60 comments on “How many faces can you find?

  1. janesdigibit says:

    10

  2. G-man says:

    10 then forgot which i had counted.

  3. Nekrose7 says:

    15…

  4. Kevin says:

    lots ;-)

  5. helen1984 says:

    A) why are to pretending to lean against the leg of a giant table?
    B) there is one face. That of the white horse. A clutch of rocks does not a face make. If we start counting rock faces we have to count all of them.

    • Rob says:

      Love it. You are brilliant.
      Yes Richard, why are you pretending to lean? Why?

      Why are we counting all of these ‘faces’?

      Why?

      Why?

      They aren’t real faces, just rocks. You ARE silly, Richard.

      lol ;-)

    • Rob says:

      Some aren’t even rocks, for Jebus’ sake. They are leaves and moss and trees.

      I think you are experiencing pareidolia.

      (Great word, thanks prof, just thought I’d drop it in casually)

    • Terry says:

      Started to count lots of phony faces after first looking at the horse & wondering if he counted,thought he should. Then I saw your answer & knew I agreed-white horse is only rea l face ergo only one that countsw. Well done! :)

    • gussnarp says:

      All he faces count. They’re not pareidolia because they were intentionally created by an artist to look like faces. If the artist drew a horse with a face, then he drew some more faces subtly (or not so subtly) hidden in the surrounding environment, what makes one face drawn by the artist (on the horse) more “real” than another face drawn by the artist (composed of rocks, trees, and water).

    • helen1984 says:

      When I was an archaeology student I had an argument with a visiting speaker to the archaeology society who’s idea was that the standing stones at Avebury had faces carved in them. (he was pagan, just sayin). So it may be that I am, though my education, against seeing faces in what are natural (or intended to be natural in the case of the artist) rocks.

      But they don’t count. There’s one face. There rest is just scenery.

    • Michael says:

      If you’re going to get fussy about whether or not the faces are “real” it’s worth pointing out that none of them are real faces. The whole image is just paint and canvas. Not even that in fact. It’s a digital reproduction of a photograph of paint and canvas.
      Ceci n’est pas une pipe.

    • lilabyrd says:

      I believe that the purpose the entire image was created was to hide faces within the image and then make a game out of finding those faces. There are entire books made of these type of games, from simple to very complex. I have always enjoyed them. Most have an answer page where they highlight the intended answers and it was fun to see if you were able to find all of those and maybe others too.

    • helen1984 says:

      Lilabyrd, I know that. I’m also having fun.

      Micheal, I’m am taking into account what things in the image are representative of. Not reality as such. Rocks don’t have faces. Well they do but if you want to count all the rock faces good luck to you (coz they are not exactly regular shapes are they)

    • helen1984 says:

      And there’s a hedgehog in the top left corner. Do we count his face too?

    • lilabyrd says:

      Hey helen1984…..yeah…..some times I’m a little bit slow on the up take….lol… but then again I may be some slow all the time…. :}

  6. Alaine1013 says:

    14ish?

  7. mickeyd says:

    12 not counting the horses…

  8. jaclong says:

    What’s lovely is how you spend a while trying to spot one, then lots suddenly flood out at you all at once.

  9. Steve Ulven says:

    I love the picture of you against the table. The 2nd picture I’ve seen before and I think there are 11 or 12, but I can only find 10. 6-8 are obvious, the rest are well hidden.

  10. Lishma says:

    I see 18 faces excluding the horse n rider.

    • Lishma says:

      Oops! found a couple more! 33! Very interesting, the more I look at the picture, the more faces there seem to be, may be my eyes are playing trick!

  11. Matthew says:

    I make it 12 but I’m sure there are more in there!

  12. Rob says:

    Some.
    I definitely see some faces.

  13. Rob says:

    Sorry, lots.
    I see lots of faces.

    I see dead people too, does that count?

    Ever since I started work at that mortuary…

  14. Lux says:

    That photo is too creepy to look at. Do not like the sensation of realising I’ve been staring at a face.

  15. mittfh says:

    I make it a definite 10, a dodgy one, and the horse. As illustrated here:

    http://bnorwood.fastmail.fm/images/010a.JPG

    • lilabyrd says:

      mittfh if you look that whole back ground of green behind the horse are several more faces…same goes to the sides and many of the faces that are side-by-side that you have marked will have a face formed by putting them together to form another face….also many small faces…I got to figure out how to do what you did….marking them on the image….not very good on the computer…lol…just learned to copy and paste…boy does that save time….

  16. Greg says:

    Is that the giant table at the Tate Modern?

  17. FrankNStein says:

    One, two, three… many!

  18. lilabyrd says:

    I got 35 but then had to count the horse…lol…missed that one until I read some posts….so 36….aha but then I read some saw animal faces….I’ll have to got back… and better when I enlarged the photo {it being a little blurry that way helps!}.

    off topic….and shameless plug….on both of my blogs I posted photos of our new born baby…..sorry Richard but she is prettier to look at then you standing my an over-sized table?! Feel free to shamelessly post a plug on one of my blogs if you want…lol….but she’s sooo cute when she smiles……

  19. Corrine says:

    I think 17 (including horses!).. had to keep track of what’s been counted though.

  20. Diane Brown says:

    I see 13 faces, sure there are more in there though….

  21. Annette says:

    I can see 13

  22. Ok 10, and some I’m not counting incase I counted them already!

  23. Michelle WP says:

    12, not counting the horses.

  24. Dima says:

    12.
    I easily found the first ten, and only after I revisited the image a few minutes later, I saw two more.

  25. Eoin O'Hare says:

    What do you mean “faces” ?, all I can see are lots of people having sex, and a horse.

  26. Martha says:

    Ah, so Richard’s up at the Edinburgh Festival. The table and chairs are on display at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art – they’re by Robert Therrien. Cool guy.

    Incidentally, I wonder if Richard’s been to see his colleague Peter Lovatt’s show last week, because I did and it’s really interesting.

  27. [...] How many faces can you find? Yesterday I drank a bottle of ‘Drink me’ and this happened…. [...]

  28. Bob says:

    I’m looking at this whilst standing in Princes St. *Looks around*

    47.

  29. Syeal says:

    There are 13 faces… (not counting the horseman and the horse) pretty sure there aint more. But you can always imagen more with your fantasy. But in that way it becomes interprenting and not seeing actuall visual faces.

  30. alexandru[RO] says:

    14 or 15 , don’t really know about the 15′th :)

  31. TeosExMakina says:

    I know this illusion from a book by the artist, and there are only 11 faces, so if you’re seeing more, well, how about that…

Leave a Reply

