25 comments on “Light-headed

  1. klaunert says:

    Both work. It seems the persons hover above the earth,

  2. deepak says:

    simple and sweet

  3. leslielu says:

    It depends on how casually or seriously I look at it. At first glance, the illusions are noticeable, and well-done. If I continue to observe the photos, the illusion dissipates and I see the photos in a more “logical” frame of mind.

    However, these are “fun” photos, and in order to enjoy them, I think having a more open mind helps.

  4. Jack Reimon says:

    first one more…altough it would be great to have some kind of “shade” reference to really believe it´s a shadow. and if the feet were not so straight would help a lot, they need a “resting on the air” feeling
    second one…not really! shadows it too blurry to be on the surface.

  5. Charles Sullivan says:

    The second one doesn’t appear to be elevation. Just a shadow on the bottom.

  6. Mad Kev says:

    A man standing next to a puddle? Amazing.

  7. Annette MacCaul says:

    They both work, but if I consciously remind myself there is a mark on the floor in the top illusion, the person does not appear to hover. However, that only works for a couple of seconds. In the second photo the person always looks as though they are floating above the surface of the water no matter how hard I try to see through the illusion. .

  8. Berhard says:

    the first one works, it really looks like a guy is standing besides a smudge of dirt…

  9. hypnogenius says:

    Looks like David Blane lol Very good both of them ,well done Richard clever .

  10. dustbubble says:

    what Mad Kev & Berhard said.
    I just saw a bloke who’d accidentally peed down his leg, and was shuffling away from the incriminating splodge.
    Lilo one likewise. “Oh, what lovely clear water!”

  11. Wil Holder says:

    First yes, second less so… I have to concentrate on trying to imagine him floating, but maybe because on water he already is floating…

  12. [...] Proof of levitation! Courtesy of Richard Wiseman: Light-headed Richard Wiseman's Blog [...]

  13. DutchGuy says:

    Lol. Reminds me of a trick that worked pretty well. It’s rather simple. Stand up and put your feet together, then you slowly start to balance on the toes of one foot while keeping the back of your feet in line. With good shoes and when watched under the right angle this looks like you’re floating.

    I used to do this trick on parties. People who believe in paranormal things were very easy to fool so I liked to pick them. I used to tell them a made up story about ancient meditation and how I discovered some things. Then I chose good spots for me and the audience for the best visual effect (angle, shadows). I never told them what I was going to do, I just ‘concentrated’ for a minute first. This added to the experience. I once had a woman screaming.

    Once I demonstrated this trick to a friend while waiting in a theater and some strangers stopped to watch me while I was ‘floating’. Very funny. I am not a magician and I am not good in balancing on one foot. But it worked. Suggestion is very powerful. I figured it out after I saw somebody do this on TV, having me convinced it was real while I definitely was sure it was a trick.

  14. Anonymous says:

    Yes. Interesting what light and shadow in the right spots will do.

  15. whitenoiseofeverydaylife says:

    like others the first one works very well, the second one less so. But still clever.

  16. Eddy says:

    Have you seen Levitation Girl? She lives in Japan and is an amazing photographer. All of the levitation photos are of her and she takes them herself.
    http://yowayowacamera.com/

  17. jus says:

    Well the second one isn’t an illusion at all… the floating chair is casting the shadow.

  18. James says:

    The top one is a great illusion!

  19. Marion says:

    The first one works well and I have to remind myself of what it is to break that. The second one is the shadow of the lilo, however this seems odd because the shadow isn’t attached and however illogically in this case shadows not being attached seems wrong- you only have to think of Peter Pan!

  20. gratis Produkte…

    [...]Light-headed « Richard Wiseman[...]…

  21. Mihaela says:

    The first one is taken in my hometown. The exact location is Piata Unirii – Iasi, Romania.

  22. I used to be suggested this blog via my cousin. I’m now not sure whether or not this publish is written by means of him as no one else know such distinctive about my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  23. magican says:

    I just like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and test once more right here frequently. I am rather sure I’ll be told many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  24. I enjoy what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and exposure! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

Leave a Reply

