35 comments on “Two new illusions

  1. John Loony says:

    .eno tsrif ehT

  2. Chris Emerson says:

    The carpet would be even better if the dips were where the objects in the room were. Might give the illusion away though.

  3. Steve Paget says:

    First one, definitely. I have trouble imagining what that looks like close-up, whereas the cheetahs are pretty straightforward.

  4. John Loony says:

    It would be interesting to see photos of that floor from different angles, or a video moving about.

  5. Infophile says:

    I just have to wonder how many people trip when they walk through that room, by trying to adjust to dips that aren’t there.

  6. Michael Sternberg says:

    First one – no contest.

    That carpet is wicked!

    I wonder, though, if stereoscopic vision deflates the effect somewhat in the real world.

  7. Nigel Alexander says:

    No.1
    Clever retail attraction.

  8. Paul Pearson says:

    # 1, hands down.

    I want that carpeting in my game room!

  9. Jenifer says:

    First one. Excellent carpet. Very well done.

  10. Mark says:

    Definitely the first one – it’s very clever!

  11. saoili says:

    I seem to be alone in this, but I definitely prefer the second one. The carpet is pretty straightforward and I almost have to work to see it as not flat. On the other hand after about twenty seconds looking at it I’m still only reasonably sure which head belongs to which cheetah. And I wonder if a bunch of the people who think it’s obvious have it wrong :)

  12. Anonymous says:

    what’s the illusion in the second one, other than just a nice nature photo?

  13. Scott says:

    I agree with saoili – while I like the carpet idea, I’m sure the customers love the difference and I think more companies should be progressive like this; I’m still not confident which cheetah is which. The photo is so seamless.

    the slight twist in the left handy body makes me think left body-left head, and the amount of times I’ve seen a similar scene from a different angle on nature docos

  14. Lazy T says:

    Pity the poor staff of the shop with that carpet, it’s almost cruel.

  15. They’re both good, but my favourite is definately 1

  16. Julia says:

    I like the first one. But I prefer the floor at the Hundertwasser house, Vienna, which is actually uneven: http://www.hundertwasser.at/english/exhibitions/khwboden.php

  17. First one is great, but the second, can’t see anything irregular in it. It’s just a picture of 2 cheetah’s looking in different directions.

  18. Jelhel says:

    Loving the carpet!

  19. livedman says:

    Does the carpet make people walk funny when they step into the dips of it?

  20. Sari1967 says:

    Top I think.

  21. dharmaruci says:

    yes, yes, very funny. two cheetahs, one sitted down one standing up. but only SEX LEGS between them.

    like a cheetah spidah!!

  22. Gail Hatton says:

    I,d love that carpet design on my walls, very cool, wonder if anyone has lost their balance while walking on it lol

  23. Emma says:

    The top one. The one with the animals looks good for a second, but it’s not that great as an illusion.

  24. Nochsta says:

    I’d say the second one.
    The carpet is really nice, and could mess with your head, all though as some have suggested it might not work so well from a different angle, and in any case, it’s pretty straight forward.
    The cheetahs on the other hand are still confusing, and it’s really hard to figure out which head belongs to which cheetah. As soon as I’m pretty sure, I start to see how it might be the other way. Both heads seem to fit pretty well on the seated cheetah, although the left head doesn’t seem to fit quite as well with the standing one, so maybe that’s it.
    Actually, now that I look at it again, I’m not quite so sure…

  25. lifesmate says:

    First one is great. Second,just normal picture to me.

  26. Bletherskite says:

    The second one is a cracking shot. I can see which head belongs to which body (I think to be looking to the left the front cheetah would have to have an unusually long and flexible neck) but then I look at it again and have a moment of doubt so hmmmm………

    However the first one with the carpet makes me start to feel dizzy just trying to imagine walking over to the other side so it’s my favourite.

  27. [...] Wiseman: A British psychologist, with lots of great visual illusions (like the one to the right), puzzles and interesting [...]

  28. Jo says:

    I’m still trying to work out the cheetah one. I’m leaning towards the standing cheetah looking to the left and the sitting one looking to the right, because the front legs of the standing cheetah are behind the body of the sitting cheetah and maybe a bit too far back for the right head?

Leave a Reply

