What’s going on here then…..

19

@C0baltBlue drew my attention to this great site containing lots of double-take photos…. here are three to whet your appetite ……

Which is your favourite?

19 comments on “What’s going on here then…..

  1. Ian says:

    These really are fascinating and quirky! Thanks again for another delightful little workout for the brain and eyes. Difficult to choose a favourite, again, but, to me, the first photograph has more of an instant double-take, whilst the others require more of a moment to work out exactly what’s going on. They’re all double-takes and all have that element, but the first feels more of an instant surprise and, for that element, it just about tops the others. Thanks for another bit of cerebral stimulation in the morning :)

  2. -M- says:

    I like them all, but I understood number 3 instantly. Had a hard time with 1 and 2 for a couple of seconds.

  3. Analise says:

    When I was young, cameras used film and film was expensive and the reel soon needed changing. Consequently, there was very little ‘point and shoot’ photography except from a few professional photojournalists who carried special cameras with motorised spools. Consequently, we all took time to compose a photograph. Those of us with training and experience knew to avoid the, ‘palm tree sticking out of the head’ type of shot. Nowadays, with digital cameras we can all shoot away regardless and Photoshop will remove the palm trees and other intrusions. This new technology has made us all heedless.

    • Richard says:

      Calm down grandma.

    • One Eyed Jack says:

      Anarchy! Anarchy!

      Next step is bestiality in the streets! ;-)

    • Adam says:

      I see nothing wrong with getting upset about poor compositional technique in a photo. They’re kind of interesting to look at in a collection like this, but as a single picture from a roll of film it would be really annoying to have a picture come out like this.

      I took a media production class in college and images like this were one of the things they told us to avoid, there is a technical term for it (which I can’t recall offhand) and it really is a big problem if you’re trying to compose a quality picture.

  4. Lazy T says:

    3 1 2, but the link was my fave, ta for that.

  5. JimC says:

    2 is the funniest, but it took me quite a while to figure out what was going on in 3.

  6. Paul says:

    Is that Liev Schreiber in the second picture?
    I like foot-hand lady.

  7. The Pick Man says:

    Three.

  8. Gavin Wince says:

    I think the first one is the funniest :)

  9. One Eyed Jack says:

    “Double Take”. I like that phrase much better than “illusion” for pictures like this.

  10. Number 3 was the one which finally tipped me over the edge of sanity

  11. Emma says:

    The foot-hand, because even when I looked closely, although I knew the woman’s hand must be on or near her ankle, I couldn’t see it.

  12. Anonymous says:

    Like the top girl. Such a smiley face- you don’t think about the legs…

  13. Vince says:

    Pretty sure 3 is edited, that just looks very unnatural for the foot to bend that way.

  14. sailor says:

    It took me a long time to get number one for some reason – I couldn’t see the knees for the legs. Felt an idiot when I finally saw it.

  15. robotperson says:

    Check the link for more. This one resists all efforts my brain makes to interpret it correctly: http://www.thepoke.co.uk/2012/03/20/something-is-wrong-with-these-photos/gallery/image/ngg-image-7363/

  16. palm removal says:

    Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I
    am impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the closing section :) I handle
    such info a lot. I used to be seeking this particular information for a long
    time. Thanks and good luck.

Leave a Reply

