One of my favourite illusions……ever

39

First, just a quickie to say that I have produced a new kindle ebook containing many of the previous Friday Puzzles!  It is called PUZZLED (available in the UK here and USA here) and contains 101 puzzles and the solutions. If you enjoy the Friday Puzzles and the blog, feel free to show your appreciation by buying one of the books.

Second, this is genius (via @atlasofdiplock) …..

Does it work for you?

 

39 comments on “One of my favourite illusions……ever

  1. BIG Omi says:

    Totally works for me! Though am not able to crack how exactly is this foto is morphed :)

  2. YN says:

    fascinating!!

  3. Sanjay Kumar says:

    Very interesting!!

  4. Mark says:

    Never seen that before, but it’s certainly very effective.

  5. D says:

    Isn’t more of a tampered photo than an optical illusion?

  6. David W says:

    That’s a beautiful piece of work. Elegant and effective!

  7. JimC says:

    My head hurts

  8. David Mathew says:

    It’s quite creepy. Very clever. I’ve never seen that before.

  9. Geoff Coupe says:

    It seems to be the superimposition of the leftwards-facing eye that brings the illusion to life. If you block out that eye, then the image resolves to that of someone standing behind a cut-out shape the same colour as the background wall, with a tuft of his hair poking over the cut-out.

  10. Tom Ruffles says:

    It is great but not perfect – the eye is still staring left even in the ‘facing forward’ position, and you have to try to ignore it. You don’t often see someone with one nostril behind the other either, which you have in the ‘facing left’ position. Very effective illusion though.

  11. Carol says:

    Well put together :).

  12. Kel says:

    Oh my poor brain doesn’t know what to do!!

  13. Hilary says:

    Oh yes.. that’s very cool.

  14. Tessa K says:

    Brain fuck!

  15. mittfh says:

    I ‘caught’ the sideways looking face first, then thought the body looked oddly distorted. I then noticed the ‘forward’ looking face, and realised that aspect of photoshopping. Only after reading the comments did I notice that the visible eye was ‘shopped as well.

  16. Hal says:

    Looks like an easy manipulation. If you post a profile and passport-style photo here, Richard, I could make one for you.

  17. Jason says:

    Look, I don’t want to be rude, and it’s endearing that you like this, but it’s just two pictures photoshopped together. It’s not even very well don e.
    There’s no illusion as the front of the face is completely abstracted by the use of the cutout of the profile. At best this is a poor attempt at an abstract portrait, but really is something that an a-level art student might come up with thinking that it’s all very surreal. There’s nothing here that makes one’s eye jump between the two dimensions.
    Neither the front facing ‘face’ nor the profile bear any resemblance to a recognisable form – it’s no different to superimposing an ant’s head onto a zebra and saying ‘Yeah? That made you look again didn’t it?’
    No, it just looks like you’ve bought photoshop.

    • Roger says:

      That’s like saying Picasso just used paint on canvas. It’s not the tool, it’s the idea behind it and the execution. Photoshop doesn’t choose where to use one photo and where to use another. A person did that. Photoshop isn’t magic.

    • Lazy T says:

      I’m with Jason on this, it’s just a photoshop exercise, and as Roger doesn’t say Picasso got to the arty-concept first.

  18. Bletherskite says:

    I saw the forward looking face and then that the cut out face image looking left lined up with the lips nose and eyes and then my brain clicked and realised the eye had been turned. Works really well.

  19. Jerry says:

    Works fine.

  20. christine says:

    I really like it !!!! Thanks for sharing today !!

    Cheers

  21. Greg23 says:

    I saw the profile first.

    After I saw the partial frontal I had to consciously force the profile afterward.

  22. redcat says:

    Nicely done!

  23. Sari1967 says:

    This is really good can only see one or the other can’t see both at same time.

  24. L.Long says:

    My brain cycles between all three ‘faces’ making difficult to actually see the person there. Awesome….really like this one! Well actually I really like all your posted illusions.

  25. namowal says:

    When I first looked at this, my brain “read” it as a distorted caricature. After a closer inspection of what I was really looking at, the illusion disappeared

  26. leshelou says:

    took me ages to see it lol

  27. Emma says:

    It sure does work for me. Very good. I love optical illusions.

  28. fluffy says:

    The nose throws a spanner in the works for me.

  29. Zach says:

    Not sure what’s exactly is supposed to “work” but great illusion nonetheless

  30. bigjohn756 says:

    I love it! But, I have no idea how this guy would pick his nose.

  31. [...] One of my favourite illusions……ever First, just a quickie to say that I have produced a new kindle ebook containing many of the previous Friday Puzzles!  [...] [...]

  32. M says:

    Weird photoshopping! Nice.

  33. jackjak says:

    it’s very puzzled ,but i like it ^ ^

  34. Jon D says:

    Reminded me of the cover of the album ‘Forever Changes’ by ‘Love’

  35. Morokiane says:

    I could see that being a Pink Floyd album cover.

Leave a Reply

