65 comments on “Three wonderful things…

  1. PeterM says:

    In the end it’s the fence.

  2. Pokelyn says:

    The fence. Definitely the fence although it took me a few seconds to see it.

  3. Debayan says:

    Fence ’tis.

  4. Olle says:

    The third is My favorite, even more if It’s intentional.

  5. Freduardo says:

    The fence for me too!

  6. Ranganath says:

    fence..!!..its awesome..!!!:)

  7. Rich says:

    The fence is great- very skilled. Santa is the funniest though.

  8. Jim C says:

    Another vote for the fence. I find the first image disturbing and unpleasent.

  9. eclecticjules says:

    I love them all! The pig one is just cute and fun; the Santa skull is just plain creepy; but wow, I have to admit, that’s a great “double image” as I must force myself to concentrate on the Santa although he’s so obviously there; and the fence, well, that’s just a super cool way to paint a fence. Bravo!

    • Mot says:

      ‘The pig is really cute and fun’ – what are you a sicko? It’s the head of a dead and butchered pig. Just a few hours ago it was probably rolling around in the mud with its family (who are probably still looking for him/her – this isn’t anthropomorphism, pigs have shown to be one of the most intelligent animals on the planet: more intelligent than dogs, with a much more developed personality, each with a different character, and a huge capacity for grief!).

      ‘The pig is really cute and fun’ – what do you do in your spare time, go and laugh at the people in the burns unit? I bet you have pictures of post-mortems all over your living-room wall as well.

    • Bob says:

      Oh for god sake get over yourself!
      You are obviously a vegetarian with a carrot wedged far too far up your arse.

      And I highly doubt it was rolling around in the mud with it’s family a few hours ago, It was probably waiting in queue at the slaughter house to have 20 000 volts frazzle its brain to mush.

      *Goes off to eat a nice bacon sandwich*

    • Mot says:

      Bob, just because you like to wedge things up your arse doesn’t mean that everybody else does. By the way, what’s your favourite, cucumber or marrow?

  10. Fence defenitely! took a couple of seconds to figure tht out!!

  11. Martha says:

    FENNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNCE!

  12. Jason says:

    The top picture is nauseating (and certainly not ‘cute’ or ‘fun’ you moron).

    Although an interested reader of psychology and fan of Richard’s work, I find his attitude to animals leaves much to be desired. Ooh look at the funny dead animals, ha bloody ha.

    “The assumption that animals are without rights and the illusion that our treatment of them has no moral significance is a positively outrageous example of Western crudity and barbarity. Universal compassion is the only guarantee of morality.” Schopenhauer

    • Dominique says:

      I absolutely agree. Finding this sort of thing “cute” says a lot about a person.

    • Bob says:

      Are you telling me that in both your lives neither of you have ever eaten a morsel of meat, or worn anything that that has come from an animal?

      Thought not you sick murdering hypocritical bastards.

    • Mot says:

      Is Bob the most stupidest person on the planet? His arguments make no sense to a logical-thinking human being. I think what we have with Bob is a bonobo with a keyboard

    • The Pick Man says:

      Oh Mot. *smiles sweetly* Two superlatives in one sentence? Really!

    • nina says:

      you know this isn’t the way to turn people onto vegetarianism right? the ruder and more forceful you are the more likely people are to shy away from it. or eat a steak to spite you.

      people are going to eat pigs. that pig is already dead. the image is just a mildly amusing coincidence. if it were a picture of a toy pigs head in front of a person everyone else would of still found it amusing. we aren’t liking the image because it’s about a dead animal.

      sweet lord will you calm down.

      the fence. the skill and thought behind it is great.

    • Mot says:

      You just don’t get it do you? It’s not a toy, it’s a severed head!

    • Bob says:

      Heads are severed every day. Shit happens Mot. This is a cruel world we live in, but sure as hell, as Nina quite very well said above, your approach to turn us to vegetarianism is falling on deaf ears.

      Seeing as you are very judgemental about others, I am going to give you my theory about you.

      You most definately are angst ridden, life has been treating you like shit recently or possibly for a while, and i sympathise, we have all been there. You are definately younger than 25 years old quite possibly in your teens. you want an iPhone for christmas but you suspect you won’t get one because your parents are wankers. You are in education at the moment, and feel completely frustrated by the lack of understanding that your teachers/tutors give you, you feel like you are banging your haed against a brick wall sometimes. “Why won’t anyone notice me!!!!” goes through your head ALOT. There are insecurity issues which I won’t go into, I’ll let you work on them yourself. You also had a pet of yours die recently (within a year) and it was your first experience of death. I know exactly what that feels like, and people just don’t understand do they?

      http://tinyurl.com/y97mlpb

      These feelings won’t last forever, you’ll find your balance in life. Trust me.

