It’s the Friday Puzzle!

56

Here is the this weeks puzzle.  As ever, please do NOT post your answers, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

Yesterday I met a man called Bill.  Bill said ‘I always lie’.  Was Bill lying or telling the truth?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

56 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Alex says:

    Quite a quick one this week!

    • Anonymous says:

      Agree, an easy one The mistake is to assume that Bill is either a complete liar or a total truth teller. He could be a bit of both?

  2. Roland says:

    And again an ambiguous question :-) (the always ambiguous logical OR)

  3. Harry's Nuts says:

    It’s a paradox.
    If he’s telling the truth them he would be lying, if he was lying then he would be telling the truth.

  4. Anonymous says:

    lol :D funny one

  5. Anonymous says:

    Another really obvious one. I do prefer it when your puzzles are a bit more challenging!

  6. blackanchorage says:

    I was hoping it would help to pass my train journey, but less than a minute. Don’t see the ambiguity myself though.

    • Stupid Illiterite Sociopath says:

      I think that Roland is suggesting that if you use a phrase like “A or B” you may not be putting forward all possibilities. For example “Is this car blue or red?” does not admit that the car may be green, black etc.
      I can’t see any ambiguity in this week’squeation however.

    • Martha says:

      It could be ambiguous, because not everything you say has to be either a lie or ‘the truth’. You might believe it’s the truth, but you might be mistaken. (PS. Not a spoiler, because this isn’t actually my answer!)

  7. Hugh Janus says:

    Was his name really Bill?? Or is that a lie?

  8. You’re not trying this week, Dr Wiseman. Let’s hope that means you’re too busy writing your next book!

  9. churchynet says:

    Are you telling the truth – and if you say you are, can we believe you…

  10. Eddie says:

    What is truth? I don’t think I know any more.

  11. Keith says:

    Got it in a few seconds.

  12. My understanding of the word is that a “puzzle” is something that has a correct answer. This is a philosophical discussion.

    • Berhard says:

      This is not philosophical discussion. (However there is a single untold extra constraint that would make it look like a philosophical discussion, (but still would have a correct answer…)

    • Gus Snarp says:

      Nope, simple logic puzzle.

  13. Paul Durrant says:

    Easy one, and one that has a definite answer.

  14. Mick says:

    Got it , I think, in a minute.

  15. 30 seconds or so. But I might be lying ;)

  16. raaz says:

    Usually I need a life for resolving the puzzles and this came in about half a second… that makes me think that something is wrong with my answer….. let’s see on Monday, have a nice week-end.

  17. Lazy T says:

    23 secs to get the answer I think will appear on Monday, but I may be sitting, lying or standing up for the truth.

  18. Phil H says:

    It depends whether he tells the truth when he is lying down

  19. Ronald says:

    On the ambiguity question, Roland DOES strictly speaking have a point, although I doubt that that’s the crux of this week’s puzzle. What he’s getting at can be demonstrated analogously by the question: “Have you consumed any food or drink?” For which legitimate answers could include, “yes, some food”, “yes, some drink” or just “yes” meaning either that you’ve had food AND drink or that you have had one or the other, you’re just not specifying which. As I say, because this is unlikely to be the crux of the question, I don’t consider this to be spoiler. As to the question and how quickly I got it, if I’m right, in about 15 seconds.

    • Stupid Illiterite Sociopath says:

      OK
      So the ambiguity is when Richard say “or” does he mean “either or” or “one or both of”?

      PS Sorry if my third “or”
      above is too ambiguous for you

  20. Xander says:

    Took all of a second :(

  21. Michael Sternberg says:

    Seems to me that Bill hails from Crete, where they always had difficulties telling liars.

  22. Gus Snarp says:

    Thought it was hard, then it turned out to be easy, then read the comments and was thankful I figured it out first. A lot of you are essentially giving it away. I’m sure a lot of people won’t see the give away either, but it’s pretty spoilerific.

  23. Mary - Canada says:

    Definite brain teaser!

  24. Tv88 says:

    I ALWAYS solve the puzzles quickly.,,truth or lie?

  25. The Masked Twit says:

    I solved the puzzle in less time than it takes me to yawn.
    I’m now going to look at pictures of naked people on the Internet – in the “public interest” of course.

  26. the Siliconopolitan says:

    Quantifiers are always fun.

  27. Anonymous says:

    Very nice, and it took just few seconds to get it. (hope got it correct).

  28. Laith says:

    Really simple again. but I think I may have seen it before

  29. CTJ says:

    Um, “the this weeks puzzle”?

    Anyway, I can’t stand this type of puzzle. It just doesn’t sit well with me. I guess I better lie down and get over it.

  30. Ian says:

    Thanks for another delightful little puzzle, Richard :) The answer came straight away, whilst reading it, but it’s still a clever one, so thanks again and have an excellent weekend :D

  31. Jenifer says:

    Got it. About 10 seconds. :D

  32. Edgar says:

    This one was easy. I think the puzzles are easier when Richard gives us two possible answers and we just have to try each one.

  33. Phil Pearce says:

    Thought my answer (in a few seconds) was too simplistic, but most of the comments seem to be alluding to the same…

  34. garryjhunter says:

    Less than a minute to come up with an answer. Not sure if it is correct because personally I wouldn’t trust either of them ! Bill’s not even his real name..it says William on his birth cert.

  35. Furie says:

    Got that one straight away. No way it can be taken any other way.

Leave a Reply

