I give you the most unusual pareidolia I have ever seen…..

18

As you have probably worked out by now, I am a fan of pareidolia.  Yesterday  I was sent this great photo….

It was taken by ace photographer Matthew Horwood, who very kindly gave me permission to post it here.  It gets my vote as the most unusual pareidolia I have seen. What do you think?

18 comments on “I give you the most unusual pareidolia I have ever seen…..

  1. Yngve Sjølset says:

    Freakish stuff, my brain went “sci-fi” and “Half Life alien” and then I noticed what looks like a skinned torso and/or a partly dissected alien to the left. Awesome :-D

  2. Dylan says:

    I think it’s the wife from ‘The Wall’… With the Schoolmaster hanging on the wall behind.

  3. zorathegreat says:

    It’s the look on the face of the guy on the right that makes this photo for me.

  4. Ian says:

    Wow, at first glance, that’s frighteningly gruesome and the chap on the left looks startling too! ;) Thanks, Richard and Matthew, for sharing such a striking image; and, really, the lad looking up to him rather enhances the illusion that he is looking at some sort of uncanny alien life form. Brilliant stuff! :D

  5. M says:

    unusual… yes.
    Good? don’t know…

  6. Matt says:

    It’s bloody terrifying

  7. Mickey D says:

    Great!
    Indeed the guy on the right looks like he is seeing what we see!

  8. Kevin Graham says:

    I’m not seeing it!!

  9. Rufus X says:

    I suppose I can figure out where a face might be, but it’s not jumping out at me. I just see what I assume to be a pig’s chest cavity.

    • pareidoliac says:

      The world is unreal because of the myth that we are separate individuals. We have divided and conqured ourselves to the point of the brink of extinction following dualism. “We have met the enemy and it is us.” (Walt Kelly- Pogo). We have given monetary value to all that war mentality values. Hence there is virtually no value given to pareidolia; or most things real and natural (as Baudrillard says). When one engages in pareidolic search one starts to see that one is not separate from the images. We are not separate from what we perceive. If people saw that they are not separate competative individuals (See David Bohm “Thought as a System.”) war and prison would end. There is only the here and now. If there is a heaven it can only be here and now, if we would investigate pareidolia to see if it is something deeper and more meaningfull than interesting pictures. Why not play pareidolic games instead of war games? We might find pareidolia is more necessary than war and what war condones. Nietzsche said values don’t exist and if they do the are reversed. War might have worked up till now but it is obviously not matching up to the unified reality that exists. Separation is an IDEA. There are no separate countries, people, borders etc. Investigate pareidolia and you will see we are not separate from our environment and war is people killing themselves. Pareidolia can create a real culture because it is real, natural, and democratic (anyone, even a face recognition machine can capture it.

      tags: Henry Boxer + Nick Cave + Grigory Perelman + David Bohm

    • pareidoliac says:

      The meathead above is a case of ARTIFICIAL pareidolia.
      Pareidolia is created by nature NOT man.

  10. One Eyed Jack says:

    Police: Are you classified as human?

    Korben Dallas: Negative. I am a meat popsicle.

  11. Emma says:

    The meat doesn’t look like a face to me, but it does look as if it’s attached to the man’s shoulders as if something terrible has happened to his head.

    • spiderabc1 says:

      For the face I noticed 2 circles above the hole (and it’s nose/beak) first. I think it looks like an owl. Love it.

  12. Oh, I see it. It’s a rib cage with what will become rib chops showing.

  13. neiljenkins says:

    Hmmmm. Maybe I’m just a bit stupid when it comes to this sort of thing, but I just see a lump of meat in front of a person’s face. I feel like I’ve missed out somehow. :-(

  14. Dan Lewis says:

    Terry Gilliam of Monty Python was quite an artist in this medium, I think.

Leave a Reply