      I also predict you will do one of two things.
      A) you will go ballistic and rant about how completely wrong I am, that you are not under 25 and everything i have said is a load of crap, or..

      B) You won’t come up with anything to say as a comeback, and never reply to this comment.

      Love, Bob.

    • Anonymous says:

      Bob, you are a nauseating little prick. You are wrong in almost every count. You are probably the type of dingbat who would like to make yourself sound good in the hope that other people will like you. You probably have no friends and evidently have very little intelligence (although you would like others to think you have). Let’s see how wrong you are:

      I am 45 years old. I work in criminal investigation. I have a first-class BSc. honours degree as well as an MSc. I am registered with the British Psychological Society. I have been a vegan for nearly 20 years. So there you go Bob, wrong on almost every count.

      As for my ‘rant’, my intention is not to ‘convert’ others as this would fall on deaf ears as most people lack compassion; are afraid of change; don’t really care; or lack the intelligence on wit to hold any rational thoughts (I think that you would fall into this group, Bob) or grasp any new ideas. By the way Bob, on reading your rant, Freud’s idea of ‘projection’ comes into mind, so don’t worry Bob “These feelings won’t last forever, you’ll find your balance in life. Trust me”, I realise that “life has been treating you like shit recently or possibly for a while, and I sympathise, we have all been there”.

      If I was you I wouldn’t offer any more theories, because you are shit at it and get everything wrong.

    • Mot says:

      Oops, forgot to put my name on the last one.

      Bob, you are a nauseating little prick. You are wrong in almost every count. You are probably the type of dingbat who would like to make yourself sound good in the hope that other people will like you. You probably have no friends and evidently have very little intelligence (although you would like others to think you have). Let’s see how wrong you are:

      I am 45 years old. I work in criminal investigation. I have a first-class BSc. honours degree as well as an MSc. I am registered with the British Psychological Society. I have been a vegan for nearly 20 years. So there you go Bob, wrong on almost every count.

      As for my ‘rant’, my intention is not to ‘convert’ others as this would fall on deaf ears as most people lack compassion; are afraid of change; don’t really care; or lack the intelligence on wit to hold any rational thoughts (I think that you would fall into this group, Bob) or grasp any new ideas. By the way Bob, on reading your rant, Freud’s idea of ‘projection’ comes into mind, so don’t worry Bob “These feelings won’t last forever, you’ll find your balance in life. Trust me”, I realise that “life has been treating you like shit recently or possibly for a while, and I sympathise, we have all been there”.

      If I was you I wouldn’t offer any more theories, because you are shit at it and get everything wrong.

    • Bob says:

      Ahh, I was right with my first choice.

      And you know you didn’t have to put the entire comment again, you could just have left the first sentence as it was, you trolls really love using up bandwidth don’t you.

      You said I was wrong on almost every count, I guess you really do want that iPhone for christmas don’t you. :)

      Anyway, I really am bored of this tete a tete, You’ve made your point, you hate anyone who finds a picture of a pig head in front of a man and insist on insulting them as much as you can without even knowing the person. Very grown up. I hope to aspire to be as mature as you when I reach 45 (I’m still convinced you’re a spotty teenager, but I’ll leave that for now.).

      All the best in your crusade against the human race.

      I’m sure you are going to want to have the last word, so go for it, and I promise you I shant reply.

      (By the way, I had the MOST delicious roast lamb dinner this afternoon, and I did think of you very briefly before the tender meat fell apart in my mouth and the mint sauce took over my thoughts.)

      Bye!

    • Mot says:

      OK Bob, send the nurses my best regards. Make sure you find a responsible adult to sharpen your crayons for you. We don’t want you cutting your fingers off now do we? LOL.

  13. Fiona W says:

    The fence. It’d defintely freak you out walking down the street.

  14. sandra says:

    The fence – references Holbein and a point of view makes you want to know why

  15. Andy says:

    The Fence, though Santa was good too.

  16. Dominique says:

    The first one certainly didn’t make me smile.

  17. Shalom Einstoss says:

    The Pig is an awful example of the human disregard for its animal companion… It just proves again us how primitive we still are. Pigs are so equal to us that we use their organs in transplant ! As ISAAC SINGER, the nobel prize winner once said: “When a human kills an animal for food, he is neglecting his own hunger for justice. Man prays for mercy, but is unwilling to extend it to others. Why should man then expect mercy from God? It’s unfair to expect something that you are not willing to give. It is inconsistent. I can never accept inconsistency or injustice. Even if it comes from God. If there would come a voice from God saying, “I’m against vegetarianism!” I would say, “Well, I am for it!” This is how strongly I feel in this regard.”
    PS. The fence is really art, the Pig is stupid and Santa’s image is ok….

