52 comments on “Amazing amazing video…..

  1. Steve Pursglove says:

    Wonderfully inventive, I love it! (although there’s no ‘p’ in hamster)

    • Mushroom Gordon says:

      Yes there is – it’s obvious you’ve never had to clean out a hmaster cage – the little darlings are full of “p” :)

  2. John Loony says:

    Inefficient, exploitative, self-indulgent, expensive, bombastic, doubleplusridiculous verging crimethink, individualistic, anti-collective and thus counter-revolutionary.

  3. Stephen says:

    Utterly brilliant.

  4. seepyous says:

    Social Engineering of a hamster? Set its cage on an incline so it doesnt WANT to move, then blow hot air making it so uncomfortable it now WANTS to move… this is the ways of the Sith!

    • One Eyed Jack says:

      Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
      Through passion, I gain strength.
      Through strength, I gain power.
      Through power, I gain victory.
      Through victory, my chains are broken.
      The Force shall free me.

  5. Berber Anna says:

    Kind of unfriendly towards the hamster, though. I can’t imagine it’s fun to be in a cage with a hot stormy thing pointed at you.

    • Anonymous says:

      That’s it. The animal, like children (yesterday’s post), cannot defend himself. I couldn’t imagine it was fun to be the victim of an unfortunate (assuming that it was not staged) illusion and then being shown around. Expect some aggressive comments because you put the animal into the equation.

    • Berber Anna says:

      I’d find it equally unfriendly if he put an unwitting adult human in a cage with a giant hairdryer pointed at him, but that would be kind of unlikely. It’s not a matter of ‘it can’t defend itself’ (knowing hamsters, it can, and it probably did bite the guy when he took it out to put it back in its proper cage). It’s a matter of ‘hurting or frightening another person, be they human or of another species, is not a friendly thing to do’.

      Is your point that the children will be equally frightened if they find out that they are in the background of a picture that people laughed at because someone else’s arm looked like someone else’s penis? I doubt that. If (and that’s if) they do find out about the illusion, they’ll probably laugh at it too. It’s the penis arm people laugh about, not the children.

      I think being imprisoned in a small mesh tunnel and having hot air inexplicably blown on you might be a tad more unpleasant than finding out you were in the background of a funny picture.

    • Julia says:

      Point well made, Berber. Except that the arm doesn’t even look like a penis.

    • One Eyed Jack says:

      Such sympathy for a fluffy rat. Well, OK.

      I’m just left to wonder if you have the same level of consideration when you eat a hamburger or admire a new pair of leather shoes.

      Things that make you go hmmmm…

    • Berber Anna says:

      Yes, I do, in fact. That’s why I only eat organic farm-reared meat when I do eat meat, and why I buy fake leather shoes (no organic label on affordable shoes). I don’t mind that fact that animals are killed for food or other animal products — we all die, after all, and we’re all eaten when we do — but I want them to have a good life and a humane death.

      Hamsters are quite different to rats, by the way. My friend keeps pet hamsters, I keep pet rats. Very different temperament, and hamsters are solitary while rats are social. I prefer rats, myself, but this is clearly a hamster. Syrian, as far as I can tell.

    • One Eyed Jack says:

      Well, that makes it better. It must be great comfort to the animal when they get spike through their skull at the slaughter house.

      FWIW, I have no problem with animals used as food or Rube Goldberg devices. If asked to judge, I’d say the hamster has it much better than your average cow, so I don’t think I’ll be shedding a tear over it’s horrible fate at the hand of a madman wielding a reckless hair dryer.

    • Berber Anna says:

      Actually, having your throat slit or a spike shot into your brain — provided either are done right — are fairly quick and painless deaths, better than dying of an illness like most humans. If the animals are treated properly at the slaughterhouse, they only experience fear for a few minutes (while they are walked to the slaughtering area), and pain for less than a minute. The cow need not be comforted when it gets a spike through its skull, as the spike will render it unconscious.

      If they’re factory farmed animals, rather than organic free-range, they will be uncomfortable because they don’t have the space or facilities to act out their natural instincts. Cows get restless and depressed when they have to spend all day indoors, pigs start eating each others’ tails when they don’t get enough space and enrichment. That’s more than a few minutes of discomfort, that’s a lifetime of it.

      I have no problems with death, as long as the life preceding it was good. Death is a given, it will arrive anyway, so killing something for a reason (food, self-defense or mercy) is justifiable if you do it quickly and as painlessly as possible.
      I do have a problem with harm, pain, fear, discomfort. Those should be minimised unless there is good reason for them.

      There was no good reason to cause the hamster discomfort. He could have put it in a proper enclosure and used the drop of a food pellet or treat to entice it to move towards another trigger to be tripped. Causing discomfort without good reason is unfriendly.

      I think our disagreement stems from a different way of looking at non-human animals. I see them as equal but different. You appear to see them as unequal to human animals.

    • One Eyed Jack says:

      Equality isn’t even in the realm of consideration. We are all animals, but that doesn’t make us equals.

      If you think we are then answer this question: You are given one of those contrived, completely implausible situations philosophers love to use. A train is coming down the tracks and you are manning the switch. One track will send the train into a baby carriage (with baby inside of course) and the other track will send the train into a litter of baby hamsters. Which way do you turn the switch?

      Now, what were you saying about equal?

