Being in the right place at the right time….

20

Here are two lovely illusions that only work when you are in exactly the right place.  First, there is the impossible vase….

and @jbrownridge brought my attention to this great sculpture…

Which do you prefer?

20 comments on “Being in the right place at the right time….

  1. Laura says:

    I prefer the sculpture as a piece of art more than an illusion – although it is in a strange location… Ive seen the vase somewhere before….

  2. Mark says:

    I prefer the second one, although they’re both very effective.

  3. Michael Sternberg says:

    I prefer the sculpture – had more heft and “reality”. I think I saw this before. It’s a nice piece in the environment here (Netherlands IIRC).

    I wonder how it was designed, e.g. to get the apparently perfect perspective and straight lines in the projection from that vantage point, and if there are others.

  4. Heather Brookes says:

    I prefer the sculpture, which is stunning. I would love to see that in real life – it screams out to be touched!

  5. The vase is fun, but the sculpture is superb.

  6. Paul Pearson says:

    In a sublime way, I prefer the vase, as it is more accessible. Where in the world do I get one!

    I would love to show it off to people who already think/know I’m a little kooky.

  7. Geoff Coupe says:

    The second one. I’m pretty sure it’s somewhere in The Netherlands, and I think that the artist has done at least two versions. There’s a similar one (although the other way up) in a park in the town of Sassenheim.

    See

    https://skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?cid=6aa39937a982345b&resid=6AA39937A982345B!11146&parid=root

  8. Richard says:

    The second one, because it looks good from any angle, but amazing from one specific angle. The vase looks impossible from one angle and pretty horrible from any other.,

  9. One Eyed Jack says:

    2.

    It is interesting from any angle, but from the perfect angle, you see the brilliance of the design. It’s like finding a unexpected present.

    The first is one-dimensional.

  10. Ronda says:

    Oh, i love the sculpture!

  11. Ronda says:

    And I am totally dissatisfied with simply looking at the picture–I need to walk around it and see it from every angle!

    • Adzcliff says:

      I hesitantly recommend taking a trip to it on Google Street View. If you Google Map ‘Ophoven’ (thanks Geoff) it’s a few yards south of the marker, in the middle of the dual carriage way. Unfortunately you’re restricted to about 3 views, none of which, unsurprisingly, do the business (but it’s difficult to resist trying!).

  12. Mervulon says:

    Love the sculpture… where is this, exactly?

  13. Lazy T says:

    I like the sculpture better than the vase as I won’t trip over it and it still looks good from the wrong angle.

  14. Geoff Coupe says:

    OK, the sculpture is apparently not in The Netherlands, but in Belgium, in the village of Ophoven, and it’s by Mathieu Haemaekers.

    See: http://www.planetperplex.com/en/item/unity/

  15. Emma says:

    I prefer the bottom one. What’s the second picture about?!

  16. The Pick Man says:

    @Emma. The clue is in the title. It’s a view of the same object from a different vantage point.

  17. fonji says:

    I need that vase.

  18. Ken Haley says:

    No doubt… the second! Two illusions–curves into straight lines and the apparently impossible 3d object.

Leave a Reply