  18. Liebe says:

    Santa-Skull

  19. Tor says:

    fence. Think its the artist c215

  20. nanda says:

    Of course the first is my favorite

  21. @philstephens says:

    I’d like the think the first was candid in the style of the brilliant Matt Stuart (.com), but I’m guessing not. The second took me way too long to figure out the santa; still struggling to see it. The third is by far the most impressive – although I’m guessing you’d need to be at the exact angle of the photo for it to work – and probably less impressive therefore in reality (like those incredible perspective stretched images)

    I love the thought process that inspired the cartoonist to draw number two… Why do you come up with that idea in the first place… Brilliant.

    Overall three though, purely for the execution.

  22. rhiggs says:

    Favourite?

    I’ll have to sit on the fence…

  23. Julie says:

    The fence is the best one. Lovely isn’t a word I’d use to describe any of them. The first image is sad. The second one is funny and the third is very clever. Imagine seeing that whilst strolling along! Scary.

  24. me says:

    The pig is funny, Santa is great, but the fence is just amazing

  25. Jo says:

    I like you, Bob. =D

  26. gussnarp says:

    Love the Santa skull! Very creative.

  27. gussnarp says:

    Wait, just got a good look at the fence. Also brilliant. Love them all. The fence may be the best.

  28. Stephen says:

    It took me a moment to see Santa behind the skull in number two, and I laughed when I perceived the double-take! My favourite is the anamorphic face on the fence in number three, as it is wittily executed.

  29. namowal says:

    The fence is my favorite.
    There’s a type of knitting that uses this trick too.

  30. italian reader says:

    how can you use the words “wonderful”, “lovely” and “smile” about the first picture??? it’s just disgusting.

  31. Jerry says:

    The last one.

  32. Jerry says:

    Thanks to you who pointed out the “skull” in the second one. I thought the family was upset because “Santa” (“Father Christmas”) was, in fact, a burglar on his way out with the family belongings instead of depositing Christmas goodies.

  33. Sally says:

    All three are a “surprise”, visually. Both the second and third are clever and well-executed. I prefer the third, because I can imagine how much fun it would be to come across that while waking along.

  34. Marion says:

    The first picture is what it is cleverly taken and could be amusing when you think about humans making pigs of themselves (and yes as a bacon eater I include myself in that!) The skull is funny but did take some looking at. The fence is really well done and out of the three probably the most impressive.

  35. Emma says:

    I found all three images quite unsettling.

    For the skull one, it took me a long time to see Santa and whenever I try to look at it as Santa it soon ‘snaps back’ to appearing as a skull. Creepy but clever.

  36. FM D'Andrea says:

    Ooh, I liked the Santa one. It took me a minute to not see a giant skull inside the door (making the family’s reaction quite logical). When I saw it was Santa, I laughed because Santa himself seemed quite unaware of how gruesome he was.

  37. Shalom Einstoss says:

    “The time will come when men such as I will look upon the murder of animals as they now look on the murder of men.”
    Leonardo da Vinci
    “If a group of beings from another planet were to land on Earth — beings who considered themselves as superior to you as you feel yourself to be to other animals — would you concede them the rights over you that you assume over other animals?”
    George Bernard Shaw
    “Our task must be to free ourselves . . . by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature and its beauty.”
    “Nothing will benefit human health and increase chances of survival for life on earth as much as the evolution to a vegetarian diet.”
    Albert Einstein
    High IQ link to being vegetarian
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/6180753.stm

  38. Shalom Einstoss says:

    Well Bob
    To show Mrs. Lawson as a meat eater is, to name it, a low blow,
    so, I have the right to remind you that Alicia Silverstone is a vegetarian :) http://bit.ly/9eIj3x

  39. Shalom Einstoss says:

    Well, to put in the just terms, would it be funny to show a man’s dead head, instead of the pig’s one ? Why not ? They share eyes, they share ears, noses, mouths, relatively advanced brains, skin, tongue, you name it… The problem here is that people are used to old thinking, where the human being would be the ‘choose’ spicies, one of a kind, what is obviously wrong. And, just to go a little further, let’s imagine that a mad scientist change the DNA of the pig to give him rational capacity, like men. Would we still eat it ? And, if not so, why ? The problem here is not intelligence, it is the capacity of feeling pain, and be conscious about it, and any slaughterer would agree that those mammals feel as much suffer and pain as we ourselves do.

  40. [...] sur le blogue de Richard Wiseman Cette entrée a été publiée dans Sourire du lundi. Vous pouvez la mettre en favoris avec ce [...]

Leave a Reply