    • Berber Anna says:

      Killing a baby human is illegal, killing baby hamsters is illegal. I wouldn’t want to go to prison.

      In a more serious vein: Protecting one’s own species is an instinct most social animals have. That doesn’t make their own species worth more. I would choose my parents’ life over that of a brilliant Nobel laureate, for instance, but that doesn’t mean I value the laureate any less than my parents.

      Would you send the train over the baby hamsters if there were no baby human? In the name of experimentation, or fun, or to see the response of other humans? That would mean not considering them of equal worth.

      If you make someone (human or not) feel unpleasant just so that you can feel pleasant, that’s devalueing them.

    • Berber Anna says:

      Ehm, that’s supposed to say ‘killing baby hamsters is legal’. These comments need an edit function…

    • One Eyed Jack says:

      I don’t think I would send the train over the hamsters if there was no reason to do so, i.e. the other track is free.

      But I just might chase them off the tracks with a hair dryer. ;-)

  6. Clare says:

    Brilliant

  7. Dharmaruci says:

    But did you spot the gorilla?

  8. anibal morbo says:

    Chatham-Kent, Ontario, Canadá, preguntó qué día nació cada detenido a lo largo de 2011. Y el resultado salió en las noticias cuando descubrieron que la mayoría de los arrestados había nacido bajo el signo de Aries.
    Según el National Post, de un total de 1.986 presos, 203 resultaron ser arianos. Son seguidos por los de Libra (189 arrestos), Virgo (183), Leo (177), Piscis (169), Tauro (146), Acuario (143) y así hasta llegar al signo más inofensivo, según el estudio de la Policía de Canadá, que es el de Sagitario, con sólo 139 arrestados nacidos bajo ese signo.

  9. Emma says:

    Why?!

    I’m sure it took some arranging, but it was so slow . . . !

  10. [...] Richard Wiseman) Teilen Sie dies mit:TwitterFacebookE-MailDruckenGefällt mir:LikeSei der Erste, dem dieser post [...]

  11. The other Matt says:

    Really great !
    And here the explanation why some electric drills are so difficult to repair…

    http://www.jeepgallery.de/d/159588-2/oekobohrmaschine.jpg

  12. dgilad says:

    but what about the next page ?!?!?!

  13. Anonymous says:

    Sorry but I found it a bit boring and slow… one “amazing” would be enough in this case. Not that I could do better but I’ve seen such good material in your blog that this was just a little bit disappointing… not to mention it wasn’t the most enjoyable experience for the hamster!

    • One Eyed Jack says:

      Srsly?

      The hamster had warm air blown on it.

      Oh, the horror… the horror!

      Someone notify PETA!

    • Berber Anna says:

      The hamster was stuck in a small wire tunnel with no bedding, then had hot air blown on it without understanding how or why, causing it to feel it needed to flee. That must have been frightening to it. It’s not the worst thing you could do to a hamster, but it certainly wasn’t enjoyable.

  14. One Eyed Jack says:

    Who doesn’t love a good Rube Goldberg device?

    I’d put this in my list of favorites just for the unique devices used.

    Thumbs up!

  15. Jon May says:

    Couldn’t do this in the UK without a Home Office license…

  16. Hey, check this comment on YouTube by stresemann17:

    “cheats everywhere… at 0:54 the fuze disappears… at 1:13 the gas cooker is turned “off” even though it should be on “gas”. from 1:15 to 1:20 you can see another video layer overlapping the shelf. In 1:48 there is a roll of paper napkins in the shelf that hasn’t been there before… nice idea but poorly realized”

    It seemed good at first but I’m not amused after this anymore… And he’s right.

  17. Dave says:

    People who do these kinds of video need to get out more…

  18. Gail Hatton says:

    hee hee delightfully intricate

  19. [...] Wie man eine Zeitung mit, ähm, ein bisschen viel Aufwand automatisch umblättert: (via Richard Wiseman) [...]

  20. Donna says:

    That was cute. I really lolled. It reminded me of my kitchen on a normal day, things falling and all….;)

  21. todays date says:

    Dammit. Hoisted by my own petard. *sulks wanting to know*

  22. [...] via le blog de Richard Wiseman une incroyable machine à tourner les pages. Joseph Herscher a été interviewé par le New York [...]

  23. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe this web site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the information!

  24. Good information. Lucky me I discovered your website by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve book marked it for later!

  25. make ur penis bigger…

    [...]Amazing amazing video….. « Richard Wiseman[...]…

  26. There is certainly a lot to find out about this issue. I like all of the points you made.

  27. Anonymous says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after looking at many of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  28. Anonymous says:

    Hi, I do think your web site could possibly be having web browser compatibility issues. When I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, great site!

  29. Very interesting, good use of the hamster, now if only I can teach my dog to use the vacuum cleaner.

  30. An intriguing discussion is worth comment. There’s no doubt that that you ought to write more about this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but typically people don’t speak about these topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

  31. A motivating discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this subject matter, it may not be a taboo subject but usually people don’t speak about such issues. To the next! Cheers!!

  32. Samantha says:

    Buying a purifier for your household is a very good idea and definitely will help keep everyone in your house much more healthy and well balanced.

    Many thanks, excellent info.

  33. Good article. I certainly love this site. Thanks!

  34. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly believe that this web site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

