    H

  35. Wang Tu Long says:

    That didn’t sound like Valentino. I remember an episode of Diagnosis Murder with him in it. >_> I wager it was the fake magician.

  36. michael dineen says:

    The masked magician is a legend. So what, a trick went wrong for him. These things can happen. Maybe he was nervous during the performance, and it just didn’t work. I don’t think, we have seen the last of him. I hope he will be back, with another show.

  37. Great blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..

    Any recommendations? Bless you!

  38. danial says:

    Definitely not the original masked magician, he was a bigger build as valentino is slimmer and leaner in the masked outfit, when exposing himself. For what reason why the real masked magician is still in hiding is baffling.

Leave a Reply

