Answer to the Friday Puzzle…..

36

On Friday I posted this puzzle…..each of these boxes represents a phrase. So, for example, the first one represents ‘Man overboard’. Can you work out the others?

If you have not tried to solve it, have a go now. For everyone else, the answer is after the break.

1) Man overboard

2) Crossroads

3) Downtown

4) Neon lights

5) Life after death

6) Tricycle

Did you solve them? Any other answers?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for theKindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USAhere). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

36 comments on “Answer to the Friday Puzzle…..

  1. David D says:

    Who forgot to put their clocks forward then Richard!

  2. Alex says:

    Hm, I thought “Life or death” made more sense, especially given the clue.

  3. WML says:

    I think a better fifth answer is: Death is a part of life. The slash suggest a proportion–a part-whole relationship. The slash is superfluous for the answer: Life after death.

    • Navneeth says:

      The slash is superfluous for the answer: Life after death.

      I agree. Life or Death, as Alex suggests, is what I thought of at first, but the order didn’t work out.

  4. JimC says:

    I must admit that I thought the answer to the last one was Freecycle.

  5. -M- says:

    1: saw it before reading the puzzle
    2: got it
    3: got it after doubting between uptown and downtown.
    4: googled this one
    5: thought: dead or alive, but knew it would be wrong
    6: did not get it. But I don’t know what a tricycle is.

    • mittfh says:

      Re: “I don’t know what a tricycle is.”

      Hint: a Unicycle has one wheel, a bicycle has two wheels, so a tricycle has…

  6. Anonymous says:

    I had life or death rather than life after death. I also had footlights – the “lights” word was in the position that the foot would be relative to the “knee” word – although neon lights is probably the intended phrase.

  7. Bleach says:

    Got all of ‘em. Except for the last one, where I had ‘recycle’.

  8. Nigel says:

    Yes. Got them all. Neon lights took me the longest but not sure why as the answer was obvious when I saw it.

  9. berberanna says:

    Didn’t get 4 and 5.

  10. mittfh says:

    I didn’t get neon lights, although I’m sure I’ve seen it before (kept trying combinations such as knee over lights, lights under knee…) or life after death, but I got the rest.

    Nice to have a collection of rebus puzzles for a change :)

  11. OL says:

    I thought the lasy one was Cyclist.

  12. The other Matt says:

    Nr. 6: Recycle

  13. Mervulon says:

    Got ;em all pretty quickly, neon lights taking the longest. I like OL’s solution of ‘cyclist’ for #6…

  14. Ian says:

    Well, I didn’t get ‘em all right, after all :) Five out of six, I thought I’d solved instantly, except for the fact that, as it turns out, I interpreted “tricycle” as “recycle” (and tricycle is so obvious!). The only one that took a while was “neon lights”. Thanks for another delightful puzzle and have an excellent week :)

  15. Emma says:

    I must confess I got two wrong! I thought Knee/Lights was Knee high and Highlights. I thought also that Death/Life was Life or Death (but I suppose it was the wrong way round for that).

  16. I thought no. 4 was a fine line between life and death.

  17. One Eyed Jack says:

    Sudoku next week?

  18. Mort Canard says:

    I guessed “Foot Lights” since lights is below the knee and so is the foot. Oh Well!

  19. draw something game…

    [...]Answer to the Friday Puzzle….. « Richard Wiseman[...]…

  20. Auto blog commenting software…

    [...]Answer to the Friday Puzzle….. « Richard Wiseman[...]…

  21. Anonymous says:

    I had “death is longer than life” for n°5. Witch, I guess is kind of peculiar. For my defense, “phrase” means “sentence” in my native langage.

  22. Cool! Thanks for the links, I like puzzles. Usually me and my friends solving them when there is nothing special to do. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

