Castle face & rock doggy

24

Harry J sent me this great pareidolia from a castle in Dubai…

 

and Niel H emailed me this rock doggy….

 

Is the second one genuine or manipulated?  What do you think?

24 comments on “Castle face & rock doggy

  1. Adam vanLangenberg says:

    Yeah, second one looks totally fake.

  2. Ed says:

    I’m pretty sure the second one is Durdle Door + Photoshop. Here’s Durdle Door as it really looks:
    http://www.southampton.ac.uk/~imw/jpg-Durdle-Door/5DD-calm-Durdle.jpg

  3. Simon says:

    I’m sure the second one is Durdle Door in Dorset but it’s been heavily photoshopped. Compare it to this image from Wikipedia. . .

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Durdle_Door_Overview.jpg

    Screaming fake to me . . . but very nice though!

  4. Durdle-door doggy is cute, though unashamedly fake. Love the castle face(s).

  5. Dan says:

    Yeah, it’s definitely Doggy Door!

  6. Ex says:

    Source of the second image: http://www.worth1000.com/entries/360823/rocky-dog (a contest in photoshop)

  7. niel hansen says:

    Thanks for clearing up the Rocky Dog mystery – I had hoped it just might be genuine but never mind, lol

  8. Ian says:

    Thanks for these, Richard :) The castle’s delightful: it looks so welcoming and friendly. The rock dog, though, certainly looks like it’s been digitally manipulated. Shame, really. It’d have been nice to think a coincidence of nature could have carved such a friendly canine on the coast. Again, though, the coincidental castle face is a good one and I’m sure the original architects wouldn’t have been intending to create such a friendly face :D

  9. Gary Edminson (now Gary Simpson) says:

    lol… the doggy must have had the mouth and eyes added for dramatic emphasiss <— major spelling ;)

  10. Nathanathan says:

    @wintermute115, I’m not sure it’s weather staining on those “eyes.” It looks to me like they are windows with the bottom sculpted to be a chute. Not sure of the purpose of this; perhaps to facilitate the dumping of nasty things onto attackers?

  11. Duncan says:

    Ok the second one is fake, but is the first one deliberate?

  12. darrylwe says:

    Here are 5 more rock ‘illusions’ – again unsure if these are photo-shopped or not http://wp.me/p2vSxC-2W

  13. my site says:

    I needed to put you one very small remark so as to thank you over again for these magnificent knowledge you’ve featured at this time. It’s certainly incredibly generous of you to convey publicly precisely what many people could have made available for an e-book in making some cash on their own, even more so considering that you might have done it if you decided. These principles also acted to become easy way to know that the rest have similar zeal really like my own to understand more with regard to this matter. I am certain there are several more pleasurable instances in the future for those who look into your site.

    I wish to express some appreciation to you for rescuing me from this type of circumstance. Right after researching throughout the world-wide-web and finding suggestions which are not productive, I thought my life was gone. Being alive without the answers to the problems you’ve sorted out by way of your main post is a serious case, as well as those that might have in a wrong way damaged my career if I had not come across your website. That ability and kindness in touching all the details was excellent. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come across such a point like this. I can at this moment relish my future. Thank you very much for this expert and effective guide. I will not be reluctant to recommend the blog to any person who needs assistance on this situation.

    I wanted to type a quick message to be able to say thanks to you for these lovely ideas you are placing at this site. My time-consuming internet investigation has now been paid with reputable tips to write about with my partners. I would believe that many of us site visitors are definitely lucky to live in a magnificent website with so many brilliant individuals with good plans. I feel somewhat grateful to have seen the web site and look forward to plenty of more cool moments reading here. Thank you once again for a lot of things.

    Thank you a lot for giving everyone a very memorable opportunity to discover important secrets from here. It’s always so useful and also packed with a great time for me personally and my office peers to search your blog particularly 3 times weekly to read through the new issues you have. And indeed, we are at all times impressed with all the perfect tips you serve. Selected 4 ideas in this posting are honestly the most suitable we have all had.

    I would like to express my admiration for your kindness for folks that require guidance on the topic. Your personal commitment to passing the message around had been unbelievably useful and has in most cases made most people like me to reach their aims. Your amazing warm and helpful instruction entails a whole lot to me and much more to my office workers. Thank you; from everyone of us.

    I as well as my guys have been checking the best helpful hints found on the website and then before long got a terrible feeling I had not thanked the web site owner for those strategies. The men are actually certainly thrilled to read them and have in effect actually been loving them. We appreciate you actually being simply kind as well as for going for such useful issues millions of individuals are really wanting to discover. Our honest regret for not expressing gratitude to you sooner.

    I am only commenting to make you understand what a beneficial encounter my cousin’s girl obtained reading the blog. She learned a good number of things, including how it is like to possess an ideal teaching mood to make the mediocre ones without problems gain knowledge of several multifaceted issues. You really did more than readers’ expected results. Thanks for presenting the useful, safe, edifying and even easy thoughts on this topic to Mary.

    I precisely needed to appreciate you all over again. I do not know the things that I would’ve worked on in the absence of the type of tips provided by you relating to that question. It had been the frightful condition in my position, however , being able to see the very expert way you solved it made me to cry for delight. I am just thankful for the guidance and in addition believe you comprehend what a great job you are always putting in educating other individuals by way of a site. I am certain you’ve never come across any of us.

    My wife and i got cheerful when Ervin could finish up his homework out of the ideas he grabbed from your web site. It’s not at all simplistic just to choose to be making a gift of tips and tricks that many others have been trying to sell. We recognize we now have the blog owner to give thanks to for that. Those illustrations you have made, the straightforward web site menu, the relationships you can {aid to|assist to|give support to|help|help to|make it easier to|make it possible

    • Anonymous says:

      I agree, the second one is definitely fake….

    • mittfh says:

      What makes me think that’s courtesy of an automatic compliment generator – sort of the antithesis to Scott Pakin’s famous complaints generator…

  14. mittfh says:

    The Dubai castle surely counts as double pareidolia at least since the same ‘face’ appears on both visible sides of the structure (possible quadruple if it’s repeated on the hidden sides…)

    But that was certainly an inventive photomanip of Durdle Door :)

  15. Hello! I simply want to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you’ve got right here on this post. I will be coming back to your web site for more soon.

Leave a Reply

