Worlds best duck-rabbit illusion?

39

Some colleagues and I have just published a paper in the British Journal of Psychology on the duck-rabbit illusion (the paper was published with Caroline Watt, Ken Gilhooly and George Georgiou and the abstract is here).  We basically found that the easier you find it to flip between the two interpretations of the image, the more creative you are.  So, in honour of this great occasion, I give you not one, not two, but eleven duck-rabbit images….

1)


2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7)

8)

9)

10)

11)

Which is your favourite? Vote now!

39 comments on “Worlds best duck-rabbit illusion?

  1. Rusty says:

    9 is a guineapig rabbit

  2. Steve says:

    Fascinating. I find blinking to be my brains signal to switch perspective (when I tell it). The faster I blink the faster the switch. Weird but cool!

  3. Ash Pryce says:

    Loving the fact that in typing it up, your computer has decided that the number 8 is a cool emoticon :)

  4. Mark says:

    I think No. 1 is the one I first saw, and to me, it’s still the best.

  5. Peter O says:

    2 & 11 are both great but 11 gets my vote for being 3D.

  6. What a great topic for a paper! Our library even has a subscription to the journal. Will check it out.

    2 and 11 are cute, and I like the completeness of 7. My fav is 5, for the whiskers/crest and the character of the the animals.

  7. Nic says:

    Love number 5. Number 6 is just a little bit weird though.

  8. Anonymous says:

    where can I buy a #11? It’s fantastic.

  9. Berber Anna says:

    Fliping them is one thing, but I tried to see both at the same time. Now my brain hurts. :/
    Number 6 is my favourite, but that’s because I love taxidermy art.

  10. EmilyT says:

    #6 is my favourite but #3 works the best for me.

  11. John Wilkins says:

    I think I did number 7 some years ago, and somebody shopped it onto the background. Not that I mind.

    But as a one-time graphic artist, I like #2 best. Nice bit of art.

  12. Juan AR says:

    #9 Because it’s real. :)

    In the second place #10 or may be #7

  13. Sylvia says:

    Does switching ability really tie up with creativity? It also helps if you have seen this type of images before.

    To improve fast switching, you can just move your eyes from one snout to the other: the beak of the duck, the nose of the rabbit. I like image (10) because it guides you to do this. (6) is just freaky.

  14. Gail says:

    hee hee i like them, very easy to see both, instantly!

  15. Kenny Harris says:

    Number six is just weird. Mummy, please make it stop!

  16. John Wilkins says:

    Sorry, I meant I did # 6 years ago, as a design for a book cover on the notion of species.

  17. Lazy T says:

    I bet they all taste of chocolate

  18. Emma says:

    I like 2). 6) and 9) are creepy. Especially 9), for some reason.

  19. Ronda says:

    There are some really excellent ones here. Hard choice. #9 is the only one that just didn’t work for me–the rabbit ears just aren’t right. #11 is very cool, but I chose #7 because they’re both in reasonably natural poses.

  20. rengdahl says:

    I’d have to drink a few of these to know for sure…

    http://www.duckrabbitbrewery.com/

  21. Phil McCavity says:

    The one with the flagpole is the best

  22. John says:

    Where can I find my own #11?

  23. Wolfdude says:

    Weird but the previous night :\ I drew some stuff on paper.. Mostly face impressions eyes :S And i drew duck 2 times. I was listening to your audiobook O_o this creeps me out still..

  24. Wolfdude says:

    Now i know ^^

  25. Miss T says:

    number 3 is the best because you can see duck/rabbit at the same time

  26. Anonymous says:

    I want that figurine in 11 for my book case! Where did you get it?

  27. […] loin mais elle permet déjà à chacun de se tester soi-même sur l’image ci-jointe (ou sur les 10 autres que Richard Wiseman a rassemblées sur son […]

  28. […] Wiseman, R. (2011). World’s best duck-rabbit illusion? [Web log press]. Quirky Mind Stuff: Richard Wiseman. Retrieved February 22, 2013 from http://richardwiseman.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/worlds-best-duck-rabbit-illusion/ […]

  29. […] illusions. Whether it’s a face on Mars, those moving pictures that don’t really move, or that weird-ass duck-rabbit thing, the brain’s need to fill in the gaps based on past experience can lead to faulty perception in […]

  30. […] Worlds Best Duck-Rabbit Illusion? (by Richard Wiseman) […]

  31. 4, 5, and 9 are the only ones I actually perceive as impossible to be a rabbit. :)

Leave a Reply

