Great upside down art….

56

I am a big fan of upside down art and here are three of my favourites….

turns into this….

Number two….

turns into….

Number three….

turns into….

What do you think?  Which is your favourite?

56 comments on “Great upside down art….

  1. Greenlalablue says:

    NUMBER 2 IS A LIE

    Flip it over! It looks nothing like that!

  2. Jaime says:

    How is number two upside down? It looks like the eyes may have been there but the mouth and nose were drawn on after it was flipped. Not that impressive.

  3. Adam says:

    That middle one is wrong.

  4. DG says:

    No. 2 isn’t right…?

  5. Tallies says:

    The is something very suspicious about number two. Those are definitely not upside-down versions of each other. The eyes have been flipped, but the mouth and nose are not the same.

  6. A says:

    Ya, What they said…

  7. NickBMorgan says:

    Number 2 is not the same drawing being turned over.

  8. ButMadNNW says:

    *points up* What they all said.

    #1 is my favourite.

  9. Banachek says:

    Both # 2 pictures can certainly be turned upside down and will still be men, but they are not the same picture. Drawn by the same artist and very close to being the same picture if put side by side the same way. The frown in both their foreheads becoming a mouth and the smile or mustache becoming a patch of hair on the forehead.

  10. Justin says:

    So I’m not the only one who got suspicious about #2… Was that a test? :)

  11. Boogy says:

    This is so much easier in my iPhone than IT was on my desk top.

  12. Pribi says:

    Number 2 is fake. I like third one.

  13. Tasneem R says:

    Well I like brainteasers and puzzles. Whoever creates them surely has a master mind . That kind of art is what I really admire .
    The above 3 pictures are amazing . I wonder how the artist could create such images !
    http://www.iqtestexperts.com/puzzles.php

  14. chris rotchell says:

    i agree,number 2 does not work….its just flipped

  15. Navneeth says:

    No. 2 is by far my favourite. A perfect example of this type of art!

    *Waits for Dr. Wiseman to do a do a double-take.*

  16. Pekka S says:

    What they said – no 2′s a fake.

  17. Myk says:

    The third one’s my favourite. Like others, I spotted the false no. 2.

  18. fonji says:

    My favourite is no 3.

  19. Danny says:

    No. 1′s my favourite.

  20. Richard Wiseman says:

    Number 2 corrected!

  21. Arne says:

    Number 2 is different on the RSS-feed compared to the website: the facial figures on the front (that turn into the mouth and nose when looked at upside down) are missing on the RSS but are present on the webside.
    But I still like Number 3 more ;-)

  22. Arne says:

    Sorry – Richard wiseman was faster than I was.
    So now they are identical

  23. deepak says:

    My favorite is No.3 , It looks like Indian.

  24. nanda says:

    Last one is my favorite

  25. Berber Anna says:

    Haha, read all the comments about #2 and couldn’t figure out what was wrong until I saw that it had been changed. What was it like originally?

  26. Rob says:

    No 2, I believe, displays reflected symmetry and not rotational as it should be. Easy mistake with most image manipulation software.
    Not a fake as such, although I could be wrong… I have work to do so I cannot ‘save image’ and attempt it myself.
    No 3 is brilliant. Lord Melchart from Blackadder, both ways up!

    • Francis says:

      Same as 3rd one. It’s been mirrored instead of rotated. I just don’t know why everybody says that the 2nd one is fake! Ok, it’s been mirrored, but if you rotate it, it still works.

  27. Martha says:

    I like number 1 best; is it meant to be Stalin turning into some old Russian tsar? Also, can someone post the fake number 2 on a web page, for us curious types? (It sounds like Banachek saved them and turned one of them upside down?)

  28. D says:

    The last one is most pleasing. :)

  29. stickinsect says:

    I read some of the earlier comments and thought I was going mad…I couldn’t see any difference between the two images. Then I read that Richard had fixed it. Now I am curious as to what the original image looked like.

    Anyway, number 3 is my favourite. It really does work as a face both ways.

  30. Oase says:

    Number 3 is my favorite. Reading the comments i wondered for a while why number 2 was a fake, but it already was corrected….

  31. EmilyT says:

    Number three is my favourite because it has so much more detail than the rest rather than just spuriously adding lines to a face to make it look right both ways.

  32. Caroline says:

    Number 3 is my favourite, I think both pictures look more like normal faces than 1 or 2.

  33. L.Long says:

    Sorry but if I’m looking at them properly then #1 is the only real upside-down. #2 & #3 are both flips or mirrors depending on the definition.
    But the #2 & #3 are good and #1 is not that great, it is too ‘busy’ with all the lines.

  34. jim says:

    The Princess that turns into an old lady is better then these

  35. Katy says:

    Did any other commuters spot Richard in this morning’s London Metro?

  36. mervulon says:

    Pointless, and a little insulting.

  37. cioff says:

    the last one is my favorite

  38. fluffy says:

    I like the third one best because it parses the best both ways.

    Also apparently writing a comment in umop-apisdn speak ends up getting flagged as spam, or something.

  39. Jon d says:

    I like one and three most because the eyes on the faces are in different parts of the picture depending on which way you look at it. Number 2 has the same pair of eyes either way up.
    I think it’s clever how the artist has hidden an extra pair of eyes in 1 and 3 that you really have to look for.

    • Oscar says:

      I like number 2 for the same reason, on with noses. In 1 and 3, the nose is the same bit in each. With 2, the nose is cleverly hidden.

  40. [...] Great upside down art…. I am a big fan of upside down art and here are three of my favourites…. turns into this…. Number [...] [...]

  41. Sally says:

    Like number three the most.

  42. Igor Santos says:

    Number one didn’t work for me. I just see an upside-down Stalin.

  43. sundryandco says:

    I wish my face was like this, so that when I did a handstand, I’d still have a facial expression.

  44. Drissy says:

    Check this out!

    Upside down to the max: Gustave Verbeek’s “The Upside-Downs of Little Lady Lovekins and Old Man Muffaroo”

  45. Joe says:

    I think the third pair’s second photo’s eyes are more realistic…

  46. Number three. Definitely.

  47. See the fantastic Upside-Down Artwork of L. R. Emerson II at http://www.e4fineart.com.

    Emerson has been creating upside-down works for over 25 years and was recetly recognized by acclaimed artist Georg Baselitz who remarked “inspiring” about Emerson’s art. Emerson’s work was shared with major Museums and Galleries accross the globe in 2005.

Leave a Reply

